Title: My Lady Jane

Author: Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Walker

The Blurb

A comical, fantastical and witty re-imagining of the Tudor world, perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger – and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I had so much hope for My Lady Jane. Granted that hope was based on the fact that I liked the pretty cover but still I did have hope. You see, I like historical fiction. I love interpretations of a time when I wasn’t alive. It is the closest thing to time travel that we have got. Sadly, My Lady Jane just didn’t do it for me. It was a bit too warped. I think if there hadn’t been the fantasy element to the story I could have been a bit more enthusiastic but it just wasn’t for me. It will be for someone but I didn’t get it.

Sorry.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, and Brodi Ashton is available now.

For more information regarding Cynthia Hand (@CynthiaHand) please visit www.cynthiahandbooks.com.

For more information regarding Jodi Meadows (@jodimeadows) please visit www.jodimeadows.com.

For more information regarding Brodi Ashton (@Brodiashton) please visit www.brodiashton.com.blogspot.com.

For more information regarding Walker (@WalkerBooksUK) please visit www.walker.co.uk.

Title: JK Rowling’s Wizarding World Movie Magic Volume Three Amazing Artifacts

Author: Bonnie Burton

Pages: 96 Pages

Publisher: Walker Books

The Blurb

The third title in an interactive series of books that features both Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them to create the ultimate behind-the-scenes guide to the wizarding world.

From wands and racing brooms to a case full of beasts, the wizarding world is full of enchanted objects and magical devices. With this interactive book, go behind the scenes of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and all eight Harry Potter films to learn how the myriad artifacts of the films were lovingly designed and crafted.

Detailed profiles of everything from the Golden Snitch to Lord Voldemort’s Horcruxes and Newt Scamander’s magical case include blueprints, concept illustrations, unit photography and more. Jam-packed with bonus inserts throughout, including stickers, removable extras, lift-the-flaps and many other fascinating items, this book takes young readers on a thrilling tour of the magical artifacts of the wizarding world.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

The third book in the Movie Magic series may just be my favourite. In it we learn about all the little things that make up the Harry Potter movies – the Amazing Artifacts.

It is shocking just how much effort goes into these movies. Whether it be the thousands upon thousands of labels printed out to make the potions lessons look realistic or the shape of the wands suited to each character, this book offers you insight into the little details that make the world that JK Rowling has created just so special.

In my opinion this book is the most interesting in the series.

JK Rowling’s Wizarding World – Movie Magic: Volume Three – Amazing Artifacts by Bonnie Burton is available now.

For more information regarding Walker Books (@WalkerBooksUK) please visit www.walker.co.uk.

Title: JK Rowling’s Wizarding World – Volume Two: Curious Creatures

Author: Ramin Zahed

Pages: 104 Pages

Publisher: Walker Books

The Blurb

Thunderbirds and Nifflers, house-elves and Hippogriffs – J.K. Rowling’s Wizarding World abounds with magical creatures of all kinds. But how does a Bowtruckle come to life on the big screen? Is an Occamy a snake or a bird? And what’s the truth about Mooncalf poo?

Featuring detailed creature profiles, stunning artwork and captivating insights from the making of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and all eight Harry Potter films, these pages reveal everything fans want to know about how these creatures were created. Jam-packed with bonus material – pop-ups, lift-the-flaps, removable posters and other goodies – this book offers young readers a thrilling backstage pass to the wizarding world.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Out of the series of Movie Magic books, Curious Creatures wasn’t my favourite. I think I am more interested in the characters and the artefacts than the magical animals but that doesn’t mean that I am not impressed by the effort that went in to creating them.

Zahed really does show you the depth of knowledge and creativity of the people involved in the movies. It is just personal preference that made this book less exciting for me.

JK Rowling’s Wizarding World – Volume Two: Curious Creatures by Ramin Zahed is available now.

For more information regarding Walker Books (@WalkerBooksUK) please visit www.walker.co.uk.

 

Title: JK Rowling’s Wizarding World – Movie Magic – Volume One: Extraordinary People and Fascinating Places

Author: Jodie Revenson

Pages: 96 Pages

Publisher: Walker Books

The Blurb

Featuring all eight Harry Potter movies and the upcoming movie Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, this magical book is the ultimate insider’s guide to the films from J.K. Rowling’s Wizarding World for young fans.

From the gilded halls of Gringotts and Hogwarts to the New York City of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, each page of this book delivers a fun, interactive experience for young readers as they discover how the extraordinary places and fascinating characters of the wizarding world took shape on-screen. Filled with lift-the-flaps, stickers and other engaging inserts, this engrossing book overflows with captivating facts about the movie magic used to create a world fit for witches and wizards. Including insights from the actors who played Harry Potter, Professor Dumbledore, Newt Scamander and many more, this book is a must-have for young fans of the Wizarding World.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I am a huge Harry Potter fan. Personally, I prefer the books but I cannot help but love the movies too. I have had JK Rowling’s Wizarding World – Movie Magic – Volume One: Extraordinary People and Fascinating Places by Jodie Revenson sitting on my bookshelf forever and in a bid to make more room on my bookshelves by reading some of the larger books I started the Movie Magic series.

They are fascinating. I know a lot of work goes into making movies but the effort to make sure every character is perfect and every place meets the expectations of the readers is truly breathtaking.

The books in the series have an element of fun to them with moving parts and what not which is always appreciated.

I loved learning more about the characters and what the actors brought to the creation of who they play, whether it is wand choice or contact lenses. The little titbits of information are like catnip to the true Harry Potter fan.

JK Rowling’s Wizarding World – Movie Magic – Volume One: Extraordinary People and Fascinating Places by Jodie Revenson

For more information regarding Walker Books (@WalkerBooksUK) please visit www.walker.co.uk.

Title: Release

Author: Patrick Ness

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Walker Books

The Blurb

A startling and tender novel about how to let yourself love and set yourself free by Patrick Ness, the twice Carnegie Medal-winning author of A Monster Calls. Today will change Adam Thorn’s life. Between his religious family, unpleasant boss and his ex-boyfriend, the bindings of his world are coming undone. And way across town, a ghost has risen from the lake. Is there time for Adam to find his release?

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

For years I have avoided books written by Patrick Ness. You may be wondering why. He is a celebrated author after all; prize-winning even. However, about 8 years ago I read his book The Knife of Never Letting Go and I hated it. I just didn’t get it. So since then I have avoided his books.

I work in a school and spend the majority of my time trying to raise literacy levels; I work in the school library and spend the rest of my time in school discussing books with students and encouraging them to read. Now, with the Carnegie short list announced I decided it was time I gave Patrick Ness another chance. I picked up the book Release as my first read and man I have to tell you my humble pie tastes fantastic.

Release is amazing.

It is not what I expected at all. Ness deals with themes of identity, first love, sexuality, and growing up. His characters are alive on every page. I was transported to this Podunk religious town and I felt the oppressiveness that Adam felt.

Release really is a great story that I urge you to read.

Release by Patrick Ness is available now.

For more information regarding Patrick Ness (@Patrick_Ness) please visit www.patrickness.com.

For more information regarding Walker Books (@WalkerBooksUK) please visit www.walkerbooks.co.uk.

4 Stars