Title: All This Time

Author: Rachael Lippincott and Mikki Daughtry

Pages: 333 Pages

Publisher: Simon and Schuster Children’s

The Blurb

From the authors behind Five Feet Apart, a #1 New York Times bestseller and hit movie, comes a gripping new romance, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Fault in Our Stars.  

Can you find true love after losing everything?

Kyle and Kimberly have been the perfect couple all through high school, but when Kimberly breaks up with him on the night of their graduation party, Kyle’s entire world upends – literally. Their car crashes and when he awakes, he has a brain injury. Kimberly is dead. And no one in his life could possibly understand.

Until Marley. Marley is suffering from her own loss, a loss she thinks was her fault. As Kyle and Marley work to heal each other’s wounds, their feelings for each other grow stronger. But Kyle can’t shake the sense that he’s headed for another crashing moment that will blow up his life as soon as he’s started to put it back together.

And he’s right.

An unforgettable novel perfect for fans of John Green, Nicola Yoon, David Levithan and Jenny Han

The Review

Oh you cannot beat a good YA story.

All This Time is a fantastical tale about firsts: first love, first heartbreak and first time that you recover. It tells of the strange triangle of Kyle, Kimberly and Maggie. When Kyle and Kimberly break up Kyle eventually starts to have feelings for Marley but just how real are those feelings? We travel this emotional journey to find out.

Okay, so there are elements of this book that do require you to suspend your disbelief but if you manage to do that then this is a fantastic romance that has you absolutely rooting for the main characters.

What Lippincott and Daughtry do brilliantly is throw in some cracking twists that keep you on your toes and you genuinely do not see them coming.

Overall, All This Time is an good book that is easy to pick up and difficult to put down.

All This Time by Rachael Lippincott and Mikki Daughtry is available now.

For more information regarding Rachael Lippincott (@rchllipp) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Mikki Daughtry (@MikkiDaughtry) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Simon and Schuster Children’s (@SimonKIDS) please visit www.simonandscuster.com.

The Blurb

John Green meets 500 Days of Summer meets Nick Hornby.

Darren hasn’t had an easy year. His parents divorced, his brother left for college, and his best friend moved state. Also, he still doesn’t have a girlfriend. Then his dad shows up at 6am with a glazed chocolate donut and a pretty world-shaking revelation. In full freak-out mode, Darren ditches school and jumps on a bus to visit his brother, Nate, at college. But someone weird / amazing comes along for the ride. Told entirely in lists, this hilarious novel perfectly captures why having anything to do with anyone is: 1. painful 2. unavoidable 3. ridiculously complicated 4. possibly, hopefully, the right thing after all.

The review

Sometimes I like to get stuck into a big meaty tome of a book. A door stopper that will keep me hooked from the first to the last page. Me Being Me is Exactly as Insane as You Being You was not that book.  At over 600 pages I expected something magical when in reality what I got was a bold stylistic choice that didn’t really work.

The story is about Darren; a young, somewhat naïve 15 year old who is trying to figure things out. Like most teenagers he is facing his own particular problems and to be perfectly honest he isn’t handling things all too well. Besides having some serious family issues he is also trying to control his hormones and get over the one…well the one that is always the one when you are fifteen.

So far, so good; the premise is promising. The problem comes in the way that Me Being Me is Exactly as Insane as You Being You is presented. It is not in traditional narrative form; it is told almost entirely in list format. To begin with this seems like a quirky style choice, however, it soon becomes tedious.

Another problem I felt that the book had is that it went on for far too long. It could have been shortened so much and I feel would have been all the more better for it. It is frustrating because the storylines threaded through the novel are interesting and I personally feel could have been done justice if it had been written in a more conventional style.

Hasak-Lowy does need to be given praise for the story idea but Me Being Me is Exactly as Insane as You Being You was stylistically not for me.

Me Being Me is Exactly as Insane as You Being You by Todd Hasak-Lowy is available now.

Me Being Me