Title: Fantastic Mr Fox

Author: Roald Dahl

Pages: 112 Pages

Publisher: Puffin

The Blurb

Boggis is an enormously fat chicken farmer who only eats boiled chickens smothered in fat.

Bunce is a duck-and-goose farmer whose dinner gives him a beastly temper.

Bean is a turkey-and-apple farmer who only drinks gallons of strong cider.

Mr Fox is so clever that every evening he creeps down into the valley and helps himself to food from their farms – and those GHASTLY farmers can’t catch him!

Now the farmers have hatched a plan to BANG-BANG-BANG shoot Mr Fox dead! But, just when they think Mr Fox can’t possibly escape, he makes a FANTASTIC plan of his own . . .

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Who doesn’t love Roald Dahl books? I felt I needed to revert to a childhood classic to break up the heavy books I had been reading lately. Fantastic Mr Fox was the perfect book to go for. It hasn’t aged and it equally as entertaining as it was when I read it as a child.

Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl is available now.

Anne of Green GablesTitle: Anne of Green Gables

Author: LM Montgomery

Pages: 445 Pages

Publisher: Puffin in Bloom

The Blurb

Anne of Green Gables is a best-selling novel and Canadian classic. It was originally intended for all audiences, but is now commonly considered a children’s book. Two middle-aged siblings decide to adopt an orphan to help them on their farm. But instead of the boy they were expecting, a plucky young girl called Anne Shirley turns up on their doorstep…

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

This year I decided I was going to read four classic novels. My choice of novels comes from the packaging. Puffin released the Bloom series which includes Anne of Green Gables among others. Having decided to read one every three months I figured it would give me plenty of time to get it finished. What I didn’t bank on was falling completely in love with the story of a little orphan girl called Anne.

Ok, you can argue that there are similarities to the 80s film Anne but LM Montgomery got there first.

I absolutely adored this book and I felt a strange connection to the character Anne. If ever there has been a character throughout literature that I feel mirrors my personality it would have to be Anne Shirley. She was bolshie, dramatic, romantic and headstrong. She was the strong feisty female protagonist before we even knew what one was.

Anne of Green Gables is a heart warming joy of a read that once again falls into the category of a warm hug of a book.

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery is available now.

4 Stars

Salt to the SeaTitle: Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Pages: 393 Pages

Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s/Puffin

The Blurb

It’s early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore’s The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

The Review

Salt tothe Sea by Ruta Sepetys broke my heart.

This is a bold statement to make but there are few books that have made me emote in the same way. It is a fictional account of the real life events that happened during the Second World War. It is a story of how people of different nationalities – most of who were opposed to each other due to their countries government ruling – come together in times of adversity.

Sepetys explores the frailty of life and the spirit of human nature in Salt to the Sea. At times I had to remind myself to breathe because the story had me gripped. It truly is an astounding novel and a very real contender for this year’s Carnegie Greenaway award for which Salt to the Sea has been nominated.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys is available now.

For more information regarding Ruta Sepetys (@RutaSepetys) please visit www.rutasepetys.com.

For more information regarding Penguin Random House UK Children’s (@RHKidsUK) please visit www.randomhousechildrens.co.uk.

For more information regarding Puffin Books (@PuffinBooks) please visit www.puffin.co.uk.

For more information regarding The CILIP Awards (@CILIPCKG) please visit www.ckg.org.uk.

5 Stars

The Blurb

Unicorns, dragons, sprites, will-o’-the-wisps: the inhabitants of an enchanted world. And into this world – through the pages of an old book – ventures Bastian, a lonely boy of ten or twelve. But Fantastica is slowly decaying, its Childlike Empress dying. Only a real human being can set things right by giving the Empress a new name. Bastian takes up the challenge, and finds himself crossing the Swamps of Sadness and the Silver Mountains, meeting sorcerers and giants, bats and night-hobs, gnomes and racing snails, as he journeys bravely toward the Ivory Tower, Bastian’s quest is filled with all the wonders of myth and fairy tale. It is a fantasy adventure that will capture your heart – and recapture the magical dreams of childhood.

The Review

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende is one book that I read in the wrong order. By that I mean I watched the film before reading the book. To be fair, the movie came out when I was 2 and the book was a little to advanced for my tender reading age (I was still on picture books) however, and it pains me to say this – the movie is better.

Let me explain. About a third way into the book the movie ended. The makers of the movie stopped the Michael Ende version of The Neverending Story, changed a few things around and made the story movie ready. In my opinion, the film makers did the right thing. The rest of the book was tiresome and a dirge of nonsense that left me with a headache.

I am so disappointed. I absolutely love the movie and was hoping I would be even more impressed by the book. Sadly that wasn’t the case and now I feel like two days of my life have been wasted.

For those of you reading this, save your time and watch the film instead.

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende is available now.