Review: The Trouble With Women by Jacky Fleming

The Trouble with WomenTitle: The Trouble with Women

Author: Jacky Fleming

Pages: 128 Pages

Publisher: Andrew McMeel Publishing

The Blurb

Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist’s brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women’s “issues,” “frailties,” and “failures” in our not-so-distant history.

Ever noticed that women don’t feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women’s main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.

Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the “dustbin of history,” while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale “genius hair.”

The Review

Hehehehe, oh my days. I loved The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming. It is a satirical look about the development of women in a man’s world. It is told through hilarious illustrative representations which had me howling out loud.

It is sad that in these modern times that a book like this still seems so relevant but seeing as men still earn more than women in the workplace for doing the exact same job and seeing how girls playing certain sports is often viewed as a novelty I guess we can still see how imperative a book like this exists.

The Trouble with Women is a brilliant book and a must read for any young woman who intends on kicking ass through any and all glass ceilings.

The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming is available now.

For more information regarding Jacky Fleming (@JacksterFleming) please follow her on Twitter.

For more information regarding Andrews McMeel Publishing (@AndrewsMcMeel) please visit www.andrewsmcmeel.com.

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *