Title: The Betrayals

Author: Bridget Collins

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Harper Collins

The Blurb

There’s a silence, like the gap between two ticks of a clock.

Then she turns away, unable to look at his face.

Léo was once a student at Montverre, an exclusive academy tucked away in the mountains, where students learn an arcane and mysterious game. Now he returns in disgrace, exiled to his old place of learning.

Claire is the first woman to serve as Montverre’s Magister Ludi. When Léo first sees Claire he senses a connection with her, though he’s sure they have never met before.

As secrets whisper in the walls and the legendary Midsummer Game, the climax of the year, draws closer, will Léo discover the truth about Claire – and will that truth destroy them both?

The Review

Reading a story in which initially you think the main character in the novel is a rat could have turned this reader right off this book. However, having loved The Binding I persevered with Bridget Collins second novel The Betrayals and it was a good thing I did because much like The Binding I found myself loving this sophomore release.

The reasons I enjoyed it are two fold. Firstly, I love a good mystery and I love the moment the penny drops. The later the better for me, I want to be shocked by events and I totally was by The Betrayals. The twists, the turns, the sense of injustice. I loved it all. Secondly, it was a campus novel. For me, that it usually enough.

Add into the mix a bit of romance, a bit of class division and a dollop of a corrupt government and I am sold. If you like these things too then you should make The Betrayals your next read.

The Betrayals by Bridget Collins is available now.

For more information regarding Bridget Collins (@Br1dgetCollins) please visit www.thebindingbook.com.

For more information regarding Harper Collins (@HarperCollinsUK) please visit the Twitter account.

Title: Miss Aldridge Regrets

Author: Louise HAre

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

Lena Aldridge is wondering if life has passed her by. The dazzling theatre career she hoped for hasn’t worked out. Instead, she’s stuck singing in a sticky-floored basement club in Soho and her married lover has just left her. She has nothing to look forward to until a stranger offers her the chance of a lifetime: a starring role on Broadway and a first-class ticket on the Queen Mary bound for New York. 

After a murder at the club, the timing couldn’t be better and Lena jumps at the chance to escape England. Until death follows her onto the ship and she realises that her greatest performance has already begun.

Because someone is making manoeuvres behind the scenes, and there’s only one thing on their mind…

MURDER

Miss Aldridge Regrets is the exquisite new novel from Louise Hare. A brilliant murder mystery, it also explores class, race and pre-WWII politics, and will leave readers reeling from the beauty and power of it.

The Review

When Lena Aldridge finder herself at the heart of a murder investigation she has to take a strong look at her life and what left her in this vulnerable situation. Out at sea, Lena has to help solve the crime to exonerate herself. How can she do this when she is al alone without anyone to vouch for her?

Miss Aldridge Regrets is a cosy crime novel set at sea. It is one of those novels that you can pick up and put down without overthinking things and getting too stressed out. It had layers to it. Besides looking at the underbelly of crime it also looked at racial issues during the 1920s. It was a brilliant amalgamation of contentious issues along side a crime story.

A really enjoyable read.

Miss Aldridge Regrets by Louise Hare is available now.

For more information regarding Louise Hare (@LouRHare) please www.louisehare.com.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQStories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Title: The Paris Apartment

Author: Lucy Foley

Pages: 360 Pages

Publisher: Harper Collins

The Blurb

Welcome to No.12 Rue des Amants

A beautiful old apartment block, far from the glittering lights of the Eiffel Tower and the bustling banks of the Seine.

Where nothing goes unseen.

And everyone has a story to unlock.

The watchful concierge

The scorned lover

The prying journalist

The naïve student

The unwanted guest 

Something terrible happened here last night.

A mystery lies behind the door of apartment three.

Only you – and the killer – hold the key . . .

The Review

You know, I have always loved Paris and would really love to live there…just not in No.12 Rue des Amants. Definitely anywhere but that apartment because bad things happen there. It also happens to be the setting of Lucy Foley’s impressive new thriller The Paris Aparment (or appartement if you live in France).

The story centres around Jess – herself a bit of a waif and stray – who turns up in Paris to stay with her brother in his apartment. However, when she gets there brother Ben is nowhere to be seen and thus starts Jess’s desperate attempt to find her brother.

With a wonderful cast of characters you are constantly kept o your toes trying to figure out who is the bad guy whilst dealing with the uneasy feeling that something worse is going to happen.

Overall, The Paris Apartment is a good story, one that ticks all the boxes for a mystery thriller. Two hearty thumbs up.

The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley is available now.

For more information regarding Lucy Foley (@lucyfoleytweets) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Harper Collins (@HarperCollinsUK) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: The Christie Affair

Author: Nina de Gramont

Pages: 320 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

In 1926, Agatha Christie disappeared for 11 days. Only I know the truth of her disappearance.

I’m no Hercule Poirot.

I’m her husband’s mistress.

Agatha Christie’s world is one of glamorous society parties, country house weekends, and growing literary fame.

Nan O’Dea’s world is something very different. Her attempts to escape a tough London upbringing during the Great War led to a life in Ireland marred by a hidden tragedy.

After fighting her way back to England, she’s set her sights on Agatha. Because Agatha Christie has something Nan wants. And it’s not just her husband.

Despite their differences, the two women will become the most unlikely of allies. And during the mysterious eleven days that Agatha goes missing, they will unravel a dark secret that only Nan holds the key to . . .

The Review

Having never read an Agatha Christie book it is a mystery to me as to why I was so intrigued to read The Christie Affair – a story based loosely around the 11 days of Agatha Christie’s life when she went missing…but intrigued I was.

In this absolutely enigmatic tale Nina de Gramont fills in what happened during those 11 days and paints a whole other side to who Agatha Christie was. Whilst this is a fictional account, the story that Nina de Gramont poses – her ‘what if…?’ actually seems very plausible. She factors in socio-economical factors, historical elements and then throws in a murder mystery in this melting pot of ideas and all together it makes a pretty damn fine story.

I know this is fictional but I kind of want it to be real.

The Christie Affair is definitely in my top ten books of the year so far.

The Christie Affair by Nina de Gramont is available now.

For more information regarding Nina de Gramont (@NinadeGramont) please visit www.ninadegramont.com

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

Title: The Hawthorne Legacy

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children’s UK

The Blurb

Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions – including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.

As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture – by any means necessary. 

With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.

The Review

When I read The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes I knew I had read something special. So much so that I was willing to forgo my avoidance of book series and fully invest in Avery Grambs story. As soon as I had finished The Inheritance Games I pre-ordered the sequel – The Hawthorne Legacy. I hoped that I would enjoy it just as much as the first in the series. I was not disappointed.

The story follows on from The Inheritance Games. We follow Avery and the four Hawthorne brothers as they try to solve the puzzle as to why they had been disinherited and Avery – a stranger – was left it all.

With more danger and drama than The Inheritance Games, Jennifer Lynn Barnes has cleverly begun to slowly peel away at the clues from the original and woven them seamlessly into The Hawthorne Legacy. There are jaw-dropping moments when you realise this. Your brain starts to hurt with just how clever Jennifer Lynn Barnes is at creating mystery and thriller.

Needless to say I loved The Hawthorne Legacy and hope beyond hope that there is a third in the series.

The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is available now.

For more information regarding Jennifer Lynn Barnes (@jenlynnbarnes) please visit www.jenniferlynnbarnes.com.

For more information regarding Penguin Random House Children’s UK (@penguinrandom) please visit www.penguinrandomhouse.com.