Review: Music From Another World by Robin Talley

Title: Music From Another World

Author: Robin Talley

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

‘I’m just so sick of blending in…’

It’s 1977, and the USA is tearing itself apart. And so is Tammy Larson.

Seventeen and scared, Tammy has a secret that her strict community and conservative family must never find out; one that she’s only ever shared in unposted letters to her hero, Harvey Milk. She’s gay.

Hundreds of miles away, Tammy’s new pen pal is dealing with a few secrets of her own. Sharon Hawkins lives in foggy San Francisco, an exciting city full of protests and punk music. But as the letters pile up in her desk drawer, Sharon begins to realise that her world might not be that different to Tammy’s after all…

Set to a soundtrack of Bowie, Blondie and a whole lot of Patti Smith, the girls’ worlds converge in ways they could never have imagined. With a fierce sense of rebellion and a feminist attitude to boot, Tammy and Sharon soon discover what it means to be their true selves, and one thing’s for sure: they’re both sick of blending in.

The perfect empowering and life-affirming read for fans of Caitlin Moran, Becky Albertalli and Meredith Russo.

The Review

Wow. If I don’t read another book in 2022 then Music From Another World by Robin Talley will definitely have been the best book of the year and I will be happy for it to stay that way. I know it is a little early to tell this but I can already see this being in my Top Ten Books of 2022. It is glorious.

Set in 1977, Music From Another World looks at the change in culture and the rise of the LGBT community and the fight for equal rights. The story focuses on the burgeoning pen pal friendship of Sharon and Tammy. Both are dealing with secrets and both only have the other to confide in. But just how much can they say to each other without their worlds falling apart?

I really loved this story. It has so many elements – a love story, social history, familial bonds, religion. It just ticked so many boxes for me. I bought into the story so much and was desperate to see how things turned out with Sharon and Tammy. I think that the story had such an iconic historical backdrop along with the struggles of our main characters really compounded a historical social issue and made it accessible for a new generation.

I cannot speak more highly of this novel.

Music From Another World by Robin Talley is available now.

For more information regarding Robin Talley (@robin_talley) please visit www.robintalley.com.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.