Theres Someone InSide Your HouseTitle: There’s Someone Inside Your House

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Pages: 289 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Over a year after her parents sent her away from Hawaii to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, Makani Young is still adjusting to her new life. She’s made a small group of close friends and even flirted with romance, but her past in Hawaii is still hard to forget.

And then . . . one by one the students of her new high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders.

Makani doesn’t know who’s next on the list. Between this, and a secret scorching relationship with the school weirdo, this school year may turn out to be one to die for . . . literally.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins will have you swooning with fear and romance, and is the perfect page-turner for fans of Scream Queens and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

The Review

There’s Someone Inside Your House, the latest release by Stephanie Perkins, is much like Ronseal paint. It does what it says on the tin. It is a creepy thriller about a psychopath coming into certain people’s houses and killing them off one by one.

The story focuses on Makani, a relatively new girl to Nebraska. She has managed to make a small pocket of friends and is just trying to keep her head down, graduate high school before she leaves for pastures new. But when she becomes the latest victim of these heinous attacks Makani’s life gets turned upside down.

Having read previous releases by Stephanie Perkins, I can honestly say There’s Someone Inside Your House is very different from the French Kiss series. I liked it but if you are expecting something similar you will be disappointed.

For intensity, surprising twists and breathtaking pacing you really need to read There’s Someone Inside Your House.

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins is available now.

For more information regarding Stephanie Perkins (@naturallysteph) please visit www.stephanieperkins.com.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

3 Stars

My True Loe Gave to MeThe Blurb

A collection of joyful festive stories that will keep you warm during the cold winter months.

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

The Review

My True Love Gave to Me is a quirky and delightful book of short stories that are all set during Christmas. The set features some famous names such as David Levithan, Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins to name but a few.

The collection of shorts provides quick escapes that keep you entertained; however, the stand out short stories did leave you wanting more. In particular Rainbow Rowell’s Midnights, Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena, It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins, What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman and Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter.

As much as some of the short stories were really engaging there were others by which I found myself bored.

Overall, I would recommend My True Love Gave to Me because this book will get you in the festive spirit.

My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins is available now.

Synopsis

Lola has a good life; great parents, great friends, a quirky sense of style and a hot boyfriend who is in a rock band. Things couldn’t be better. However, when her old neighbours move back into the house next door the very foundations of Lola’s happiness start to crumble around her. Especially when she lays her eyes on Cricket Bell – two years older and two years more beautiful but the ache of heartbreak has only got two years more painful for Lola. How will Lola cope with the boy next door?

Review

Stephanie Perkins has only gone and done it again. She has made me fall in love for another of her leading men. Before we get into all of that let me just say that I enjoyed Lola and the Boy Next Door just as much as I liked Anna and the French Kiss and it is no wonder that Stephanie Perkins is at the forefront, leading the way, nay trailblazing the way for YA Romantic Fiction. I genuinely believe in her stories and feel wholeheartedly for her characters that it would be an easy assumption to make that Perkins still remembers the absolute agony of being a teenager in love. This is a quality that we all should try to remember as we grow older but sadly sometimes forget or trivialise.

Lola and the Boy Next Door broke my heart in a different way to Anna and the French Kiss because for Lola, her love for Cricket had been once that had grown, seemingly unrequited, for years. You couldn’t help but ache for her and you could feel just how much Cricket loved her too. Frustratingly they just couldn’t seem to get it together. It is this torturous narrative that makes the story so great. You desperately want to see them admit their feelings, to hug it out, to kiss and to be in love but it takes a whole story to get there.

It is safe to say that Stephanie Perkins has her finger on the beating pulse of every girls’ romantic dreams. Her characters are believable and are easy to fall in love with – especially the male protagonists. She has a magic to her writing that, for me, is unrivalled.

I cannot wait to read Isla and the Happily Ever After.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins is available now.

 

Synopsis

Anna has the worst father ever. He is making her leave her home in Atlanta to spend the year living and learning in SOAP (the School of America in Paris). She has to leave her family, her friends and the boy that she sort of might have a thing with…well it was looking that way before she was forced to go away from everything that she loves.

Determined to dislike everything about France, Anna is initially lonely but when she starts to make friends with her classmates she realises that European life isn’t all that bad…and the guys are pretty good looking too.

But will the people in Anna’s life back in Georgia wait for her?

Review

It is not often that I will be so emphatic about a book but I have to say that Anna and the French Kiss was one of the best YA books that I have read ever. I absolutely bloody loved it.

What I loved about Anna and the French Kiss was the mixture of trivial problems mixed with real life. Anna is dealing with your average teenage issues with the added extras of not speaking the language and missing home. The other themes – cancer, overbearing parents, break ups, bullying – they are all in this novel. Perkins manages to give a well rounded account of the daily worries of teenagers. She gives a voice to them and she does it so well.

I became so invested in Anna’s story. I whooped with joy when she got the boy; I became protective over her when she was betrayed by friends and I feel like I felt everything she went through. To me, that is the sign of good storytelling.

Paris was the perfect setting for this teen romance and allowed this Francophile to indulge in her love of all things French.

Now on to Lola and the Boy Next Door.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins is available now.