Cocktails and DreamsTitle: Cocktails and Dreams

Author: AL Michael

Pages: 210 Pages

Publisher: Canelo

The Blurb

A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk. 

I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person…

Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime.

Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and she begins to plan a future she can be excited about.

But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams?

See inside for a delicious cocktail recipe and book club questions! 

The Review

Whenever I read a book by AL Michael I get cross. No, not with AL Michael but with myself. You see, every book I have read by AL Michael I have enjoyed. I don’t know why I leave it so long in between reading them.

This was the exact thought I had after I finished Cocktails and Dreams.

The story focuses on Savvy. Now Savvy does anything for an easy existence. She stayed with her boyfriend because it was easy. She worked temp jobs because it was easier than figuring out what or who she wanted to be. Add into the mix a flaky musician mum and you can’t help but sympathise with Savvy and her want for a simple kind of life.

However, her world turns upside down when she is dumped by her boyfriend and everything that she thought she knew about herself starts to unravel. But is it for the best?

I genuinely loved Cocktails and Dreams. I couldn’t put it down and it is one of those books that feels like it is over too quickly because you haven’t been able to stop turning the pages. Savvy is a likable lead character and you really root for her throughout.

Another fine job, A.L. Michael. Well done!

Cocktails and Dreams by A.L. Michael is available now.

For more information regarding A.L. Michael (@ALMichael_) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Canelo (@canelo_co) please visit www.canelo.co.

4 Stars

Kisses on Paper AirplanesTitle: Kisses on Paper Airplanes

Author: Sarah Vance-Tompkins

Pages: 106 Pages

Publisher: InkSpell Publishing

The Blurb

Drama student Hannah Evans isn’t kissing any frogs on her path to find Prince Charming. She’s determined to share the perfect first kiss — with the perfect boy — in the perfect place — or she’s not kissing at all. When Hannah meets a cute ginger-haired boy in first class lounge in the London airport, she knows he’s ‘The One.’

Pop star Theo Callahan is on the road to get as far away as possible from his back-stabbing best friend, and his supermodel girlfriend who broke his heart. Until one shy smile from Hannah has him rethinking all of his travel plans.

Theo is smitten, but he’s worried she’s just a groupie in search of the ultimate selfie. Can Theo learn to trust Hannah in time to share one perfect first kiss, or will Hannah be forced to kiss a frog?

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

If you love pure escapist pleasure in under 150 pages then Kisses on Paper Airplanes by Sarah Vance-Tompkins is for you.

I absolutely adored it.

Kisses on Paper Airplanes has everything that a romantic short should have. In fact, I think any of us who love reading romance can honestly say that we have had this fantasy. You know the one, girl meets boy, boy and girl flirt and fall for each other, girl doesn’t realise straight away that they boy is famous. I can honestly say I have had that fantasy so many times featuring Pete Wentz, Matt Willis, David Tennant. But I digress.

Kisses on Paper Airplanes is such a simple concept but that is why it works. Furthermore, Sarah Vance-Tompkins genuinely makes you care for her characters. Even though it is a short story we are not short changed on detail, exposition or drama. She gives it all and then some. My one negative is that I wanted more.

Well done Sarah Vance-Tomkins!

Kisses on Paper Airplanes by Sarah Vance-Thompkins is available now.

For more information regarding Sarah Vance-Thompkins (@sarahvtompkins) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Inkspell Publishing (@InkSpellPublish) please visit www.inkspellpublishing.com.

4 Stars

Title: Beach Combing

Author: Emma Lee-Potter

Pages: 63 Pages

Publisher: Endeavour Press

The Blurb

Impoverished art history student Lara Rawlinson thinks she has the perfect summer all mapped out.

She is spending the holidays in Cornwall, working for the dazzling film star Jago Dunlop. As Jago swans around film-sets and throws lavish parties, Lara is left entertaining his young son Alfie.

Then one day, sunbathing on the beach, Lara is distracted by a brilliant surfer showing off in the waves.

Inspired, she decides to take a surfing lesson and catches the eye of instructors Ed and Ollie.

But which surfer will capture her heart – smooth-talking Ollie or kind-hearted Ed?

And why are the pair at loggerheads one minute and the best of friends the next?

Lara is about to find out.

Beach Combing is a sparkling romantic novella that mixes sun, surfing and an entrancing Cornish seaside setting to create a summer read that is sweet, funny and heart-warming.

It is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green and Jilly Cooper – and for anyone who has ever admired a surf instructor from their deckchair.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Oh I do love reading a good beach story…in the middle of winter/early spring that still feels like winter….from the comfort of my warm bed…with a cup of tea. That is exactly what happened when I read Beach Combing by Emma Lee-Potter.

The story focuses on part-time au-pair Lara who is spending her summer away from university looking after a movie stars child. She is spending the summer in Cornwall and is enjoying the sights. Not just the cultural ones but the physical ones as well – mainly the hot surfers on the beach.

But like all good rom-coms there has to be some drama and boy does Lara get it. Her real life starts to resemble a movie and it is a fun frolicking romp!

Beach Combing was such a pleasant read. It was fun, frivolous and easy to read and enjoy. Top notch, Emma Lee-Potter!

Beach Combing by Emma Lee-Potter is available now.

For more information regarding Emma Lee-Potter (@EmmaLeePotter) please visit www.emmaleepotter.com.

3 Stars

Title: Point Us to Paris (Summer Flings, #3)

Author: Aimee Duffy

Pages: 40 Pages

Publisher: Harper Impulse

The Blurb

Part 3 of Summer Flings – a fun, flirty and laugh out loud rom com series of short stories.

Ciara would rather be anywhere else in the world than Paris. All the gooey eyed couples and hand holding are making her miserable.

But Elle doesn’t have time for moping – not when she’s got the three of them on the guest list of an exclusive club. So Ciara tries her best to enjoy the free champagne, the loft party looking over the Seine and a little harmless sexting – until they realise they’ve stumbled into a nightmare none of them were prepared for.

The ideal summer treat for those relaxing days soaking up the sun!

The Review

Well done Aimee Duffy. With Point Us to Paris, Duffy has done a very brae thing. Rather than buying into the romance of Paris (which let’s face it we are all wont to do) she uses this part of the Summer Flings series to deal with more contentious issues; in this case, personal safety when travelling.

Gem, Elle and Ciara have hit Paris and their adventure is continuing. However, Point Us to Paris really reveals the disparity between the lives of these girls. We learn more about protagonist Caira and we really get to the nitty-gritty of the dynamics of the group.

For these reasons, Point Us to Paris may not be the happiest book in the Summer Flings series so far but it is certainly the best.

Point Us to Paris (Summer Flings, #3) by Aimee Duffy is available now.

For more information regarding Aimee Duffy (@AimeeDuffyx) please visit www.aimeeduffy.co.uk.

For more information regarding Harper Impulse (@HarperImpulse) please visit www.harperimpulse.com.4 Stars

Title: Misbehaving in Miami (Summer Flings, #2)

Author: Aimee Duffy

Pages: 40 Pages

Publisher: Harper Impulse

The Blurb

Part 2 of Summer Flings – a fun, flirty and laugh out loud rom com series of short stories.

The girls are off to a beach house to catch some rays – and if they play their cards right – super hot guys!

With drinking games in the name of Gucci, a surprise visit from a very pissed off Zack and hunks galore, Miami is turning into their best stop yet. Not to mention Ciara finally comes up with a way to have her cake and eat it too!

The ideal summer treat for those relaxing days soaking up the sun!

The Review

So we have moved on from Tinseltown to Miami and the girls are still getting into crazy hijinx.

In order to win a bag and Bloomingdales vouchers, Elle, Gem and Ciara get themselves into a drunken mess which brings Zack to their rescue.

Zack and Ciara decide to have a quick fling but can either of them do it without getting hurt? And with only a few days until the girls go to Paris will Ciara and Zack be able to say goodbye?

Misbehaving in Miami is speedily setting the tone of what we are coming to expect from the Summer Flings series. What is great is that we are starting to really engage in the Zack and Ciara relationship. We want them to be together but we can see all the obstacles (and miles) in their way.

I am really enjoying the Summer Flings series. I feel good reading them, which for me is no greater compliment.

Misbehaving in Miami (Summer Flings, #2) by Aimee Duffy is available now.

For more information regarding Aimee Duffy (@AimeeDuffyx) please visit www.aimeeduffy.co.uk.

For more information regarding Harper Impulse (@HarperImpulse) please visit www.harperimpulse.com.

3 Stars