Review: 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant

36 Questions tht Changed My Mind About YouTitle: 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You

Author: Vicki Grant

Pages: 352 Pages

Publisher: Perseus Books/Running Press Books

The Blurb

Inspired by the real psychology study popularized by the New York Times and its “Modern Love” column, this contemporary YA is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park.

Two random strangers. Two secrets. Thirty-six questions to make them fall in love.

Hildy and Paul each have their own reasons for joining the university psychology study that asks the simple question: Can love be engineered?

The study consists of 36 questions, ranging from “What is your most terrible memory?” to “When did you last sing to yourself?” By the time Hildy and Paul have made it to the end of the questionnaire, they’ve laughed and cried and lied and thrown things and run away and come back and driven each other almost crazy. They’ve also each discovered the painful secret the other was trying so hard to hide. But have they fallen in love?

Told in the language of modern romance–texting, Q&A, IM–and punctuated by Paul’s sketches, this clever high-concept YA is full of humor and heart. As soon as you’ve finished reading, you’ll be searching for your own stranger to ask the 36 questions. Maybe you’ll even fall in love.

The Review

Sometimes you just need a bit of light-hearted romance and fluff and boy do you get it by the bucket load with Vicki Grant’s delightful novel 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some serious issues that are dealt with in this book but you will have to read it to get to the nitty-gritty of those dramas.

I want to talk to you about love love love. In particular the bourgeoning relationship between Hildy and Paul who both take part in a psychological study. They each have to answer 36 questions honestly and then the theory is that they will fall in love. Except to begin with, they both kind of hate each other. It doesn’t make for a great start to a relationship.

However, as the novel goes on we realise that these perfect strangers are actually rather perfect for each other.

36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant is the kind of novel that you get fully invested in. You root for these characters and oh my days it is such an easy read. Before you realise it you have nearly finished the book. Honestly, 36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You begs for a part 2.

36 Questions That Changed My Mind About You by Vicki Grant is available now.

For more information regarding Vicki Grant (@VickiGrantYA) please visit www.vickigrant.com.

For more information regarding Perseus Books (@PerseusBooks) please visit their Twitter page.

For more information regarding Running Press (@Running_Press) please visit www.runningpress.com.

35 Stars

1 Comment

  1. 28th November 2017 / 2:41 am

    Well, this is a lovely review! Always happy to provide ‘bucket loads’ of the good stuff! So glad you enjoyed your time with Hildy and Paul, Lisa!
    Signed,
    A Grateful Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *