Review: The Reader on the 6:27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent

The Reader on the 627Title: The Reader on the 6:27

Author: Jean-Paul Didierlaurent

Pages: 194 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

An international bestseller, The Reader on the 6.27 is ready to take you on a journey . . .

Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life . . . Sitting on the 6.27 train each day, Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie – a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does – that his journey will truly begin . . .

The Reader on the 6.27 is a tale bursting with larger-than-life characters, each of whom touches Guylain’s life for the better.

For fans of Amelie and Mr Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore, this captivating novel is a warm, funny fable about literature’s power to uplift even the most downtrodden of lives.

The Review

What can I say about The Reader on the 6:27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent? Well, I didn’t love it. I liked it and I appreciate the concept of the story but there were some things about the story that I had problems with.

The story is about Guylain Vignolles, a factory worker who spends his commute to work reading random pages from stories to the other passengers. By chance, Guylain comes across a memory stick and discovers the diary of a young girl. He starts reading her journal entries, instead of pages from books, to the passengers and sets out to find her.

It is in the latter half of The Reader on the 6:27 that the story starts to get interesting. For the first half, I was confused as to what the heck was going on. For me, the exposition was far too lengthy and only offered me information that was irrelevant. It is the introduction of Julie that makes The Reader on the 6:27 interesting. Sadly, this part of the story was too short.

Overall, The Reader on the 6:27 is quirky and interesting but unfortunately, it was a little too weird for my liking.

The Reader on the 6:27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent is available now.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

2 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *