Title: Beach Combing

Author: Emma Lee-Potter

Pages: 63 Pages

Publisher: Endeavour Press

The Blurb

Impoverished art history student Lara Rawlinson thinks she has the perfect summer all mapped out.

She is spending the holidays in Cornwall, working for the dazzling film star Jago Dunlop. As Jago swans around film-sets and throws lavish parties, Lara is left entertaining his young son Alfie.

Then one day, sunbathing on the beach, Lara is distracted by a brilliant surfer showing off in the waves.

Inspired, she decides to take a surfing lesson and catches the eye of instructors Ed and Ollie.

But which surfer will capture her heart – smooth-talking Ollie or kind-hearted Ed?

And why are the pair at loggerheads one minute and the best of friends the next?

Lara is about to find out.

Beach Combing is a sparkling romantic novella that mixes sun, surfing and an entrancing Cornish seaside setting to create a summer read that is sweet, funny and heart-warming.

It is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green and Jilly Cooper – and for anyone who has ever admired a surf instructor from their deckchair.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Oh I do love reading a good beach story…in the middle of winter/early spring that still feels like winter….from the comfort of my warm bed…with a cup of tea. That is exactly what happened when I read Beach Combing by Emma Lee-Potter.

The story focuses on part-time au-pair Lara who is spending her summer away from university looking after a movie stars child. She is spending the summer in Cornwall and is enjoying the sights. Not just the cultural ones but the physical ones as well – mainly the hot surfers on the beach.

But like all good rom-coms there has to be some drama and boy does Lara get it. Her real life starts to resemble a movie and it is a fun frolicking romp!

Beach Combing was such a pleasant read. It was fun, frivolous and easy to read and enjoy. Top notch, Emma Lee-Potter!

Beach Combing by Emma Lee-Potter is available now.

For more information regarding Emma Lee-Potter (@EmmaLeePotter) please visit www.emmaleepotter.com.

3 Stars

Title: School Ties

Author: Emma Lee-Potter

Pages: 67 Pages

The Blurb

Downthorpe Hall. A posh boarding school in the Home Counties. Will Hughes has been installed as the new headmaster – fresh from working in an inner-city Comprehensive.

Will knows there will be challenges ahead. Difficult parents, rebellious teenagers, and jealous teachers who will fight his attempts to reform the school.

What he didn’t expect was a battle for his heart.

But when he meets the fiercely ambitious deputy head Grace Foley, and the brilliantly smart science teacher Henry Mead, Will realises that the ties at Downthorpe are not just the kind you wear around your neck.

What follows is a tangle of competing ambitions and desires that will leave Will bemused – and may force him to choose between the job he has always wanted and the woman of his dreams.

School Ties is a sparkling romantic comedy that takes the reader inside the cloistered, elite world of a top public school. It introduces a brilliant cast of characters that will entrance and entertain the reader.

The Review

School Ties is a lovely short set in a boarding school. It centres on Will, a new head teacher and his relationships with his colleagues and the students.

I’m not really going to go into the plot that much because it will reveal far too much. However, I will say that this book was the tonic that I needed. I had just finished reading two really heavy books and I needed something light and uncomplicated and I received that from School Ties.

That is not to say that it is devoid of drama because it really isn’t. It is actually a very accurate representation of the dynamics of a school (believe me, I work in one) and is really engaging. Emma Lee-Potter has packed a really great story into just 67 pages.

If you a looking for a little comic relief from a really dark read then School Ties is the perfect pick me up.

School Ties by Emma Lee-Potter is available now.

School Ties