Review: The Skeletons of Scarborough House by Kitty French

Title: The Skeletons of Scarborough House (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 1)

Author: Kitty French

Pages: 258 Pages

Publisher: Bookouture

The Blurb

Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate fudge cake comes served with a side of murder.

Scarborough House is haunted, and it’s not doing much for Donovan Scarborough’s investment portfolio. No one wants to buy a place with levitating crockery, or (the wrong kind of) rhythmic pounding throughout the night.

Luckily, Melody “I-See-Dead-People” Bittersweet has just launched her own ghostbusting agency with best friend Marina, geeky, keen Arthur, and a one-eared pug called Lestat. They’re quick to take the case, even if it has already sort of (definitely) been given to Leo Dark, Melody’s rakish, despicable ex.

Melody soon discovers the resident phantoms are three brothers, one who was murdered at twenty, while the others lived to old age. But did the family exile the right person, or did the true killer get away with it?

Donovan Scarborough doesn’t care who solves the case. Whoever gets rid of the ghosts gets paid.

Can Melody and her new crew untangle the mystery, and bring the brothers peace, before Leo? Or will his distracting sexiness and Melody’s bonkers family cause the agency to fall at its first hurdle?

This is the PERFECT choice for fans of HY Hanna, Janet Evanovich, MC Beaton, and Gina LaManna, who’ll find themselves completely hooked and crying with laughter as they join Melody and her crew on their spooktastic adventure.

The Review

Sometimes all a girl really needs is a little bit of light-hearted escapism and dammit Kitty French delivers that in style in The Skeletons of Scarborough House (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 1).

Melody Bittersweet is the daughter and granddaughter of local mediums – Chapelwick’s real life answer to the movie ghost. Melody, too, shares this gift and decides it is about time for her to start using her god given abilities to help the lingering dead pass over.

She is not without competition in this area of business. In fact, she is fighting for a job against her ex – a man who has capitalised on his link to the deceased by getting himself a TV deal.

It is a race against time to see who can sort out the problem of lingering ghosts at Scarborough house.

I genuinely think it is a real skill to be able to write a book that you can get invested in but feel comforted when you turn the final page. Kitty French has done herself proud with the first in The Chapelwick Mysteries series.

The Skeletons of Scarborough House (The Chapelwick Mysteries Book 1) by Kitty French is available now.

For more information regarding Kitty French (@KFrenchBook) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Bookouture (@bookouture) please visit www.bookouture.com/pitch/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *