Title: The Thunder Girls

Author: Melanie Blake

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Jackie Collins for a new generation. The Thunder Girls is a blockbuster novel, filled with obsession, addiction, betrayal and revenge, that charts the rise and fall of an 80s girl band from Melanie Blake, a true insider of the music business.

Perfect for fans of Tasmina Perry and Daisy Jones and The Six. Soon to be a nationwide play with an all star cast.

THE

Chrissie, Roxanne, Carly and Anita, an eighties pop sensation outselling and out-classing their competition. Until it all comes to an abrupt end and three of their careers are over, and so is their friendship.

THUNDER

Thirty years later, their old record label wants the band back together for a huge money-making concert. But the wounds are deep and some need this gig more than others.

In those decades apart life was far from the dream they were living as members of The Thunder Girls. Breakdowns, bankruptcy, addiction and divorce have been a constant part of their lives. They’ve been to hell and back, and some are still there.

GIRLS

Can the past be laid to rest for a price, or is there more to this reunion than any of them could possibly know? Whilst they all hunger for a taste of success a second time around, someone is plotting their downfall in the deadliest way possible . . .

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

All I wanted to be in my 20s was a rock star. I’m in my 30s now and much like my 20s there is zero chance of it ever happening but man I can still dream.

That is what is absolutely fantastic about The Thunder Girls by Melanie Blake. I am given the opportunity to live the rock star lifestyle vicariously through the girls in the band: Chrissie – your typical egotistical bitch with a heart of gold hidden under her icy exterior, the scorned Roxanne – I wouldn’t like to get on her bad side, the peacekeeper Carly – just because she is quiet doesn’t mean she doesn’t have secrets, and Anita – the feisty kick ass member of the band who may in fact be the glue that keeps them all together.

Melanie Blake has written an absolute page turner about what the music industry is like. She uses her real life experiences which give the book a verisimilitude and dammit she has made me want to continue the dream of being a rock star.

I really wish that I could unread this book so I could read it all over again.

Absolutely fantastic.

The Thunder Girls by Melanie Blake is available now.

For more information regarding Melanie Blake (@MelanieBlakeUK) please visit www.thethundergirls.co.uk.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@Panmacmillan) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.