Title: Us

Author: Curtis Wiklund

Pages: 112 Pages

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

The Blurb

Inspired by his wife, artist and wedding photographer Curtis Wiklund sketched a new drawing every day for a year. The result is this collection of adorable illustrations depicting the tender, true moments the couple shares. From winter walks to end-of-day cuddles, inside jokes to impromptu forts, this dreamy art has already captured the hearts of thousands of fans around the world. Now in book form, Us delights as a gift and a keepsake

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I came across Curtis Wiklund on Facebook a while ago. I liked his cartoons but thought nothing more of it. When I discovered you could but a copy of his book I knew that I had too. He tells the story of his relationship with his wife and kids through drawings of his daily life. Some of it is really romantic and some of the pictures are of the romance of the mundane.

It is a gorgeous collection of drawings and I do so hope that he will release another one.

For more information regarding Curtis Wiklund (@curtiswiklund) please visit www.curtiswiklundphoto.com.

For more information regarding Andrews McMeel Publishing (@AndrewsMcMeel) please visit www.andrewsmcmeel.com.

The Trouble with WomenTitle: The Trouble with Women

Author: Jacky Fleming

Pages: 128 Pages

Publisher: Andrew McMeel Publishing

The Blurb

Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist’s brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women’s “issues,” “frailties,” and “failures” in our not-so-distant history.

Ever noticed that women don’t feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women’s main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.

Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the “dustbin of history,” while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale “genius hair.”

The Review

Hehehehe, oh my days. I loved The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming. It is a satirical look about the development of women in a man’s world. It is told through hilarious illustrative representations which had me howling out loud.

It is sad that in these modern times that a book like this still seems so relevant but seeing as men still earn more than women in the workplace for doing the exact same job and seeing how girls playing certain sports is often viewed as a novelty I guess we can still see how imperative a book like this exists.

The Trouble with Women is a brilliant book and a must read for any young woman who intends on kicking ass through any and all glass ceilings.

The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming is available now.

For more information regarding Jacky Fleming (@JacksterFleming) please follow her on Twitter.

For more information regarding Andrews McMeel Publishing (@AndrewsMcMeel) please visit www.andrewsmcmeel.com.

4 Stars

SoppyTitle: Soppy A Love Story

Author: Philippa Rice

Pages: 108 Pages

The Blurb

“The next hot ticket could be British artist Philippa Rice, whose marvellously inventive blogs My Cardboard Life and Soppy have won her fans across the world.”
–Anna Baddeley, The Observer

The wildly popular web comic SOPPY–with more than half a million notes on Tumblr–is the illustrated love story of author Philippa Rice and her real-life boyfriend. True love isn’t always about the big romantic gestures. Sometimes it’s about sympathizing with someone whose tea has gone cold or reading together and sharing a quilt. When two people move in together, it soon becomes apparent that the little things mean an awful lot. The throwaway moments in life become meaningful when you spend them in the company of someone you love.

SOPPY is Philippa Rice’s collection of comics and illustrations based on real-life moments with her boyfriend. From grocery shopping to silly arguments and snuggling in front of the television, SOPPY captures the universal experience of sharing a life together, and celebrates the beauty of finding romance all around us.

The Review

I love a good love story and Soppy by Philippa Rice is a damn good love story. Rice has managed to capture in cartoon format the magic that is the banality of love. Stuff like washing the dishes, going to bed, reading books, watching TV, shopping etc, all of those things that we take for granted when we are in a relationship. The things that for those of us that are lonely would kill to have.

This book, short though it was, made my heart zing. It was simple and delicate and just plain lovely. I felt warm and fuzzy after reading it and I firmly believe that Soppy is going to become my “go-to” book for when I am feeling blue.

Thank you, Philippa Rice.

Soppy A Love Story by Philippa Rice is available now.