Review: The Dollmaker of Krakow by RM Romero

Title: The Dollmaker of Krakow

Author: RM Romero

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Walker Books

The Blurb

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book ThiefThe Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom.

One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939 and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city, Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks. This powerful story is about finding friendship in the darkest of places and the importance of love in times of great pain.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

This is not my normal kind of book but once again it is one of the Carnegie nominees and I want to read as many as I can.

The Dollmaker fo Krakow is set in Poland at the onset of World War Two and it sees us through the occupation of Poland by the Nazis. It is the story of Karolina – a doll that comes alive for the dollmaker – think mannequin but without romance or a great 80s soundtrack.

It is through their friendship that they try to help the Jewish people who are sent to the ghettos in Poland before being sent to concentration camps.

This story has a magical realism aspect which if I am completely honest, as a reader I am not entirely comfortable with but the charm that exudes from each page makes it a worthwhile read.

The Dollmaker of Krakow is available now.

For more information regarding RM Romero (@rmromeroauthor) please visit www.rmromero.com.

For more information regarding Walker Books (@WalkerBooksUK) please visit www.walker.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.