Title: Everyday Sexism

Author: Laura Bates

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

The Blurb

In 2012 after having been sexually harassed on London public transport, Laura Bates started a project called Everyday Sexism. Astounded by the response from all over the world, she quickly realized that the situation was far worse than she’d initially thought.

In a culture that’s driven by social media, for the first time women are using this online space, now in 19 countries, to come together and to encourage a new generation to recognize the problems that women face.

In April of 2015, to commemorate the 100,000th entry, the author led a successful Thunderclap campaign that enabled the project to become the #1 internationally trending topic that day, gaining several million retweets to become the leading tweet in the English speaking world.

The Review

I work in a school and I often have conversations with students over the relativity of feminism and how sexist attitudes and practices still exist. When I try to show them real life examples I always tell them about a time that I was walking home from work, minding my own business, listening to my iPod when a man that I didn’t know stopped me in the street. Firstly, he invaded my personal space, poked me in the stomach and told me I would be much prettier if I smiled more. Thanks, random stranger.

It may not seem like much but it is this low level everyday sexism that girls and women are faced with on a daily basis. Everyday Sexism is chock full of stories like this. It is a compendium of women being subjugated to the toxic male gaze.

Laura Bates is feisty and will not stand for it. This book is for everyone who has had to deal with this kind of BS. Or for those girls who walk down the road with their keys pressed between their fingers just in case. It is just for women. You just need to read it.

Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates is available now.

For more information regarding Laura Bates (@EverydaySexism) please visit www.everydaysexism.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@simonschusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.

Author: Rachael Lippincott

Pages: 276 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

The Blurb

Now a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson!

In this #1 New York Times bestselling novel that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

The Review

There has been a strange trend in YA literature over the past few years that focus on terminal illnesses. This often leaves me feeling confused. Partly because I feel that books and literature should be escapism from life but the greater part of me thinks that without literature people, especially young adults, are not exposed to bigger, more important subjects.

Exposure is exactly what the reader will get with Five Feet Apart. It is the story of Stella and Will and their battle with Cystic Fibrosis. It chronicles the daily battle with the life limiting disease and also the isolation that comes with having it. Imagine having something in common with a small set of people but not being able to be close to those people because it could kill you. It must be so lonely.

I was quite moved by this story. It was uplifting and heartbreaking and funny all in one go. I was consumed by this story and was bereft when it ended.

Five Feet Apart by Rachel Lippincott is available now.

For more information regarding Rachel Lippincott (@rchllip) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@simonschusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.

Title: Loner

Author: Teddy Wayne

Pages: 203 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

The Blurb

David Federman has never felt appreciated. An academically gifted yet painfully forgettable member of his New Jersey high school class, the withdrawn, mild-mannered freshman arrives at Harvard fully expecting to be embraced by a new tribe of high-achieving peers. Initially, however, his social prospects seem unlikely to change, sentencing him to a lifetime of anonymity.

Then he meets Veronica Morgan Wells. Struck by her beauty, wit, and sophisticated Manhattan upbringing, David becomes instantly infatuated. Determined to win her attention and an invite into her glamorous world, he begins compromising his moral standards for this one, great shot at happiness. But both Veronica and David, it turns out, are not exactly as they seem.

Loner turns the traditional campus novel on its head as it explores ambition, class, and gender politics. It is a stunning and timely literary achievement from one of the rising stars of American fiction.

The Review

Loner is genuinely one of the creepiest campus novels I have ever read. It focuses on freshman David Federman who is a bit of a social outcast but now that he has reached Harvard he has a chance to reinvent himself. However, the reinvention isn’t exactly the best version of himself that he could be. And it is all because of one girl – Veronica Morgan: David’s new obsession.

Teddy Wayne does a great job of building up the creepiness. At first you feel sorry for avid but the more we see of him, and the more questionable his actions become, the more the reader start to feel uncomfortable.

Loner looks at themes such as mental health, voyeurism, and sexual conduct. It is only a small novel but it really does deal with a lot of important issues.

Loner by Teddy Wayne is available now.

For more information regarding Teddy Wayne (@TeddyWayne1999) please visit www.teddywayne.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@simonandschusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.

Title: The Burning

Author: Laura Bates

Pages: 352 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster’s Children’s Books

The Blurb

A rumour is like a fire. You might think you’ve extinguished it but one creeping, red tendril, one single wisp of smoke is enough to let it leap back into life again. Especially if someone is watching, waiting to fan the flames …

New school.
Tick.
New town.
Tick.
New surname.
Tick.
Social media profiles?
Erased.

There’s nothing to trace Anna back to her old life. Nothing to link her to the ‘incident’.

At least that’s what she thinks … until the whispers start up again. As time begins to run out on her secrets, Anna finds herself irresistibly drawn to the tale of Maggie, a local girl accused of witchcraft centuries earlier. A girl whose story has terrifying parallels to Anna’s own…

The compelling YA debut from Laura Bates, founder of the Everyday Sexism Project and bestselling author of Girl Up.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

The Burning by Laura Bates is a brilliant contemporary YA Fiction novel that packs a heart and relevant punch. It toys with the ideas of blame, shame, and social media.

The story follows Anna, a young girl who has been persecuted for decisions she has made in the past. Now, away from the life that she once knew, she plans to start afresh and hope that the negativity from the past doesn’t catch up with her.

Parallel to the main plot runs a story about how girls have always been persecuted by narrow-minded people and how they have always been persecuted – especially by men – which mirrors what Anna is going through.

The Burning is a powerful book that I will be shoving into the hands of all the students that I work with. This book needs to be read, the problems within it need to be understood, and the issues it discusses need to be rectified.

You NEED to read The Burning.

The Burning by Laura Bates is available now.

For more information regarding Laura Bates (@EverydaySexism) please visit www.everydaysexism.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster’s Children’s Books (@simonschusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.

Title: Geek Girl Special (1) – All Wrapped Up

Author: Holly Smale

Pages: 220 Pages

Publisher: Harper Collins UK

The Blurb

All I want for Christmas is… a new GEEK GIRL story!

Harriet Manners knows a lot about Christmas.
She knows that every year Santa climbs down 91.8 million chimneys.
She knows that Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer was almost definitely a girl.
She knows that the first artificial Christmas trees were made out of goose feathers.
But this Christmas is extra special for Harriet, because four days ago she had her First Ever Kiss.

Now she just needs to work out what’s supposed to happen next…

A romantic festive treat from the internationally bestselling award-winning author of the GEEK GIRL series. Also includes a BONUS previously unpublished GEEK GIRL short story TEAM GEEK!

The Review

I read Geek Girl by Holly Smale ages ago. It was so long ago that I can’t actually remember when it was. At the time I loved it. So it is a massive puzzle to me as to why I haven’t read the rest. I own them but I just haven’t read any of them. It is rather curious.

The Geek Girl Special (1) – All Wrapped Up sees Harriet go on her first real date. As we have come to expect from Harriet, she is awkward and gawky but she manages to actually come across as the more in control person when she is taken ice skating. Something she is surprisingly good at. But will she get a Christmas kiss?

Geek Girl Special (1) – All Wrapped Up has made me want to hurry up and read the rest of the series and that is what I intend to do.

Geek Girl Special (1) All Wrapped Up by Holly Smale is available now.

For more information regarding Holly Smale (@HolSmale) please visit www.holly-smale.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@simonandschusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.