Title: Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending

Author: Lauren Leto

Pages: 192 Pages

Publisher: Gotham Books

The Blurb

In the tradition of The Truth About Chuck Norris, PostSecret, and I Can Has Cheezburger?, Texts from Last Night celebrates the funniest and most outrageous text messages from the instantly popular website

There are few forms of communication that are more entertaining, appalling, and laugh-out-loud hilarious than the text message-especially when it’s received in the wee hours of the morning from a friend who has had one too many shots of tequila.Texts from Last Night is a celebration of the best, worst, and weirdest text messages that have ever been sent, such as:

Before i could say “i’m not the kind of girl,” i was

I got us kicked out of the bar because the waitress found me in the kitchen trying to make spaghetti

The ticket read “found nude in a tree”

Texts from Last Night is chock full of LOL and WTF moments and will make any thumb-typer 🙂 in recognition.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Having recently read Lauren Leto’s Judging a Book by its Lover and enjoying it I decided to see what else she had released and I came across this little gem of a book. It isn’t a big book by any means, I believe you would call it pocket sized but it is pocket sized full of fun. It is hilariously funny to the point that I was making funny noises whilst reading it as I tried to contain my laughter.

If you read this book then I have a warning. Do not read it on the commute to or from work. You will get yourself a few funny looks.

Texts From Last Night – All the Texts No One Remembers Sending by Lauren Leto is available now.

For more information regarding Lauren Leto (@laurenleto) please visit www.judgingabookbyitslovere.com.

Title: Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and Other Lies) – Amazing Women on what the F-Word Means to Them

Author: Scarlett Curtis

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: Penguin

The Blurb

Every woman has a different story to tell. Reading them all in one book might just change your life.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I love feminism – that, my friends, is a t—shirt right there – but I genuinely do. I love the modern wave of feminism and the fact that so many prominent women in society are backing themselves and supporting other women.

The collection of essays features in Feminists Don’t Wear Pink are engaging, witty, entertaining and powerful. They are the perfect source for young people to learn about feminism in a contemporary culture and I think that the powerful voices featured in this book can only have a positive impact on those who read it.

Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and Other Lies) – Amazing Women on what the F-Word Means to Them by Scarlett Curtis is available now.

For more information regarding Scarlett Curtis (@scarcurtis) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Penguin (@PenguinUKBooks) please visit www.penguin.co.uk.

Title: Judging a Book by its Lover – A Field Guide to the Hearts and Minds of Readers Everywhere

Author: Lauren Leto

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Harper Perennial

The Blurb

Lauren Leto, humor blogger and co-author of Texts from Last Night, now offers a fascinating field guide to the hearts and minds of readers everywhere. Judging a Book by Its Lover is like a literary Sh*t My Dad Says–an unrelentingly witty and delightfully irreverent guide to the intricate world of passionate literary debate, at once skewering and celebrating great writers, from Dostoevsky to Ayn Rand to Jonathan Franzen, and all the people who read them. This provocative, smart, and addictively funny tome arose out of Leto’s popular “book porn” blog posts, and it will delight and outrage literature fans, readers of Stuff White People Like and I Judge You When You Use Poor Grammar--people obsessed with literary culture and people fed up with literary culture–in equal measure.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

One of the things that I find really interesting is when I see others who like books that I like or rather more interestingly books that one of us liked and the other didn’t. Therefore, it stands to reason that I would like books of the same ilk. Judging a Book by its Lover is that kind of book.

In this book, Lauren Leto breaks down her personal history with each book and why she likes it or indeed loves it. It is titillating to think that you share reasoning or finding arguments for disliking the books that she has chosen.

What is wonderful about this book and indeed others like it is that it introduces you to books and writers that you may or may not have heard of and they soon become your new favourites.

Judging a Book by its Lover – A Field Guide to the Hearts and Minds of Readers Everywhere by Lauren Leto is available now.

For more information regarding Lauren Leto (@laurenleto) please visit www.judgingabookbyitslover.com.

For more information regarding Harper Perennial (@HarperPerennial) please visit www.harperperennial.tumblr.com.

Title: Hocus Pocus in Focus – The Thinking Fan’s Guide to Disney’s Halloween Classic

Author: Aaron Wallace

Pages: 208 Pages

Publisher: Pensive Pen Publishing

The Blurb

The Hocus Pocus “BoooOOOoooK” Fans Have Been Waiting For…

In the first and only book ever written about the beloved 1993 Halloween movie, Aaron Wallace takes readers deep into the world of Hocus Pocus to learn everything they never knew. He provides a lighthearted but scholarly look at the film in its all spooky-kooky glory.

You’ll learn:
* Mind-blowing theories about the plot, the characters, and more
* The fascinating history behind “Come, Little Children (Sarah’s Song)” and “I Put a Spell on You
* How Steven Spielberg shaped the movie
* Why there’s all that talk about yabbos and virgins
* How Hocus Pocus got away with being the edgiest Disney movie ever made
* What happened to the movie’s deleted scenes
* Whether a sequel is really going to happen
* And much, much more

Featuring a foreword by Golden Globe nominee Thora Birch (Hocus Pocus‘s Dani), afterword by Mick Garris (the film’s writer and producer), and the largest collection of Hocus Pocus fun facts and trivia ever assembled, this is the ultimate unofficial fan guide for Halloween and movie lovers everywhere. Finally, Hocus Pocus is celebrated as the classic it’s become. You’ll love the movie more than you ever knew you could.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

When I was ten years old my older sister and I went to the cinema to see Hocus Pocus. We loved it. 25 years later, my three year old niece loves the movie. Recently, she watched it five times in one day. Even me – a self confessed superfan – have never done that (I watched the first three showings with her but the last two she watched with my sister.) It is the movie of my youth and it has aged so well.

I really loved Hocus Pocus in Focus because it gave me a new way to love the movie. In got to see all the nuances of how it was filmed. I got to peek behind the curtain and I wasn’t disappointed. In fact it just made me love it more.

Aaron Wallace knows his stuff. You can see how much he loves Hocus Pocus by the way he decries people who try to belittle it. What Wallace doesn’t know about Hocus Pocus really isn’t worth knowing.

After reading Hocus Pocus in Focus I was filled with a sense of nostalgia and whilst I watch this movie every week with my obsessed niece, this book made me want to watch it again. I could be cheesy and say that the book put a spell on me….wow that was cheesy.

Bygones. If you love Hocus Pocus you will love this book.

Hocus Pocus in Focus – The Thinking Fans Guide to Disney’s Halloween Classic by Aaron Wallace is available now.

For more information regarding Aaron Wallace (@aaronwallace) please visit www.aaronwallaceonline.com.

Title: Diversify

Author: June Sarpong

Pages: 401 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

The truth is, inclusion is better for everyone.

In this empowering call to arms, June Sarpong MBE proves why.

Putting the spotlight on groups who are often marginalised in our society, including women, ethnic minorities, those living with disabilities, and the LGBTQ+ community, Diversify uncovers the hidden cost of exclusion and shows how a new approach to how we learn, live and do business can solve some of the most stubborn challenges we face.

With unshakeable case studies, brand-new research from Oxford University, and six revolutionary steps to help you overcome unconscious bias, this book will help you become part of a better society.

The old way isn’t working. This is a case for change.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Diversify by June Sarpong is the most important book that I have read this year. This is a pretty big claim. As a prolific reader, I have read lots of books but none of them resonated with me the way that Diversify has done.

Sarpong examines the diversity in culture and how we often see this as threatening rather than celebrating our differences. She offers practical advice to some of the biggest problems that actually seem so obvious that it is silly how none of it has been put into action already.

What is great is that you could argue the book is misleading. You may be forgiven in  thinking that Diversify is just another book that shows how white supremacy is bad and how everyone is still living under the rule of a white patriarchal society – yes, we are, but Diversify is not that book. Diversify looks at oppression from all different levels – race, gender, sexuality etc. It is fascinating, well researched, and entertaining.

So, yes, to reiterate my earlier point, Diversify by June Sarpong is the most important book that I have read this year. It should be placed in all school libraries, studied on the curriculum and be sent to every politician in the country. That is how much I believe in this book.

Diversify by June Sarpong is available now.

For more information regarding June Sarpong (@junesarpong) please visit www.junesarpong.com.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit www.instagram.com/hqstories.