Review: Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu

life-by-committeeTitle: Life by Committee

Author: Corey Ann Haydu

Pages: 309 Pages

Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books

The Blurb

Secret: I kissed someone else’s boyfriend.
Assignment: Do it again.

Like most who find Life by Committee, Tabitha is a little lost. Her best friend has ditched her, her Vermont town is feeling way too small, and she’s falling head over heels for a guy named Joe—who already has a girlfriend. Just when Tab is afraid she’ll burst from keeping the secret of Joe inside, she discovers Life by Committee. The rules of LBC are simple: tell a secret, receive an assignment. Complete the assignment to keep your secret safe.

Tab likes it that the assignments push her to her limits, empowering her to live boldly and go further than she’d ever go on her own. But in the name of truth and bravery, how far is too far to go?

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jennifer E. Smith, Life by Committee is a fresh, vibrant novel about the power of wanting, the messiness of friendship, and the truths we hide and share.

The Review

I really loved the concept of Life by Committee. That you put your secrets out into the world with the added knowledge of knowing that you have anonymity and you have to take on a challenge related to the revealed secret. Genius. Especially in out media soaked environment and furthermore when we have social media on tap and young adults believe their lives are really just one click away.

So yes, I loved the concept of Life by Committee. However, I did find things that jarred on me a little. Firstly, the pacing. I felt like I was always trying to hurry the story along a little bit. I wanted to get to the intriguing stuff but was slowed down quite a lot. The second thing (and the one that was more crucial to me) was that I felt like Corey Ann Haydu tried too hard to sound young. I felt that in every other sentence Haydu added the word ‘like’ because that is what a teenager would supposedly say. It began to grate after a while.

Overall, Life by Committee is a good read with a brilliant concept.

Life By Committee by Corey Ann Haydu is available now.

For more information regarding Corey Ann Haydu (@CoreyAnnHaydu) please visit www.coreyannhaydu.com.

3-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *