Review: The Kicking the Bucket List by Cathy Hopkins

Kicking the Bucket listTitle: The Kicking the Bucket List

Author: Cathy Hopkins

Pages: 400 Pages

Publisher: Harper Collins

The Blurb

Three sisters. Their mother’s dying wish. One last chance to be a family…The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with very tricky strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s ‘bucket list’. But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’s bucket list was about so much more than money…

The Review

What an emotional rollercoaster of a story. When I first picked up Cathy Hopkin’s book The Kicking the Bucket List I was reminded of another story that I had read earlier in the year. However, what was brilliant is that even with similar concepts two different writers can both make such interesting and diverse stories.

Hopkins tells the story of three estranged sisters who are brought back together by their recently deceased mother. The three girls are strikingly different but it is the love of their mother that makes them partake in the kicking the bucket list of challenges.

Each new challenge brings a new dilemma, more and more of the characters foibles are revealed and we steadily fall for this family who have fallen apart.

The Kicking the Bucket List by Cathy Hopkins is a gorgeous, warm, and uplifting read. This needs to be your latest commute read….be warned, you may not be able to put it down.

The Kicking the Bucket List by Cathy Hopkins is available now.

For more information regarding Cathy Hopkins (@CathyHopkins1) please visit www.cathyhopkins.com.

For more information regarding Harper Collins (@HarperCollinsUK) please visit www.harpercollins.co.uk.

35 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *