Title: Until You Find Me

Author: Amber Hart

Pages: 269 Pages

Publisher: Random House Publishing

The Blurb

In this steamy, electrifying novel, Amber Hart pushes contemporary romance to its wildest limits as a young woman travels halfway across the globe—and discovers the place where her heart belongs.

Raven has no idea what to expect when she travels to Africa in search of answers about her family’s past. A twenty-year-old college student from Michigan, she’s never seen anything like the beautiful, treacherous jungles of Cameroon. But nothing takes her breath away like Jospin. As soon as Raven meets the charismatic and intense young hunter, she’s instantly hooked.

Clever, rugged, and fearless, Jospin makes his living from the perils of the jungle. But falling in love with Raven could be the most dangerous thing he’s ever done. The heir to a powerful poaching empire, he holds the key to unlocking the secrets of Raven’s legacy. If she asks the wrong questions, his answers could get them both killed. And yet each and every moment spent holding Raven in his arms is worth the risk.

Raven’s getting closer to the truth. Jospin’s at the point of no return. Their chemistry is out of control, and when they forge a bond that goes beyond blood, desire will take them into uncharted territory.

The Review

Until You Find Me is the story of Raven who has set off to a world completely different to her own to try and find out the truth behind her father’s death.

Raven has come to an animal sanctuary deep in the jungle. She isn’t particularly a fan of animals, in fact, she holds them responsible for the disappearance of her father from her life. Raven grew up in America whereas her dad left to work in the jungle. They kept regular contact but now that he is dead she holds the jungle and its inhabitants responsible.

In trying to uncover the truth, Raven stumbles upon the seedy underbelly of jungle life – the killing of endangered species for meat and fur. Once she knows the truth about this world will she ever be able to get out again.

Until You Find Me had the makings of being a great story. It had a good main thread of a story – the loss of a parent, it had romance, and it had an exotic location. Personally, I feel where the story became a bit muddied was with the emphasis on the secondary story of animal meat/fur trafficking. Don’t get me wrong, this was a very interesting storyline and one that I haven’t come across in fiction before but I feel that both storylines were competing to be the main one and as a reader I didn’t know which one to prioritise. I just feel that the book came across as confused.

It is a good story though and one that will compel you to keep turning to the next page.

Until You Find Me by Amber Hart is available now.

For more information regarding Amber Hart (@AmberHartBooks) please visit www.amberhartbooks.com.

For more information regarding Random House Publishing (@PenguinRHUK) please visit www.penguinrandomhouse.co.uk.

Dead Girl's SocietyTitle: Dead Girl’s Society

Author: Michelle Krys

Pages: 304 Pages

Publisher: Random House Children’s/Delacorte Press

The Blurb

A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of The CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mum and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’sgloing to afford college. And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems…and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice – it’s a requirement.

The Review

Oh my wow. What a fantastic YA mystery. Dead Girl’s Society is spectacularly intense. I loved it.

The story centres around Hope. Hope is stuck in the house. She has cystic fibrosis and an over protective mother. She also has medication that costs an arm and a leg. She also has an invitation from a secret society that could solve all her financial woes but also could be very dangerous to a girl with her condition.

Dead Girl’s Society straddled the line of danger and adventure very carefully. There were genuine moments of fear when I read this book and in particular the dramatic climax had my heart racing.

For those who like mysteries but have yet to dip their toe into the YA genre pool then Dead Girl’s Society is for you.

Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys is available now.

For more information regarding Michelle Krys (@MichelleKrys) please visit www.michellekrys.com.

For more information regarding Random House Children’s (@RandomHouse) please visit www.randomhousebooks.com.

For more information regarding Delacorte Press (@DelacortePress) please visit their Twitter page.

4 Stars

MY Life on the RoadTitle: My Life on the Road

Author: Gloria Steinem

Pages: 276 Pages

Publisher: Random House

The Blurb

Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and one of the most inspiring leaders in the world—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of how her early years led her to live an on-the-road kind of life, traveling, listening to people, learning, and creating change. She reveals the story of her own growth in tandem with the growth of an ongoing movement for equality. This is the story at the heart of My Life on the Road.

The Review

Ok, I’ll admit it. I wanted to read this book because Emma Watson recommended it.

I’m so very glad that I am a victim of pop culture. Steinem’s memoir, My Life on the Road chronicles various points in her life. She takes you on a journey, her journey, and reveals all the wonderful, amazing and sometimes heartbreaking things and people that she encounters.

With her uncompromising beliefs and tenacity you finish reading My Life on the Road desperate to get out there. Out there in the big wide world and have a life changing adventure and to just do a little bit of good.

My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem is available now.

For more information regarding Gloria Steinem (@GloriaSteinem) please visit www.gloriastinem.com.

For more information regarding Random House (@randomhouse) please visit www.randomhousebooks.com.

4 Stars

EligibleTitle: Eligible

Author: Curtis Sittenfeld

Pages: 512 Pages

Publisher: Random House

The Blurb

From the “wickedly entertaining” (USA Today) Curtis Sittenfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Prep and American Wife, comes a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Equal parts homage to Jane Austen and bold literary experiment, Eligible is a brilliant, playful, and delicious saga for the twenty-first century.

This version of the Bennet family—and Mr. Darcy—is one that you have and haven’t met before: Liz is a magazine writer in her late thirties who, like her yoga instructor older sister, Jane, lives in New York City. When their father has a health scare, they return to their childhood home in Cincinnati to help—and discover that the sprawling Tudor they grew up in is crumbling and the family is in disarray.

Youngest sisters Kitty and Lydia are too busy with their CrossFit workouts and Paleo diets to get jobs. Mary, the middle sister, is earning her third online master’s degree and barely leaves her room, except for those mysterious Tuesday-night outings she won’t discuss. And Mrs. Bennet has one thing on her mind: how to marry off her daughters, especially as Jane’s fortieth birthday fast approaches.

Enter Chip Bingley, a handsome new-in-town doctor who recently appeared on the juggernaut reality TV dating show Eligible. At a Fourth of July barbecue, Chip takes an immediate interest in Jane, but Chip’s friend neurosurgeon Fitzwilliam Darcy reveals himself to Liz to be much less charming. . . .

And yet, first impressions can be deceiving.

Wonderfully tender and hilariously funny, Eligible both honors and updates Austen’s beloved tale. Tackling gender, class, courtship, and family, Sittenfeld reaffirms herself as one of the most dazzling authors writing today.

The Review

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a booklover in possession of a good library must always be in want of another good book and that is exactly what you get when you pick up a copy of Eligible; Curtis Sittenfeld’s modern day take on the Jane Austen classic Pride and Prejudice.

To begin with I wasn’t sure if it was my love for the original story that made me like Eligible. Was I enjoying so much because I could associate characters and events with those of Pride and Prejudice. Over the course of reading Eligible I realised that it mattered not one iota. I was just really enjoying Sittenfeld’s writing.

Sittenfeld explores family dynamics, modern day problems and the role of gender in modern society. Overall, Sittenfeld has managed to do what most would believe to be unachievable; she has made Pride and Prejudice her own.

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld is available now.

For more information regarding Curtis Sittenfeld (@csittenfeld) please visit www.curtissittenfeld.com.

For more information regarding Random House (@PenguinRHUK) please visit www.penguinrandomhouse.co.uk.

4 Stars

One of Us is LyingTitle: One of Us it Lying

Author: Karen M. McManus

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s

The Blurb

Five Students go to detention. Only four leave alive.

On Thursday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention. Bronwyn, the brain, s Yale-bound and never breaks a rule. Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess. Nat, the bad boy, is already on probation for dealing. Cooper, the jock, is the all-star baseball pitcher. And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app. Only, Simon never makes it out o that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Thursday, he died. But on Friday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they just the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose? Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far would you go to protect them.

The Review

Well guys, welcome to the first five star book of 2017. One of Us is Lying is amazing. Part Breakfast Club part Heathers part Scream it really is an awesome thriller.

When social outcast Simon dies during detention his four fellow classmates are instantly classed as suspects in a murder investigation. Simon wasn’t a liked member of the student body, in fact he was downright hated by some due to his bitchy Perez-Hilton style gossip column; each other member of the detention crew had secrets that they didn’t want revealing and Simon knew what they all were thus giving everyone, Nate, Bronwyn, Addy and Cooper all a motive. So which one did it?

You will have to read to find out.

One of Us is Lying is a well crafted and brilliantly writer whodunit. The characters are believable and the mystery plot will have you guessing until you turn the last page. This is definitely a must read for 2017!

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus is available from 1st June 2017.

For more information regarding Karen M. McManus (@writerkmc) please visit www.karenmcmanus.com.

For more information regarding Penguin Random House UK Childrens (@penguinrandom) please visit www.penguinrandomhouse.com.5 Stars