Dead Girl's SocietyTitle: Dead Girl’s Society

Author: Michelle Krys

Pages: 304 Pages

Publisher: Random House Children’s/Delacorte Press

The Blurb

A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of The CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mum and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’sgloing to afford college. And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems…and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice – it’s a requirement.

The Review

Oh my wow. What a fantastic YA mystery. Dead Girl’s Society is spectacularly intense. I loved it.

The story centres around Hope. Hope is stuck in the house. She has cystic fibrosis and an over protective mother. She also has medication that costs an arm and a leg. She also has an invitation from a secret society that could solve all her financial woes but also could be very dangerous to a girl with her condition.

Dead Girl’s Society straddled the line of danger and adventure very carefully. There were genuine moments of fear when I read this book and in particular the dramatic climax had my heart racing.

For those who like mysteries but have yet to dip their toe into the YA genre pool then Dead Girl’s Society is for you.

Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys is available now.

For more information regarding Michelle Krys (@MichelleKrys) please visit www.michellekrys.com.

For more information regarding Random House Children’s (@RandomHouse) please visit www.randomhousebooks.com.

For more information regarding Delacorte Press (@DelacortePress) please visit their Twitter page.

4 Stars

Meet CuteTitle: Meet Cute

Author: Various

Pages: 224 Pages

Publisher: HMH Books

The Blurb

Whether or not you believe in fate, or luck, or love at first sight, every romance has to start somewhere. MEET CUTE is an anthology of original short stories featuring tales of “how they first met” from some of today’s most popular YA authors.

Readers will experience Nina LaCour’s beautifully written piece about two Bay Area girls meeting via a cranky customer service Tweet, Sara Shepard’s glossy tale about a magazine intern and a young rock star, Nicola Yoon’s imaginative take on break-ups and make-ups, Katie Cotugno’s story of two teens hiding out from the police at a house party, and Huntley Fitzpatrick’s charming love story that begins over iced teas at a diner. There’s futuristic flirting from Kass Morgan and Katharine McGee, a riveting transgender heroine from Meredith Russo, a subway missed connection moment from Jocelyn Davies, and a girl determined to get out of her small town from Ibi Zoboi. Jennifer Armentrout writes a sweet story about finding love from a missing library book, Emery Lord has a heartwarming and funny tale of two girls stuck in an airport, Dhonielle Clayton takes a thoughtful, speculate approach to pre-destined love, and Julie Murphy dreams up a fun twist on reality dating show contestants.

This incredibly talented group of authors brings us a collection of stories that are at turns romantic and witty, epic and everyday, heartbreaking and real.

The Review

Meet Cute is a gorgeous collection of short stories all about how people meet. What is great about the collection is that each author has a different and unique take on how that initial meeting between two characters should happen. Not one of these stories is the same.

Personally, my favourite stories in the collection are: The Unlikely Likelihood of Falling in Love by Jocelyn Davies and Say Everything by Huntley Fitzpatrick. But this anthology is chock-a-block with stories and characters to fall in love with so there really is something for everyone. It is also a nice introduction to some seriously talented YA authors whom you may not have come across before.

What is also pretty awesome about the book is that it makes you consider all the meet cutes that you have had in your life and it also makes you think of the meet cutes that you have yet to have had.

Go on, read it and bask in the cuteness.

Meet Cute by Various is available now.

For more information regarding HMH Books (@HMHbooks) please visit www.hmhco.com/at-home.

3 Stars

windfallTitle: Windfall

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Alice doesn’t believe in luck. Alice believes in love. Mostly that she’s been in love with her best friend, Teddy, for the last three years. When she buys him a lottery ticket for his birthday and he wins 32 million dollars, they are thrown together with the world at their feet. Teddy decides that he will spend his money committing random acts of kindness and who better to go on that adventure with him than Alice? In the process they get to know themselves and each other better than they have before, but money can’t buy you love…

The Review

I love Jennifer E. Smith books. I have not yet read one of her books that I haven’t fallen in love with and Windfall is no different.

Windfall imparts the message that money doesn’t necessarily buy happiness. When Teddy wins millions on the ticket that Alice bought him, he thought it was the answer to all of his prayers but he soon realises that his fortune carries a responsibility. That responsibility is to be true to who you are and not allow money to change that.

Whilst Windfall is about responsibility it is also an insight into how fortune and wealth can change relationships; Teddy and Alice’s, Alice and her dead parent’s, and Teddy and his father’s.

Jennifer E. Smith weaves a brilliant story together that is full of heart. It is warm and engaging with memorable characters and problems.

Windfall by Jennifer E Smith is available now.

For more information regarding Jennifer E Smith (@JenESmith) please visit www.jenniferesmith.com.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

4 Stars

MoonriseTitle: Moonrise

Author: Sarah Crossan

Pages: 400 Pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury

The Blurb

They think I hurt someone.
But I didn’t. You hear?
Cos people are gonna be telling you
all kinds of lies.

I need you to know the truth.

Joe hasn’t seen his brother for ten years, and it’s for the most brutal of reasons. Ed is on death row.

But now Ed’s execution date has been set, and this might be the last summer they have together.

The astonishing new novel from multi award winning author Sarah Crossan explores life, death, love and forgiveness. It will stay with you long after you have turned the last page.

The Review

In stories about murder, the focus tends to fall on the victim and those close to them. But what about the families of those accused of the crime?

This is essentially the question posed in Sarah Crossan’s latest novel Moonrise.

The story is about Joe. Joe was a young boy when his older brother Ed was accused of murder and was sentenced to death by execution. It is the story of how he and Ed reconnect during Ed’s last few months on death row.

It isn’t an easy book to read because anyone who reads it will go into the story with conviction of their beliefs. For me, I am against the death penalty. I have been since I was old enough to have a mature opinion about it and it is due to this opinion that I couldn’t help but feel that this story was harrowing. The magic of Sarah Crossan’s writing is that she says so much in so few words and that truly is a talent.

Moonrise is definitely a book to recommend to young readers or to help get a debate going.

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan is available now.

For more information regarding Sarah Crossan (@SarahCrossan) please visit www.sarahcrossan.com.

For more information regarding Bloomsbury Children’s Books (@KidsBloomsbury) please visit www.bloomsbury.com/childrens

4 Stars

PiglettesTitle: Piglettes

Author: Clementine Beauvais

Pages: 224 Pages

Publisher: Pushkin Press

The Blurb

A wickedly funny and life-affirming coming-of-age roadtrip story – winner of France’s biggest prize for teen and YA fiction.

Awarded the Gold, Silver and Bronze trotters after a vote by their classmates on Facebook, Mireille, Astrid and Hakima are officially the three ugliest girls in their school, but does that mean they’re going to sit around crying about it?

Well… yes, a bit, but not for long! Climbing aboard their bikes, the trio set off on a summer roadtrip to Paris, their goal: a garden party with the French president. As news of their trip spreads they become stars of social media and television. With the eyes of the nation upon them the girls find fame, friendship and happiness, and still have time to consume an enormous amount of food along the way.

The Review

Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais is one of the most funny and most charming books that I have read this year.

It centres round the lives of three girls: Astrid, Hakima and protagonist Mireille have all been the victim of a cruel high school prank. They have been named the three ugliest girls in the school. Whilst two of the girls are devastated by this, seasoned Piglet Mireille takes it in her stride. She befriends the other girls to make them feel better about themselves. Together (along with Hakima’s older brother Kadar) the girls travel by bike across France to get to Paris.

So, Piglettes is many things. It is a YA novel, it is a coming of age drama and it is an affirmative book about finding the good things and loving them. It is a brilliant novel.

Beauvais characters are wonderful. Mireille is a tonic. She reminded me of Georgia Nicholson from the Louise Rennison Angus Thongs series. So sure of herself and completely banging to the beat of her own drummer. She is a heroine for the 21st century. I loved her.

Piglettes by Clementine Beauvais is available now.

For more information regarding Pushkin Press (@PushkinPress) please visit www.pushkinpress.com.

4 Stars