Title: The Manhattan Girls

Author: Gill Paul

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Avon Books

The Blurb

NEW YORK CITY, 1921

An impossible dream.

The war is over, the twenties are roaring, but in the depths of the city that never sleeps, Dorothy Parker is struggling to make her mark in a man’s world.

A broken woman.

She’s penniless, she’s unemployed and her marriage is on the rocks when she starts a bridge group with three extraordinary women – but will they be able to save her from herself?

A fight for survival.

When tragedy strikes, and everything Dorothy holds dear is threatened, it’s up to Peggy, Winifred and Jane to help her confront the truth before it’s too late. Because the stakes may be life or death…

A new novel from the internationally bestselling author, Sex and the City meets the 1920s in this sweeping tale of love, loss and the everlasting bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis, Dinah Jefferies and Chanel Cleeton.

The Review

One of my all time favourite tropes in novels in when the writer takes a real life person or situation and moulds the story around them or it. Gill Paul is masterful at writing historical fiction. I loved her book The Paris Wife and I felt no less love for The Manhattan Girls.

The Manhattan Girls focuses on the lives of four women who had a modicum of fame in 1920s New York – a time of great social change but also a time where morals ruled the streets and those who flouted the rules visited the seedy underbelly. It was a time of prohibition – where bathtub gin was the norm. A time when women were able to find their feet and stand their ground…but this didn’t come easy.

I absolutely adored this tale of Dorothy Parker and her friends. I didn’t know a lot about them before going in to the novel but afterwards I felt like I had been present to a slice of history. Gill Paul is brilliant at transporting you to a time or place, you feel like you are a fly on the wall.

An absolutely stunning historical drama steeped in the power of friendship.

The Manhattan Girls by Gill Paul is available now.

For more information regarding Gill Paul (@GillPaulAUTHOR) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Avon Books (@AvonBooksUK) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: The Great Godden

Author: Meg Rosoff

Pages: 256 Pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

The Blurb

Everyone talks about falling in love like it’s the most miraculous, life-changing thing in the world. Something happens, they say, and you know …

That’s what happened when I met Kit Godden.

I looked into his eyes and I knew.

Only everyone else knew too. Everyone else felt exactly the same way.

From the incomparable Meg Rosoff, bestselling author of How I Live Now, comes a heady and timeless, intimate and earth-shattering wonder.

One dreamy summer, in a holiday house by the sea, two families fill hot days with food and wine, swimming and games, plans for a wedding and plans for the future. 

Enter the Godden brothers – irresistible, languid Kit, and surly, silent Hugo. Suddenly there’s a serpent in paradise – but which brother is it? And is it love he promises, or something very much darker?

Profound and memorable, crystallising the exact moment at which innocence is lost, The Great Godden is a summer classic-in-the-making that sits alongside Bonjour Tristesse, The Greengage Summer and I Capture the Castle as an essential coming-of-age read.

The Review

The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff is a quiet novel. Nothing outrageous happens in it but it is a mood. The novel seems very reflective and nostalgic even when events happen that cause sadness. It is almost as if the rose tinted glasses put a soft hue around bad events.

The events of the novel take place over a summer holiday in Ireland when things take an unexpected turn with the arrival of the Godden brothers. Kit Godden is charismatic and quickly captures everyone’s eye whilst brother Hugo lingers in the background. Their arrival changes the dynamic and causes discord amongst the family.

The Great Godden isn’t a fast paced novel but it does wrap its arms around you and carry you through it. You are engaged by the curiosity of this family and you are desperate to read on. Out of all the Rosoff books I have read, The Great Godden is my favourite.

The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff is available now.

For more information regarding Bloomsbury Publishing (@BloomsburyBooks) please visit www.bloomsbury.com.