Review: Freefall Summer by Tracy Barrett

Freefall SummerTitle: Freefall Summer

Author: Tracy Barrett

Pages: 272 Pages

Publisher: Charlesbridge Teen

The Blurb

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman’s emotionally-charged novels will laugh and cry with Clancy Edwards as she learns about taking chances and letting go during one unforgettable summer at her family’s skydiving drop zone.

Sixteen-year-old Clancy Edwards has always been “the good girl.” Ever since her beautiful, daring mother died in a skydiving accident, Clancy’s father has watched her like a hawk. Between her dad’s rules and her boyfriend’s protectiveness, she’s longing for an escape.

Then Clancy meets Denny, a college freshman and new skydiving student at the drop zone where she works. Clancy lets him think she’s the same age. But the lies snowball over the summer and suddenly Clancy isn’t the person she wants to be. If only making choices were as simple as taking a leap out of a plane. Before Clancy can make things right, one last act of rebellion threatens her chance to do so–maybe forever.

The Review

I liked the cover of Freefall Summer and I will admit that it was the sole reason I requested it from NetGalley. Later, I looked at it on Goodreads and saw that it had below three stars and I panicked a little. Another book that may be hard work to get through. I have to say though that I have no idea why it is rated low on Goodreads because I thought it was great.

It is the story of Clancy who has made it her life goal not to let her dad worry. Her mother passed away when she was six and since then here dad has tightened the reins on Clancy; rather than push against them she has allowed him to wrap her in cotton wool. Things start to come to a head when she starts to have bigger dreams than just living a humdrum life in her little town. She wants adventure, she wants to study in a university far away. More than anything she wants to discuss this with her dad but she still feels like she can’t.

Freefall Summer is a great coming-of-age story about learning to be grown up with your parents and crossing that invisible line of child to adult. It has wonderful family dynamics and a great storyline of breaking the mould that someone has set for you.

Freefall Summer by Tracy Barrett is available now.

For more information regarding Tracy Barrett (@writingtracy) please visit www.tracybarrett.com.

For more information regarding Charlesbridge Teen (@CharlesbridgeYA) please visit www.charlesbridgeteen.com.

35 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.