Title: The Poet X

Author: Elizabeth Acevedo

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: Electric Monkey

The Blurb

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.

Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

The Poet X is a story told entirely in verse. This in itself is nothing new. We have seen other writers express themselves in this way – notably, Sarah Crossan. The Poet X takes this concept and almost has writer Elizabeth Acevedo bleed her thoughts and emotions on the page.

The story is about Xiamora. It is about being a teenager. It is about being of Dominican descent and what is expected of her. It is about being a girl in a world that favours the male. Mostly, it is about growing up with these life conditions and trying to find your own place and not the one that is expected by her extremely religious mother.

My heart broke so many times when I read this story. As a reader, you feel the claustrophobia that Xiamora feels. How the world is both so big and so small at the same time.

The Poet X is amazing. Read it now.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo is available now.

For more information regarding Elizabeth Acevedo (@AcevedoWrites) please visit www.acevedowrites.com.

For more information regarding Electric Monkey (@EMTeenFiction) please visit www.electricmonkeybooks.co.uk.

Title: Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending

Author: Lauren Leto

Pages: 192 Pages

Publisher: Gotham Books

The Blurb

In the tradition of The Truth About Chuck Norris, PostSecret, and I Can Has Cheezburger?, Texts from Last Night celebrates the funniest and most outrageous text messages from the instantly popular website

There are few forms of communication that are more entertaining, appalling, and laugh-out-loud hilarious than the text message-especially when it’s received in the wee hours of the morning from a friend who has had one too many shots of tequila.Texts from Last Night is a celebration of the best, worst, and weirdest text messages that have ever been sent, such as:

Before i could say “i’m not the kind of girl,” i was

I got us kicked out of the bar because the waitress found me in the kitchen trying to make spaghetti

The ticket read “found nude in a tree”

Texts from Last Night is chock full of LOL and WTF moments and will make any thumb-typer 🙂 in recognition.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Having recently read Lauren Leto’s Judging a Book by its Lover and enjoying it I decided to see what else she had released and I came across this little gem of a book. It isn’t a big book by any means, I believe you would call it pocket sized but it is pocket sized full of fun. It is hilariously funny to the point that I was making funny noises whilst reading it as I tried to contain my laughter.

If you read this book then I have a warning. Do not read it on the commute to or from work. You will get yourself a few funny looks.

Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending by Lauren Leto is available now.

For more information regarding Lauren Leto (@laurenleto) please visit www.judgingabookbyitslovere.com.

Title: Charlie and Me – 421 Miles from Home

Author: Mark Lowery

Pages: 320 Pages

Publisher: Piccadilly Press

The Blurb

Thirteen-year-old Martin and his younger brother Charlie are on a very special journey. They’re going to be travelling 421 miles all the way from Preston to the very tip of Cornwall. By train, bus and taxi, they are determined to get there in the end; and they’re hoping to catch a glimpse of the dolphin that regularly visits the harbour there. But is that the only reason they are going?

It’s a journey that’s full of challenges and surprises. Martin adores his brother Charlie but he’s not like ordinary kids. He’s one in a million. He was born far too early, and ought to have died. And cheeky, irrepressible, utterly unique Charlie is always keeping Martin on his toes – especially on this crazy trip they are now on. Martin is doing his best to be a good big brother, but it’s hard when there’s something so huge coming once they get to Cornwall …

An unforgettable novel that is by turns funny and heartbreaking.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Oh my days. What a beautifully emotional story.

I bought seven copies of Charlie and Me: 421 Miles from Home. You may think “Seven? That’s a bit excessive.” Let me explain. I run a book club for my students and this book is on the Carnegie Long List for 2019 and I am trying to get through as many of them as possible before the short list is announced.

I gave it to my students having only read two chapters but I was enchanted already. This story of brotherly love was so funny and sweet and realistic that I knew that I was going to love it. My students did too. All of them came to me telling me that they loved it, that they laughed and that they cried. Charlie and Me: 421 Miles from Home really pulls at your heartstrings.

It is both a road-trip novel and a coming of age story which are two of my favourite kinds of tales. I really hope that Charlie and Me: 421 Miles from Home makes the Short List. It definitely deserves a place.

Charlie and Me: 421 Miles From Home by Mark Lowery is available now.

For more information regarding Mark Lowery (@HelloMarkLowery) please visit www.marklowery.co.uk.

For more information regarding Picadilly Press (@PiccadillyPress) please visit www.picadillypressblog.wordpress.com.

Title: The Nightmare Stone

Author: Finian Black

Pages: 186 Pages

Publisher: Weybourne Press

The Blurb

Buying the house of their dreams was the beginning of the nightmare. A lucky windfall gives a family the chance of a fresh start, but for teenager Danny, the change isn’t welcome. When their new house begins to reveal its dark secrets, Danny has to confront a truth beyond anything he could ever imagine – that all the money in the world means nothing when the only thing left is the battle to survive.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Creepy on a whole new level. That is the best way to describe Finian Black’s book The Nightmare Stone.

It is a story set generations apart with the same insidious villain haunting two different families.

Danny doesn’t want to move house but when his family come into good fortune he knows that he must. Not just for him but for his little sister who is unwell. Danny doesn’t get the best feeling from the house and rightly so, for in the walls are hidden secrets.

The thing that Finian Black has mastered in this novel is keeping the reader in suspense. We know something is going to happen but we don’t know when and because of that you are living on your nerves with every new chapter. It is one of those stories that has you grabbing your head in panic like that might somehow help the characters in the story.

If you like your stories scary and intense then The Nightmare Stone is the book for you.

The Nightmare Stone by Finian Black is available now.

For more information regarding Finian Black (@finianblack) please visit www.finianblack.com.

Title: Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and Other Lies) – Amazing Women on what the F-Word Means to Them

Author: Scarlett Curtis

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: Penguin

The Blurb

Every woman has a different story to tell. Reading them all in one book might just change your life.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I love feminism – that, my friends, is a t—shirt right there – but I genuinely do. I love the modern wave of feminism and the fact that so many prominent women in society are backing themselves and supporting other women.

The collection of essays features in Feminists Don’t Wear Pink are engaging, witty, entertaining and powerful. They are the perfect source for young people to learn about feminism in a contemporary culture and I think that the powerful voices featured in this book can only have a positive impact on those who read it.

Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and Other Lies) – Amazing Women on what the F-Word Means to Them by Scarlett Curtis is available now.

For more information regarding Scarlett Curtis (@scarcurtis) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Penguin (@PenguinUKBooks) please visit www.penguin.co.uk.