Title: Kill the Boy Band

Author: Goldy Moldavsky

Pages: 320 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Fangirls get a bad rap all the time – people say we’re weird, hysterical, obsessed, certifiable. But those people don’t understand. 

Just because we’re fangirls, doesn’t mean we’re crazy. 

It’s important you know that up front. Because everything I’m about to tell you is going to seem . . . well, crazy. 

From thrilling debut author Goldy Moldavsky comes Kill The Boy Band, a pitch-black, hilarious take on modern fandom and the badass girls who have the power to make – or break – the people we call ‘celebrities’.

The Review

Oh how I laughed at this book.

Goldy Moldavsky’s debut novel Kill the Boy Band is hilarious. It is a novel about fandom and about the crazy lengths people will go to meet their idols. I’ve been there. For me, it was Busted. I get these characters.

The genius of this book lays with its main character – an unnamed narrator who opts to call herself various names throughout the book – her quips, witty one liners (god rest his soul) and 80s movie references were genius and made this book such a brilliant read. It made me feel nostalgic for a time when it was okay for your world to be consumed by a band.

I flippin’ loved this story.

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky is available now.

For more information regarding Goldy Moldavsky (@goldywrites) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: Wilder Girls

Author: Rory Power

Pages: 357 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Everyone loses something to the Tox; Hetty lost her eye, Reese’s hand has changed, and Byatt just disappeared completely.

It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put in quarantine. The Tox turned the students strange and savage, the teachers died off one by one. Cut off from the mainland, the girls don’t dare wander past the school’s fence where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure as the Tox takes; their bodies becoming sick and foreign, things bursting out of them, bits missing.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her best friend, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie in the wilderness past the fence. As she digs deeper, she learns disturbing truths about her school and what else is living on Raxter Island. And that the cure might not be a cure at all . . .

The Review

Oh boy. I hate it when I dislike a book but man I really did not gel with Wilder Girls. I just didn’t see the point of it.

I read it as a buddy read with my friend Clare over at ABookandTea.com and even she felt the same.

The story which had a feeling of a modern day Lord of the Flies was a dystopian campus novel which on the surface seemed like it would be a great story but for me it really struggled with pacing and making the reader care about the characters. I just failed to see the point.

The one redeeming factor for me was the duality of characters – you didn’t know which ones to believe.

Overall, I was seriously disappointed.

Wilder Girls by Rory Power is available now.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit there Twitter account.

Title: Our Wives Under the Sea

Author: Julia Armfield

Pages: 240 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Our Wives Under The Sea is the debut novel from the critically acclaimed author of Salt Slow. It’s a story of falling in love, loss, grief, and what life there is in the deep, deep sea.

Miri thinks she has got her wife back, when Leah finally returns after a deep sea mission that ended in catastrophe. It soon becomes clear, though, that Leah may have come back wrong. Whatever happened in that vessel, whatever it was they were supposed to be studying before they were stranded on the ocean floor, Leah has carried part of it with her, onto dry land and into their home.

To have the woman she loves back should mean a return to normal life, but Miri can feel Leah slipping from her grasp. Memories of what they had before – the jokes they shared, the films they watched, all the small things that made Leah hers – only remind Miri of what she stands to lose. Living in the same space but suddenly separate, Miri comes to realize that the life that they had might be gone.

The Review

Okay, I have very little to say about Our Wives Under the Sea. Objectively, I can see that it was beautifully written and the story was unusual and unique. Personally, I didn’t get it/enjoy it. I know there is a big metaphor continuing throughout the story but I just didn’t get it.

People will love this book. It just wasn’t for me.

Our Wives Under the Sea by Julia Armfield is available now.

For more information regarding Julia Armfield (@JuliaArmfield) please visit www.juliaarmfield.co.uk.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: People Like Her

Author: Ellery Lloyd

Pages: 321 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Introducing 2021’s most scintillating debut thriller, People Like Her  is a story about truth and lies, motherhood and social media — and the lengths some people will go to, not only for revenge, but also to be liked. For fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley. 

Followed by millions. Hunted by one.

THE INFLUENCER

I need to be liked. It’s my job

My personal brand is built on honesty.

Family, friendship, cheering other mothers on when things get tough.

Doing it together – telling it like it really is – that’s what @the_Mamabare is all about.

THE HUSBAND

I just want a quiet life

Her adoring followers feel like they understand my wife.

My wife certainly understands them.

I know she is beautiful, smart, ambitious, charming.

But she’s also a liar.

THE FOLLOWER

I want revenge

The filter’s about to drop.

I’ve been watching you and your family very closely.

You’ve ruined my life.

Now I’m going to ruin yours.

The Review

People Like Her was a surprising read. I was expecting a nice little mystery that I could read mindlessly and practise the art of escapism. I was wrong. People Like Her is an intense thriller that comments on the insidious nature of social media and how being an influencer isn’t all it cracks up to be.

Emmy and Dan have a seemingly perfect life. Well, the life that they show on Instagram is perfect but when a serious of creepy events occur Dan seems rocked and questions Emmy’s social media addiction.

At the heart of the story though are Emmy and Dan’s children. When they become the target I couldn’t help but find myself being stressed out. I don’t have children but I have a niece and the fear of anything happening to her transposed into my reading of the story. I had a visceral reaction to it. For me that is the mark of good story telling.

People Like Her is a spine chilling read and worthy of being picked up.

People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd is available now.

For more information regarding Ellory Lloyd (@ElleryLloydAuthor) please visit www.ellerylloyd.com.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: The Club

Author: Ellory Lloyd

Pages: 308 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

From the author of R&J pick, People Like Her, and for fans of The White Lotus and Succession, Ellery Lloyd’s The Club is an exhilarating, addictive read, telling a story of ambition, excess, and what happens when people who have everything – or nothing – to lose are pushed to their limit.

The opening of Island Home is tipped to be the biggest celebrity event of the decade.

Famous around the world as an ultra-exclusive private members’ club, the Home Group is about to launch its most ambitious location yet, set on a remote island that offers guests complete privacy as well as utter luxury.

For the past few weeks, rumours have been swirling about who will be attending the extravagant opening weekend.

But things are far from perfect at Home and, with long-suffering staff struggling to satisfy spiralling demands, secrets at risk of being exposed, and careers at stake, the weekend slowly turns deadly – because in a world where your reputation is everything, you’d do anything to keep it…

The Review

The Club by Ellory Lloyd is the story of what it is like to be famous. The good part – parties, celebrity friends, exclusive freebies and also the seedy underbelly where every move you make is watched, scrutinised and used to bring you down.

It is a fast paced thriller with mulitiple threads to the story which is both the story’s credit and detriment. The detriment because at times I fiound myself a bit lost with the characters and didn’t feel that they were fully fleshed out enough for me to discern who was who but to its credit I did struggle to guess who had caused the crimes.

For me, The Club by Ellory Lloyd is a story of two halves – there are great aspects to it but it needed more in the character development – because I couldn’t always fully create a character in my mind I failed to care enough about them. It is, however, a great beach read. Perfect for the summer holidays,

The Club by Ellory Lloyd is available now.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.