Review: Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

kids-of-appetiteTitle: Kids of Appetite

Author: David Arnold

Pages: 352 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

KIDS OF APPETITE by David Arnold is a tragicomedy of first love and devastating loss for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven.

In the Hackensack Police Department, Vic Benucci and his friend Mad are explaining how they found themselves wrapped up in a grisly murder. But in order to tell that story, they have to go way back…

It all started when Vic’s dad died. Vic’s dad was his best friend, and even now, two years later, he can’t bring himself to touch the Untouchable Urn of Oblivion that sits in his front hall. But one cold December day, Vic falls in with an alluring band of kids that wander his New Jersey neighbourhood, including Mad, the girl who changes everything. Along with his newfound friendships comes the courage to open his father’s urn, the discovery of the message inside, and the epic journey it sparks.

The Review

As I am wont to do, I was drawn to Kids of Appetite because of its cover. It looked intriguing. Ergo, I requested said book from Bookbridgr and NetGalley (believing I would only receive one – sorry). If I am honest, it took me a long while to get into the story.

I am, however, glad that I stuck with it. Initially, I was perplexed by the many different characters who I felt that I couldn’t keep up with. Then I was fascinated by one of the main characters, Vic, and his medical condition – Moebius Syndrome – something I knew nothing about. I loved the idea of a group of young people all coming together with different backgrounds but forming a family and I loved the relationship between the two main characters. What I loved most is that Kids of Appetite is a great pay-off novel.

Whilst you may find that, like me, you struggle to find your rhythm with this novel, please stick with it. It is really good. It is different from anything I have read before and it really is a great story.

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold is available now.

For more information regarding David Arnold (@roofbeam) please visit www.davidarnoldbooks.com.

For more information regarding Headline (@HeadlinePG) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

35-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *