Title: What Would Boudicca Do? – Everyday Problems Solved by History’s Most Remarkable Women

Author: Elizabeth Foley and Beth Coates

Pages: 208 Pages

Publisher: Faber & Faber

The Blurb

Tired of being talked over? Of social media making you feel crap? Of the pressure to ‘have it all’ and a hot bod too?

Boudicca stuck up for herself and now she can help you do the same. It is time to start channelling the spiky superwomen of history to conquer today. It is time to turn to women like Frida Kahlo and Josephine Baker, Hypatia and Cleopatra, Coco Chanel and Empress Cixi. In this irreverent guide they will help you figure out how to dispatch a loverat, back yourself, kill it at work and trounce FoMo.

With original illustrations by Bijou Karman, What Would Boudicca Do? will make you fired-up and ready for anything.

 (AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I am a woman. I am a daughter and a sister but most important to me, I am an aunty. I am determined to a) make my niece love reading as much as I do and b) make sure that she is a strong woman. It is with this in mind that I read as much as I can about the forgotten women of history; the women who made a difference, socially, scientifically, economically or who just made a difference enough to mention.

I want to share these tales with my niece, who at the moment wants to be a princess. I want her to want to be fierce. Whether that is as a princess, as a make-up artist, as a surgeon or as a postal service delivery woman. I do not care what she wants to be when she is older as long as she does it knowing that she is a rock star.

This is why I read books like What Would Boudicca Do? They give me an insight into women of the past that I have no knowledge of. I have read quite a few of these tropes and I must say that What Would Boudicca Do? is up there with the best of them.

What Would Boudicca Do? – Everyday Problems Solved by History’s Most Remarkable Women by Elizabeth Foley and Beth Coates is available now.

For more information regarding Faber & Faber (@FaberBooks) please visit www.faber.co.uk.

Title: I’ll Be There for You – The Ultimate Book for Friends Fans Everywhere

Author: Kelsey Miller

Pages: 305 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

Over twenty years since its low-profile debut and Friends is the most streamed show on UK Netflix. But has it stood the test of time? Are some parts of it more problematic than we remember? And who was the cast’s least favourite guest star?

Join Kelsey Miller as she answers all of these questions and more. And as she relives the show’s most iconic moments, examines some of its controversies, and shines a light on the many trends it inspired – from oversized coffee cups to the much-copied 90s haircut, ‘The Rachel’.

Weaving incisive commentary, revelatory interviews and behind-the-scenes anecdotes involving high-profile guest stars, I’ll Be There for You is the most comprehensive take on Friends yet, and the ultimate book for fans everywhere.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I started watching Friends when I was 10 years old. I loved it, partly because at the time of its airing I was thinking about becoming an American. Ludicrous, I know but it was what I wanted to be, like how some people want to be pilots or lawyers.

Anyway, even after I realised that it wasn’t something you could just ‘be’ I still loved the program. I have watched it many times since and I still find it hilariously funny. I even get most of the jokes now – ones that I certainly did not get as a child.

Kelsey Miller examines the phenomenon of Friends and gives a history of how the show started and how it lasted so long and why even today, 25 years since its original airing it is still as popular as it once was.

I’ll Be There for You is a must read for any Friends fan

I’ll Be There for You: The Ultimate Book for Friends Fans Everywhere by Kelsey Miller is available now.

For more information regarding Kelsey Miller (@mskelseymiller) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit intagram.com/hqstories.

Title: Should I Stay or Should I Go – And 87 Other Serious Answers to Questions in Songs

Author: James Ball

Pages: 280 Pages

Publisher: Boxtree

The Blurb

What is love? How soon is now? How do you solve a problem like Maria?

They’re some of the most famous questions ever asked. But do you know the answer to them? In Should I Stay or Should I Go?, award-winning journalist James Ball travels from the economic status of doggies in windows, to what war is good for and what becomes of the broken hearted to find out the definitive, fascinating and hilarious answers.

 (AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I love silliness and I will actively pursue it, keep people in my life is they are silly and partake in anything that is in the least bit silly. It is for that reason that I really enjoyed reading Should I Stay or Should I Go. It is such a simple concept really, take a popular song and look for all the things that could be incorrect in it or that pose a question.

Genius.

This book made me look at popular music in a different way. My one issue with the book was actually a matter of research. It claims that Busted had four members in the band which it does not. It only has three. So yes, I love the silliness but I also like accuracy.

Should I Stay or Should I Go: And 87 Other Serious Answers to Questions in Songs by James Ball is available now.

For more information regarding James Ball (@jamesrbuk) please visit www.jamesrball.com.

Title: Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending

Author: Lauren Leto

Pages: 192 Pages

Publisher: Gotham Books

The Blurb

In the tradition of The Truth About Chuck Norris, PostSecret, and I Can Has Cheezburger?, Texts from Last Night celebrates the funniest and most outrageous text messages from the instantly popular website

There are few forms of communication that are more entertaining, appalling, and laugh-out-loud hilarious than the text message-especially when it’s received in the wee hours of the morning from a friend who has had one too many shots of tequila.Texts from Last Night is a celebration of the best, worst, and weirdest text messages that have ever been sent, such as:

Before i could say “i’m not the kind of girl,” i was

I got us kicked out of the bar because the waitress found me in the kitchen trying to make spaghetti

The ticket read “found nude in a tree”

Texts from Last Night is chock full of LOL and WTF moments and will make any thumb-typer 🙂 in recognition.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Having recently read Lauren Leto’s Judging a Book by its Lover and enjoying it I decided to see what else she had released and I came across this little gem of a book. It isn’t a big book by any means, I believe you would call it pocket sized but it is pocket sized full of fun. It is hilariously funny to the point that I was making funny noises whilst reading it as I tried to contain my laughter.

If you read this book then I have a warning. Do not read it on the commute to or from work. You will get yourself a few funny looks.

Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending by Lauren Leto is available now.

For more information regarding Lauren Leto (@laurenleto) please visit www.judgingabookbyitslovere.com.

Title: Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and Other Lies) – Amazing Women on what the F-Word Means to Them

Author: Scarlett Curtis

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: Penguin

The Blurb

Every woman has a different story to tell. Reading them all in one book might just change your life.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I love feminism – that, my friends, is a t—shirt right there – but I genuinely do. I love the modern wave of feminism and the fact that so many prominent women in society are backing themselves and supporting other women.

The collection of essays features in Feminists Don’t Wear Pink are engaging, witty, entertaining and powerful. They are the perfect source for young people to learn about feminism in a contemporary culture and I think that the powerful voices featured in this book can only have a positive impact on those who read it.

Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and Other Lies) – Amazing Women on what the F-Word Means to Them by Scarlett Curtis is available now.

For more information regarding Scarlett Curtis (@scarcurtis) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Penguin (@PenguinUKBooks) please visit www.penguin.co.uk.