Title: The Girl who reads on the Metro

Author: Christine Feret-Fleury

Pages: 175 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog, The Girl Who Reads on the Métro is the French phenomenon by Christine Féret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere . . .

When Juliette takes the métro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books – she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters’ choices might say about them.

But when, one day, she decides to alight the train a few stops early and meets Soliman – the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen – she is sure her life will never be the same again . . .

For Soliman also believes in the power of books to change the course of a life – entrusting his passeurs with the task of giving each book to the person who needs it most – and he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job.

And so, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .

The Review

I really love books that have been translated into English. That probably sounds a bit weird but the books that I have read in this category over the past few years have always surprised me with their originality and quirky nature. The Girl who reads on the Metro by Christine Feret-Fleury fits seamlessly into this collection.

Whilst I know the story of Juliette will not change my life, it certainly changed my day when I read it. The one thing I take from it is that other people can articulate the love of books and the love of reading so well. Frequently I stopped reading just to pause and fully take in the line that I had just read. The writing – and indeed, the translation – was magical.

The Girl who reads on the Metro by Christine Feret-Fleury is available now.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

Title: The Ladies of the House

Author: Molly McGrann

Pages: 256 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

On a hot July day, three elderly people are found dead in a dilapidated house in Primrose Hill. Reading the story in a newspaper as she prepares to leave the country, Marie Gillies has an unshakable feeling that she is somehow to blame. How did these three people come to live together, and how did they all die at once? The truth lies in a very different England, and in the secret world of the ladies of the house…

The Review

The Ladies of the House by Molly McGrann is a strange little story about two families connected by one man: Arthur Gillies.

You have Marie and her mother who live quite a quiet and sheltered life but when Marie discovers her dad lived an alternative life that she had absolutely no prior knowledge of, she also learns that he is a multimillionaire.

In another part of London lives Arthur’s alternative family – Rita, Annetta and Joseph. They all belong to Arthur. Joseph – his illegitimate son lives with two women who used to be part f the ladies of one of the brothels that Arthur owned.

I can’t say that I loved this novel. Actually, I don’t think I even liked it. I found that I kept asking myself what the point of it was. When that happens I know that I reading a clanger. I read it to get the book finished not because I was enjoying the story.

The Ladies of the House by Molly McGrann is available now.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@pamacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

Title: The Thunder Girls

Author: Melanie Blake

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Jackie Collins for a new generation. The Thunder Girls is a blockbuster novel, filled with obsession, addiction, betrayal and revenge, that charts the rise and fall of an 80s girl band from Melanie Blake, a true insider of the music business.

Perfect for fans of Tasmina Perry and Daisy Jones and The Six. Soon to be a nationwide play with an all star cast.

THE

Chrissie, Roxanne, Carly and Anita, an eighties pop sensation outselling and out-classing their competition. Until it all comes to an abrupt end and three of their careers are over, and so is their friendship.

THUNDER

Thirty years later, their old record label wants the band back together for a huge money-making concert. But the wounds are deep and some need this gig more than others.

In those decades apart life was far from the dream they were living as members of The Thunder Girls. Breakdowns, bankruptcy, addiction and divorce have been a constant part of their lives. They’ve been to hell and back, and some are still there.

GIRLS

Can the past be laid to rest for a price, or is there more to this reunion than any of them could possibly know? Whilst they all hunger for a taste of success a second time around, someone is plotting their downfall in the deadliest way possible . . .

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

All I wanted to be in my 20s was a rock star. I’m in my 30s now and much like my 20s there is zero chance of it ever happening but man I can still dream.

That is what is absolutely fantastic about The Thunder Girls by Melanie Blake. I am given the opportunity to live the rock star lifestyle vicariously through the girls in the band: Chrissie – your typical egotistical bitch with a heart of gold hidden under her icy exterior, the scorned Roxanne – I wouldn’t like to get on her bad side, the peacekeeper Carly – just because she is quiet doesn’t mean she doesn’t have secrets, and Anita – the feisty kick ass member of the band who may in fact be the glue that keeps them all together.

Melanie Blake has written an absolute page turner about what the music industry is like. She uses her real life experiences which give the book a verisimilitude and dammit she has made me want to continue the dream of being a rock star.

I really wish that I could unread this book so I could read it all over again.

Absolutely fantastic.

The Thunder Girls by Melanie Blake is available now.

For more information regarding Melanie Blake (@MelanieBlakeUK) please visit www.thethundergirls.co.uk.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@Panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

 

Title: Fierce Fragile Hearts

Author: Sara Barnard

Pages: 354 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

A powerful new novel from the YA author of Beautiful Broken Things, A Quiet Kind of Thunder, and Goodbye, Perfect.

The stunning companion novel to Sara Barnard’s bestseller Beautiful Broken Things – which was shortlisted for the YA Book Prize and a Zoella’s Book Club Selection – Fierce Fragile Hearts is about leaving the past behind, and learning to find love, in all its forms.

Two years after a downward spiral took her as low as you can possibly go, Suzanne is starting again. (Again.) She’s back in Brighton, the only place she felt she belonged, back with her best friends Caddy and Rosie. But they’re about to leave for university.

When your friends have been your light in the darkness, what happens when you’re the one left behind?

The Review

Sara Barnard is one of those authors whose books I anticipate. I think she is one of the best YA fiction writers and I get swallowed whole by her stories. Fierce Fragile Hearts is no exception to this praise.

In Fierce Fragile Hearts we return to Brighton and to the life that Suzanne once knew. Fresh and optimistic she is trying to become an adult and even though things haven’t been easy for Suzanne so far it turns out that adulthood is no easy picnic. It is especially hard when her support system – her friends Caddy and Rosie – are off to pastures new for university.

Feeling alone and a little bit lost Suzanne starts to fall back on old, dangerous habits.

Fierce Fragile Hearts was a brilliant sequel to an already amazing book. Barnard manages to capture the loneliness and isolation of Suzanne, the struggles with being a child of ‘the system’ and also the difficult journey of trying to grow up. It encapsulates all the things I love, a book with friendship at its core, a coming-of-age tale and an awesome soundtrack to accompany it. If there was an extended road trip added then I would have been in book nirvana.

Fierce Fragile Hearts by Sara Barnard is available now.

For more information regarding Sara Barnard (@saramegan) please visit www.sarabarnardofficial.com.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

Title: The Burning Chambers

Author: Kate Mosse

Pages: 608 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan/Mantle Books

The Blurb

Bringing sixteenth-century Languedoc vividly to life, Kate Mosse’s The Burning Chambers is a gripping story of love and betrayal, mysteries and secrets; of war and adventure, conspiracies and divided loyalties . . .

Carcassonne 1562: Nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert receives an anonymous letter at her father’s bookshop. Sealed with a distinctive family crest, it contains just five words: SHE KNOWS THAT YOU LIVE. But before Minou can decipher the mysterious message, a chance encounter with a young Huguenot convert, Piet Reydon, changes her destiny forever.

For Piet has a dangerous mission of his own, and he will need Minou’s help if he is to get out of La Cité alive. Toulouse: As the religious divide deepens in the Midi, and old friends become enemies, Minou and Piet both find themselves trapped in Toulouse, facing new dangers as sectarian tensions ignite across the city, the battle-lines are drawn in blood and the conspiracy darkens further. Meanwhile, as a long-hidden document threatens to resurface, the mistress of Puivert is obsessed with uncovering its secret and strengthening her power . .

The Review

I was genuinely scared to read The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. I loved her Languedoc series but I hadn’t quite come to terms with Citadel yet – seriously, it was a bloodbath. So with trepidation I picked up The Burning Chambers and literally within paragraphs – not even pages or chapters but paragraphs – I was hooked.

What is so impressive with Kate Mosse’s storytelling is just how immersive it is. I felt like I was part of the Joubert family. I was dealing with the family secrets, I was battling in the war between the Catholics and the Heugenots, I was travelling the very roads between Carcassonne and Toulouse. I was there. Even though it took place a very long time ago and I was reading from the comfort of my modern day home.

The Burning Chambers was a pleasure to read, a book that I will be recommending to the all historical fiction buffs that I know.

There really is only one true master of historical fiction, and that, ladies and gentlemen, is Kate Mosse.

The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse is available now.

For more information regarding Kate Mosse (@katemosse) please visit www.katemosse.co.uk.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

For more information regarding Mantle Books (@MantleBooks) please visit www.mantle.panmacmillan.com.