Title: Look at Me

Author: Sarah Deguid

Pages: 256 Pages

Publisher: Headline/Tinder Press

The Blurb

Lizzy’s mother died two years ago, leaving a family bereft by her absence and a house still filled with her things. Then, one day, Lizzy finds a letter from a stranger to her father, and discovers he has another child. Lizzy invites her into their world in an act of outraged defiance. Almost immediately, she realises her mistake.

The Review

Ok, so this is a confusing one for me. I wasn’t necessarily a huge fan of Look at Me but it is undeniable that the writing was good. I say this because Sarah Deguid genuinely managed to creep me out. Her story telling was exceptional in the sense that the character driven tale was really engaging and you felt Lizzy’s discomfort so fervently that it could quite easily be your own discomfort. So whilst I say I didn’t like the book it was not because it wasn’t good but I was so uncomfortable that it made me not like it which in my view is the sign of good writing.

Sorry Sarah Deguid, I didn’t like your book but in the most positive way.

Look at Me by Sarah Deguid is available now.

For more information regarding Tinder Press (@TinderPress) please visit www.tinderpress.co.uk.

For more information regarding Headline (@headlinepg) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

Title: Neverwhere

Author: Neil Gaiman

Pages: 436 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

Under the streets of London lies a world most people could never dream of.

When Richard Mayhew helps a mysterious girl he finds bleeding on the pavement, his boring life changes in an instant. Her name is Door, she’s on the run from two assassins in black suits and she comes from London Below.

His act of kindness leads him to a place filled with monsters and angels, a Beast in a labyrinth and an Earl who holds Court in a Tube train.

It is strangely familiar yet utterly bizarre.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Fantasy is not my genre of choice but there is something so welcoming about the weird worlds that Neil Gaiman creates that I find myself drawn to his stories.

I had bought myself the Chris Riddell illustrated edition of Neverwhere sometime last year and I kept it by my bedside promising myself over and over that it would be my next read. Eventually, it came to pass and man was I captivated.

The story blends the old and the new; London Above and London Below. Richard – a man from Above, gets lost in the labyrinthine world of Below. As is Above self starts to fade he begins his adventure below and realises that there is more to the world than the eye can see.

Neverwhere is truly a special story that is so easy to get lost in and once again reaffirms my faith that Neil Gaiman is a master story teller.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman is available now.

For more information regarding Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) please visit www.neilgaiman.com.

For more information regarding Chris Riddell (@chrisriddell50) please visit www.chrisriddell.co.uk.

For more information regarding Headline (@headlinepg) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

Title: How the Marquis Got his Coat Back

Author: Neil Gaiman

Pages: 64 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

Neverwhere short story from one of the brightest, most brilliant writers of our generation – the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning The Ocean At the End of the Lane.

The coat. It was elegant. It was beautiful. It was so close that he could have reached out and touched it.

And it was unquestionably his.

 (AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Every time I pick up a book by Neil Gaiman I get cross with myself that I haven’t read more. That being said, one of my upcoming books to be read is Neil Gaimain’s Neverwhere. Therefore I decided to read How the Marquis Got his Coat Back – an accompanying story – just to get myself in the Neil Gaiman groove.

I’m so glad I did.

How the Marquis Got his Coat Back is chock full of interesting characters who are whimsical in nature and even though they are reaching into the realms of fantasy come across as quite normal and commonplace.

The story centres on how, indeed, the marquis got his coat back – his coat sounds wonderful, lots of pockets – and even though it is only 64 pages in length I feel that I was submerged into the world of Neverwhere. Now I cannot wait to read the full length novel.

How the Marquis Got his Coat Back by Neil Gaiman is available now.

For more information regarding Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) please visit www.neilgaiman.com.

For more information regarding Headline (@headlinepg) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

3 Stars

Title: How to Be A Grown Up

Author: Daisy Buchanan

Pages: 265 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

‘I thought that as thirty drew nearer, success and happiness were supposed to float towards me like a drink on an inflatable coaster in the Club Tropicana video.’

Who feels like a grown-up when they’re eighteen? Or even twenty-one? With thirty fast approaching, journalist and agony aunt Daisy Buchanan found herself worrying about whether or not she was a ‘proper’ grown-up yet. Her twenties had been a familiar tale of boyfriends lost, overdrafts spent, one-night stands, disastrous outfits and jobs that didn’t turn out to be quite what she hoped. But had she learnt anything on the way? In her unstintingly honest and hilarious account of a defining decade, Daisy shares the highs and the lows to show us that adulthood really is only in the eye of the beholder.

Or could it be that by surviving her mistakes she’d grown up without really noticing?

The Review

It is hard being an adult. Especially when you are in your twenties . When you think about it, you are still in your infancy of being an adult. You are still learning how to be a grown p. It is this strange paradigm that is the subject of Daisy Buchanan’s book How to Be A Grown Up.

I really related to this book and Buchanan’s struggles. I struggled through my twenties. I got myself in debt due to the dreaded FOMO. I lost friends, had dramatic romantic dalliances. I won’t lie, my twenties were awesome but they also sucked.

How to Be A Grown Up should be issued to everyone as a set text when they turn eighteen. It is definitely a book for anyone feeling a bit unsure about this whole adult life thing. If you feel like you are doing your twenties “wrong” (and at some point you probably will) then Daisy Buchanan is here to assure you that you are doing just fine.

For more information regarding Daisy Buchanan (NotRollerGirl) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Headline Books (@Headlinepg) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

35 Stars

jane-steeleTitle: Jane Steele

Author: Lyndsay Faye

Pages: 432 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

Reader, I murdered him.’ JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.

Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked – but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors.

A fugitive navigating London’s underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate’s true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household’s strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him – body, soul and secrets – and what if he discovers her murderous past?

The Review

Oh boo. I really wanted to like Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye. I genuinely did. My favourite book is Jane Eyre and so I thought that a book that had so many links to the Bronte classic would naturally be loved by me but it wasn’t.

I have to give kudos to Faye because her style of writing is on point. She continues the selected style throughout the text and never wavers. I think for someone writing outside of the pre-Victorian time period that can be difficult but she manages it excellently. However, I did find the tone to be very glib. The satirical style almost became too jarring.

Jane Steele is a well rounded mystery and Faye masterfully weaves a tale of intrigue but it just didn’t tick all of my boxes.

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye is available now.

For more information regarding Lyndsay Faye (@LyndsayFaye) please visit www.lyndsayfaye.com.

For more information regarding Headline (@headlinepg) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

2-stars