Brief Encounter at the Picture House by the SeaTitle: Brief Encounter at the Picture House by the Sea

Author: Holly Hepburn

Pages: 100 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

The Blurb

Part One in the brilliant new series from the bestselling author of The Star and Sixpence series. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley.

The picture house by the sea is the Palace at Polwhipple – a lovely art deco cinema, nestled in front of azure Cornish seas. But it is long past its heyday now, and its only saving grace is Ferrelli’s, the family run ice-cream concession in the foyer, which is famed for selling the best ice cream for miles.

When Ferdie, the owner of Ferrelli’s, falls ill, his granddaughter Gina drops everything to come and help out, leaving her boyfriend, Max, in London. But when she arrives she is dismayed by the state of the cinema, which she remembers fondly from summer holidays when she was a teenager.

Enchanted by Polwhipple’s golden beaches and friendly faces, Gina sets about restoring the Palace to its former glory with a themed Brief Encounter night, roping in her old friend Ben to help. But can one night alter the fortunes of this beautiful old picture house by the sea…?

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Oh I do love a good will they won’t they love story (they have to otherwise what is the point) and that is exactly what I got with the first part o the Picture House by the Sea series. When Gina returns to Cornwall to help her grandparents with their gelato business she is welcomed back to the fold by people that she knows and loves and is returned to a world that is completely comforting to her. However, she is leaving behind her real life in London and with that comes some big questions.

I really enjoyed Brief Encounter at the Picture House by the Sea. There is a bit of a trend at the moment for nostalgia in stories. Several series have seen people going to cafes or bookshops or – in this case – cinemas to try and regain a sense of comfort in the old rather than bask in the new and trendy. Brief Encounter at the Picture House by the Sea is definitely one that will warm your hear when you read it and after such a cracking opening I cannot wait to read part two.

Brief Encounter at the Picture House by the Sea by Holly Hepburn is available now.

For more information regarding Holly Hepburn (@HollyH_Author) please visit www.hollyhepburn.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@simonschusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.

35 Stars

Kisses on Paper AirplanesTitle: Kisses on Paper Airplanes

Author: Sarah Vance-Tompkins

Pages: 106 Pages

Publisher: InkSpell Publishing

The Blurb

Drama student Hannah Evans isn’t kissing any frogs on her path to find Prince Charming. She’s determined to share the perfect first kiss — with the perfect boy — in the perfect place — or she’s not kissing at all. When Hannah meets a cute ginger-haired boy in first class lounge in the London airport, she knows he’s ‘The One.’

Pop star Theo Callahan is on the road to get as far away as possible from his back-stabbing best friend, and his supermodel girlfriend who broke his heart. Until one shy smile from Hannah has him rethinking all of his travel plans.

Theo is smitten, but he’s worried she’s just a groupie in search of the ultimate selfie. Can Theo learn to trust Hannah in time to share one perfect first kiss, or will Hannah be forced to kiss a frog?

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

If you love pure escapist pleasure in under 150 pages then Kisses on Paper Airplanes by Sarah Vance-Tompkins is for you.

I absolutely adored it.

Kisses on Paper Airplanes has everything that a romantic short should have. In fact, I think any of us who love reading romance can honestly say that we have had this fantasy. You know the one, girl meets boy, boy and girl flirt and fall for each other, girl doesn’t realise straight away that they boy is famous. I can honestly say I have had that fantasy so many times featuring Pete Wentz, Matt Willis, David Tennant. But I digress.

Kisses on Paper Airplanes is such a simple concept but that is why it works. Furthermore, Sarah Vance-Tompkins genuinely makes you care for her characters. Even though it is a short story we are not short changed on detail, exposition or drama. She gives it all and then some. My one negative is that I wanted more.

Well done Sarah Vance-Tomkins!

Kisses on Paper Airplanes by Sarah Vance-Thompkins is available now.

For more information regarding Sarah Vance-Thompkins (@sarahvtompkins) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Inkspell Publishing (@InkSpellPublish) please visit www.inkspellpublishing.com.

4 Stars

Lunch With HarryTitle: Lunch with Harry

Author: Tony Drury

Pages: 77 Pages

Publisher: City Fiction

The Blurb

Is it possible that Audrey Hepburn was in Regent Street, London in 2016?

Perhaps not. But her memory is recreated in the desirable shape of Dr Ella van Houten who has stood on a man’s foot outside Hamleys, the world’s oldest toy shop. Their differing personalities dominate this fast moving story which takes in London, Europe and lunches with Harry.

Ella was imagining that she was Holly Golightly, the character that Hepburn played in one of the greatest ever romantic films: ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’.

This riveting novella tells how they begin a relationship which is initially dominated by two features: Ella’s uncanny reprise of Holly’s quirky and insecure nature and Harry’s guilt over the loss of his wife. There is also the impending death of Ella’s brother which bizarrely leads them chasing a figurine of the Mexican general Santa Anna who won the battle for ‘the Alamo’.

The ending produces a moment of pure cinema as Ella and Harry fight against the seemingly insurmountable obstacle which threatens their future together.

Lunch with Harry is the first publication which forms part of the Novella Nostalgia series linking iconic cinema classics with modern stories.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I’ve never really been a fan of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I know people will be giving me some major stink eye over this but it was never a film that captured my heart. Maybe I was too young when I watched it and therefore have never appreciated it the way that it needs to be.

I have however stood in front of Tiffany’s and imagined what it would be like to be Audrey Hepburn. For the record, it felt pretty good.

I decided to give the novella Lunch with Harry a read based on my disconnect from Breakfast at Tiffany’s. If I am totally honest, it didn’t make me like the film any more than I did but it did make me think I should give it another watch just in case.

The story is an interesting one that mirrors Breakfast at Tiffany’s but places it in modern day London. It is sweet and you feel like Harry and Ella might just be able to make things work even though life events have given them lemons.

Lunch with Harry is a nice story that will pass the time on a commute to or from work. You never know, you may meet a handsome/beautiful stranger while you read it.

Lunch with Harry (Novella Nostalgia Book #1) by Tony Drury is available now.

For more information regarding Tony Drury (@TonyDruryAuthor) please visit www.tonydruryauthor.com.

For more information regarding City Fiction (@CityFictionLtd) please visit www.cityfiction.co.uk.

2 Stars

Title: How the Marquis Got his Coat Back

Author: Neil Gaiman

Pages: 64 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

Neverwhere short story from one of the brightest, most brilliant writers of our generation – the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning The Ocean At the End of the Lane.

The coat. It was elegant. It was beautiful. It was so close that he could have reached out and touched it.

And it was unquestionably his.

 (AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Every time I pick up a book by Neil Gaiman I get cross with myself that I haven’t read more. That being said, one of my upcoming books to be read is Neil Gaimain’s Neverwhere. Therefore I decided to read How the Marquis Got his Coat Back – an accompanying story – just to get myself in the Neil Gaiman groove.

I’m so glad I did.

How the Marquis Got his Coat Back is chock full of interesting characters who are whimsical in nature and even though they are reaching into the realms of fantasy come across as quite normal and commonplace.

The story centres on how, indeed, the marquis got his coat back – his coat sounds wonderful, lots of pockets – and even though it is only 64 pages in length I feel that I was submerged into the world of Neverwhere. Now I cannot wait to read the full length novel.

How the Marquis Got his Coat Back by Neil Gaiman is available now.

For more information regarding Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) please visit www.neilgaiman.com.

For more information regarding Headline (@headlinepg) please visit www.headline.co.uk.

3 Stars

Title: Brief Encounters

Author: Kate Harrison

Pages: 80 Pages

Publisher: Orion

The Blurb

Hope is overworked – and so over relationships – when she embarks on a mystery tour arranged by her sister Faith, who has promised her a mini break guaranteed free of romantic four-posters, red roses or dinners for two.

Hope’s trying to travel light – yet as she leaves London Euston, her emotional baggage begins to catch up with her. Will the journey finish her off . . . or will it be the start of something new

The Review

Well Brief Encounters was a cute story. I think what made it so cute was that it was very relatable. Not to make me sound a little crazy but I travel on down to London from Liverpool quite regularly and I spend the 2 hours and 9 minutes having imaginary conversations in my head. I really should put those two hours to good use and write a story; next journey to London that is exactly what I am going to do.

Brief Encounters is a great little short about revisiting the past loves of your life and seeing how they have shaped you in to the person you are today. Hope’s past love life made a light and enjoyable read.

Brief Encounters by Kate Harrison is available now.

For more information regarding Kate Harrison (@KateWritesBooks) please visit www.kate-harrison.com.

For more information regarding Orion (@orionbooks) please visit www.orionbooks.co.uk.

3 Stars