Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met RishiTitle: When Dimple Met Rishi

Author: Sandhya Menon

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

The Blurb

The arranged marriage YA romcom you didn’t know you wanted or needed…

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

The Review

Some characters are destined to be together. All the stars align, time stops and the only two people in this (fictional) world are your protagonists.

Or, in the case of Dimple and Rishi they have been set up by both sets of parents to fulfil the requirements set in their Indian culture to marry within the race. This is the set up of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. It is book that looks at how tradition plays part in modern society.

You have Dimple who is determined to break the mould, the glass ceiling, the…everything as long as she doesn’t have to conform to her parental expectations. Rishi is her total opposite in that he wants to carry on the tradition. He wants to be partnered with a good match, fall in love in a practical way. And even though they are worlds apart in their views, when they collide you cannot help but notice the chemistry.

When Dimple Met Rishi is brilliant. It is a modern twist on a will they won’t they story that just keeps giving. The only problem I had with Sandhya Menon’s fabulous YA novel is that 384 pages just wasn’t enough. I wanted more.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is available now.

For more information regarding Sandhya Menon (@smenonboooks) please visit www.sandhyamenon.com.

For more information regarding Hodder & Stoughton (@HodderBooks) please visit www.hodder.co.uk.

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *