Review: Ten Birthdays by Kerry Wilkinson

Ten BirthdaysTitle: Ten Birthdays

Author: Kerry Wilkinson

Pages: 201 Pages

Publisher: Bookouture

The Blurb

There are going to be so many things I wish I could’ve told you in person, Poppy. I won’t get the chance to do that, so perhaps this is my only way…

It’s Poppy Kinsey’s birthday.

She should be blowing out candles and opening presents – but hers falls on the type of heart-wrenching, agonising anniversary she would far rather forget.

The worst day of them all. The day her mother died.

But this year is special because the person she misses most in the world has left her a set of letters, one for each of her next ten birthdays.

As Poppy opens them year by year, she discovers that no matter how tough life gets, her mum will always be by her side, guiding her along the way.

Fans of Cecelia Ahern and S.D. Robertson will love this page turning tear-jerker about making every moment count.

The Review

Well, this is a sweet book.

Ten Birthdays is the story of Poppy. Each chapter takes place on Poppy’s birthday and over ten years we see her receive advice in the form of a letter from her mum who has passed away.

Along with her two best friends Freya and Mark we watch that difficult time between being a teenager and being an adult and how Poppy deals with growing up.

What I really liked about Ten Birthdays is that Wilkinson has highlighted how what is seen as the correct route to life and happiness. Freya and Mark go a different route to Poppy but inevitably it is Poppy who ends up happiest.

The comparisons to P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern are inevitable but what is at the heart of this story is the relationship between mother and daughter and how that bond is special.

Ten Birthdays by Kerry Wilkinson is available now.

For more information regarding Kerry Wilkinson (@kerrywk) please visit www.kerrywilkinson.com.

For more information regarding Bookouture (@bookouture) please visit www.bookouture.com.

3 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *