Title: Far From the Tree

Author: Robin Benway

Pages: 389 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster’s Children’s

The Blurb

‘Sometimes, family hurts each other. But after that’s done you bandage each other up, and you move on. Together. So you can go and think that you’re some lone wolf, but you’re not. You’ve got us now, like it or not, and we’ve got you.’

When 16 year-old Grace gives up her baby for adoption, she decides that the time has come to find out more about her own biological mother. Although her biological mum proves elusive, her search leads her to two half-siblings she never knew existed.

Maya, 15, has been adopted by wealthy parents and seems to have the picture-perfect family – that is, if you look past her alcoholic mother and the fact that Maya stands out like a sore thumb.

Older brother Joaquin hasn’t been so lucky. At 18, he’s shuffled between foster home after foster home, always careful never to get attached to anyone or anything, because it always gets taken away. 

When these three siblings come together, they find in themselves the place they can belong, while the secrets they guard threaten to explode…

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon, Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family. 

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Sometimes a book comes along that sweeps you away. It is the sort of book that will stay with you long after you have turned the last page and it will be the book that you shove into the hands of others because you know that they have to read it. For me, this book is Far From the Tree.

Far From the Tree is the story of three siblings who have all been adopted or fostered to different families and who didn’t know the others existed until recently. Along with finding siblings they never knew they also set on a journey of finding themselves.

I honestly loved Far From the Tree. I was hooked from the very first page and it is a book that I have now read with my teenage reading group. It deals with issues such as slut shaming, adoption, the foster system and finding a sense of belonging. Far From the Tree tore my heart out but it also repaired it.

I constantly say it and I am probably boring others with my repetition but YA fiction is the genre that is the most prevalent at the moment. With books like Far From the Tree in its midst you can see why it is a flourishing genre.

Far From the Tree by Robin Benway is available now.

For more information regarding Robin Benway (@RobinBenway) please visit www.robinbenway.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster Children’s (@simonkids_UK) please visit www.kids.simonandschuster.co.uk.

The Blurb

Oliver’s absence split us wide open, dividing our neighbourhood along a fault line strong enough to cause an earthquake. An earthquake would have been better. At least during an earthquake, you understand why you’re shaking.

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. But now Oliver is back, and he’s not the skinny boy-next-door that used to be Emmy’s best friend. Now he’s the boy who got kidnapped. A stranger – a totally hot stranger! – with a whole history that Emmy knows nothing about.

But is their story still meant to be? Or are they like the pieces of two different puzzles – impossible to fit together?

The Review

Robin Benway’s latest novel – Emmy & Oliver is a clear example of YA fiction at its best.

Emmy and Oliver were best friends from birth. Growing up next door to each other meant they were always together. Until one day they were not. At the age of seven Oliver is kidnapped and is not to be seen again until he is 17 years old when he returns to the neighbourhood that he was snatched from 10 years ago. But can Emmy and Oliver’s friendship stand the test of time?

What is great about Emmy & Oliver is that the plot is so unusual but not that bizarre that you don’t believe that it could happen. You totally buy into the premise from the get go. You feel the pain that Oliver’s mum goes through as she mourns the disappearance of her son; you completely understand the overprotective nature of Emmy’s parents. More than anything, you feel for those left behind – Emmy and her other friends Drew and Caro; their lives have been affected more than they realise.

Besides all the drama of having their world rocked by the reappearance of Oliver the group also have real world problems of just being teenagers and making decisions about their own future; as if things aren’t already complicated enough.

Benway is definitely onto a winner with Emmy & Oliver; it is so easy to relate to and besides that fact it is also a damn good read. Buy it now.

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway is available now.

Follow Robin Benway (@robinbenway) on Twitter.

Emmy And Oliver