Review: Eleven Lines to Somewhere by Alyson Rudd

Title: Eleven Lines to Somewhere

Author: Alyson Rudd

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

In a world of what-ifs, a connection has been made…

When Ryan spots a young woman on the tube on his commute, he can’t take his eyes off her. Instantly attracted and intrigued, he’s keen to find out more about his mysterious fellow passenger.

The woman he thinks of as Millie spends all day travelling the Underground, unable to leave for reasons unbeknownst to Ryan. For some inexplicable reason, he just can’t shake the feeling he wants to help her escape her endless commute.

This is a story of love and loss from the author of The First Time Lauren Pailing Died, perfect for fans of Anna Hope’s Expectation, David Nicholls’s Sweet Sorrow and Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life.

The Review

Eleven Lines to Somewhere is the story of many people whose lives intersect on the London Underground. It mainly focuses on Ryan who is smitten with a fellow passenger. He desperately wants to make a connection with her but can’t seem to do it in a “normal” way. So he decides to follow her.

What we get with Eleven Lines to Somewhere is an intriguing story much like Love Actually meets Crash in which we all play a small role in each others lives, almost like the butterfly effect.

I will admit that it did take me a while to get into the story of Eleven Lives to Somewhere (almost a quarter of the way through the book) and I did find the constant referencing of which TfL lines were being used a bit tedious – it is probably tittilating for someone who uses the various lines frequently but at times it became a bit dizzying. However, once the story got into its full swing it became an enjoyable read. 

One downside is that Eleven Lines to Somewhere is a mixed bag of resolution. Some of the characters story was rounded off nicely whereas others I felt were left floating in the ether. However, Ryan’s journey is a good story to follow and I enjoyed getting to know this character.

Eleven Lines to Somewhere by Alyson Rudd is available now.

For more information regarding Alyson Rudd (@allyrudd_times) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HWStories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.