Title: Eleven Lines to Somewhere

Author: Alyson Rudd

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

In a world of what-ifs, a connection has been made…

When Ryan spots a young woman on the tube on his commute, he can’t take his eyes off her. Instantly attracted and intrigued, he’s keen to find out more about his mysterious fellow passenger.

The woman he thinks of as Millie spends all day travelling the Underground, unable to leave for reasons unbeknownst to Ryan. For some inexplicable reason, he just can’t shake the feeling he wants to help her escape her endless commute.

This is a story of love and loss from the author of The First Time Lauren Pailing Died, perfect for fans of Anna Hope’s Expectation, David Nicholls’s Sweet Sorrow and Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life.

The Review

Eleven Lines to Somewhere is the story of many people whose lives intersect on the London Underground. It mainly focuses on Ryan who is smitten with a fellow passenger. He desperately wants to make a connection with her but can’t seem to do it in a “normal” way. So he decides to follow her.

What we get with Eleven Lines to Somewhere is an intriguing story much like Love Actually meets Crash in which we all play a small role in each others lives, almost like the butterfly effect.

I will admit that it did take me a while to get into the story of Eleven Lives to Somewhere (almost a quarter of the way through the book) and I did find the constant referencing of which TfL lines were being used a bit tedious – it is probably tittilating for someone who uses the various lines frequently but at times it became a bit dizzying. However, once the story got into its full swing it became an enjoyable read. 

One downside is that Eleven Lines to Somewhere is a mixed bag of resolution. Some of the characters story was rounded off nicely whereas others I felt were left floating in the ether. However, Ryan’s journey is a good story to follow and I enjoyed getting to know this character.

Eleven Lines to Somewhere by Alyson Rudd is available now.

For more information regarding Alyson Rudd (@allyrudd_times) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HWStories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Title: The First Time Lauren Pailing Died

Author: Alyson Rudd

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

Lauren Pailing is born in the sixties, and a child of the seventies. She is thirteen years old the first time she dies.

Lauren Pailing is a teenager in the eighties, becomes a Londoner in the nineties. And each time she dies, new lives begin for the people who loved her – while Lauren enters a brand new life, too.

But in each of Lauren’s lives, a man called Peter Stanning disappears. And, in each of her lives, Lauren sets out to find him.

And so it is that every ending is also a beginning. And so it is that, with each new beginning, Peter Stanning inches closer to finally being found…

Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Maggie O’Farrell, The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is a book about loss, grief – and how, despite it not always feeling that way, every ending marks the start of something new.

The Review

I tried to describe the story of The First Time Lauren Pailing Died to my fiancé the other day and I made a right pig’s ear of it so I apologise if this fails to make sense. The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is the story of a girl who lives many strands of the same life. She is a young teenager in one, an adult in another and in another she is dead. Yes. The story seems to apply itself to the belief of parallel lives but with differences. See already I am veering off into the grey area where I begin to get confused.

With that confusion in mind The First Time Lauren Pailing Died did confuse me. That is nothing to do with the writing. Alyson Rudd managed to keep me engaged in spite of my confusion because her writing is very good. Personally, I have issues with Groundhog Day-esque storylines because my little brain cannot keep up. However, The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is very good and I implore you to give it a try.

The First Time Lauren Pailing Died by Alyson Rudd is available now.

For more information regarding Alyson Rudd (@allyrudd_times) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQDigitalUK) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.