Review: Dead Girl’s Society by Michelle Krys

Dead Girl's SocietyTitle: Dead Girl’s Society

Author: Michelle Krys

Pages: 304 Pages

Publisher: Random House Children’s/Delacorte Press

The Blurb

A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of The CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mum and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’sgloing to afford college. And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems…and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice – it’s a requirement.

The Review

Oh my wow. What a fantastic YA mystery. Dead Girl’s Society is spectacularly intense. I loved it.

The story centres around Hope. Hope is stuck in the house. She has cystic fibrosis and an over protective mother. She also has medication that costs an arm and a leg. She also has an invitation from a secret society that could solve all her financial woes but also could be very dangerous to a girl with her condition.

Dead Girl’s Society straddled the line of danger and adventure very carefully. There were genuine moments of fear when I read this book and in particular the dramatic climax had my heart racing.

For those who like mysteries but have yet to dip their toe into the YA genre pool then Dead Girl’s Society is for you.

Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys is available now.

For more information regarding Michelle Krys (@MichelleKrys) please visit www.michellekrys.com.

For more information regarding Random House Children’s (@RandomHouse) please visit www.randomhousebooks.com.

For more information regarding Delacorte Press (@DelacortePress) please visit their Twitter page.

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *