Love and Other Man Made DisastersTitle: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters

Author: Nicola Doherty

Pages: 240 Pages

Publisher: Hachette Children’s Books

The Blurb

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.

Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies – the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum’s adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn’t hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he’s everything Juno doesn’t like. Or is he? Juno’s about to discover there’s nothing more scary than falling in love.

The Review

There are some authors that I just trust to entertain me; you know, the ones that you are convinced won’t let you down. Nicola Doherty is in that collection of writers.

Doherty’s latest release Love and Other Man-Made Disasters – a young adult fiction, no less – tells the story of teenage worrier Juno. Juno is convinced that she is going to fail all her exams or get ran or worst case but still very likely get caught in a zombie apocalypse. Quite frankly, she is putting years on herself with all the worry. This all comes to a head when her recently remarried mother makes her go on a skiing trip with her “new family.”

For me, Love and Other Man-Made Disasters was the Dirty Dancing of young adult fiction…except you need to swap the mambo for some ski slopes…and there was a distinct lack of watermelons. However, what Love and Other Man-Made Disasters does have is an abundance of the feel good factor.

I hoovered Love and Other Man-Made Disasters in one sitting. I couldn’t put it down. I loved Juno and Boys relationship and how they challenged each other, I loved how real Nicola Doherty has portrayed the angst and agony of first love, and I loved how I was left with that satisfying feeling of happiness that only a book can give.

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty is available now.

Follow Nicola Doherty (@nicoladoherty_) on Twitter and for more information visit her official website www.nicoladohertybooks.com

For further titles from Hachette’s Children’s Books (@HachetteUK) please visit www.hachette.co.uk

4 Stars

The Blurb

Revisit Hamilton High in this MUST READ for all fans of The DUFF – co-starring Bianca and Wesley.

Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar. She lies about her dad being in prison. She lies about her mom kicking her out. And she lies about sneaking into her best friend’s house every night because she has nowhere else to go.

Amy Rush might be the only person Sonny shares everything with – secrets, clothes, even a nemesis named Ryder Cross.

Ryder’s the new kid at Hamilton High and everything Sonny and Amy can’t stand – a prep-school snob. But Ryder has a weakness: Amy. So when Ryder emails Amy asking her out, the friends see it as a prank opportunity not to be missed.

But without meaning to, Sonny ends up talking to Ryder all night online. And to her horror, she realizes that she might actually ‘like’ him. Only there’s one small catch: he thinks he’s been talking to Amy. So Sonny comes up with an elaborate scheme to help Ryder realize that she’s the girl he’s really wanted all along. Can Sonny lie her way to the truth, or will all her lies end up costing her both Ryder and Amy?

The DUFF is a New York Times Bestseller and a major motion picture starring Bella Thorne, Robbie Amell, Mae Whitman and Alison Janney.

The Review

Having already read The DUFF and being surprisingly impressed by Kody Keplinger’s writing style and moxie. I was really excited to sink my teeth into the companion novel LOL.I think what impressed me most about Keplinger’s style is just the amount of sass she puts into her stories and her characters. At the minute in YA fiction there is a macabre trend of stories about incurable illnesses or suicide so it is refreshing to have a story that is about solvable problems that are still real and relevant. This is exactly what you get with Keplinger’s writing and it is no different from her latest offering – LOL.

In Lying Out Loud, our protagonist Sonny has a problem. She is a bit of a liar. She has learnt that she is a quick thinker and can make up excuses on the spot. However, sometimes her lies can’t get her out of real life desperate situations she manages to get herself in.

In a Cyrano de Bergerac-esque novel Sonny responds to the amorous emails from new student Ryder. As the conversation flows, Sonny realises that she likes him. One problem, she is replying on her best friend Amy’s email account. Ryder likes Amy, not Sonny. Sonny begins to weave a crafty web of lies to make Ryder fall for her instead but eventually her perpetual mendacious behaviour catches up with her.

LOL is a really great read that is hard to put down. It deals with themes of unrequited love, friendship along with deeper issues such as abandonment and poverty. It definitely should be a part of all young adults’ libraries.

Hamilton High: Lying Out Loud: A Companion Novel to The Duff by Kody Keplinger is available now.

Follow Kody Keplinger (@Kody_Keplinger) on Twitter.

LOL

The Blurb

Her precious mother is dead – and it isn’t an accident! The young Cleopatra – Pharaoh’s illegitimate daughter – must flee the royal palace at Alexandria or die too. As her evil half-sisters usurp the throne, Cleo finds sanctuary at the sacred temple of Isis, where years later she becomes initiated into the secret Sisters of the Living Knot. But now Isis’s power is failing, Egypt is in danger, and Cleo must prove her loyalty to her goddess by returning to the Alexandria she hates. She must seek out the hidden map which is the key to returning Isis’s power – on pain of death. But will she be able to evade her horrible sisters? And will she find dreamy Khai, the über-hot librarian boy she met as she fled Alexandria years before? Cleo’s powerful destiny is about to unfold…

Gorgeous and evocative, this captivating new YA novel imagines the life of the teenage Cleopatra before she became the icon we think we know.

The Review

I don’t like to say negative things but sometimes it is necessary. I have to be honest in this review; I just didn’t like Cleo.

The story is about a young Cleopatra and how she escaped the reign of tyranny let by her two sisters Berenice and Tryphena by faking her own death. As a young woman Cleo is visited by the goddess Isis and scarred with her sacred mark. She is given a mission to return to her previous home and collect a map that will help Isis’s name be restored to power.

All of this sounds so good and so promising but the delivery was really heavy and long. Huge chunks of Cleo could have been left out and the story’s pace would have been so much quicker and much more dramatic. As it was, I found myself putting the book down to do other things. I just wasn’t kept hooked.

To be fair, Cleo did get better later on but it took the first half of the book for me to feel remotely interested. It is a real shame because the premise of this story is really intriguing but I felt the execution didn’t live up to it.

Cleo by Lucy Coats is available now.

cleo

Synopsis

Jessie and her best friend Emma have left boring Manchester in England for a summer adventure in one of the greatest cities in the world – New York! The girls are staying with Jessie’s mum and Jessie is hoping it is a chance to repair their fractured relationship. She is also looking for a holiday romance to get over bad boy Taylor who recently left her broken hearted.

If only she could meet someone in this great big romantic city…

Review

Ok, so here is my problem. I like YA fiction, however, when I read some YA fiction really begin to feel my age (coughs *31* coughs). Jessie Hearts NYC is one of those books. Don’t get me wrong, this book is well written, it has a sustainable and believable plot, the characters are well rounded and thought out and I actually rather enjoyed it. My only problem is not one that Stainton can be blamed for; I am not her key demographic. Therefore, I didn’t love this book but I can see all the good qualities in it. I am certain that teenage me would have adored this book.

Jessie Hearts NYC by Keris Stainton is available now.

 

Synopsis

Sabine is a girl with a secret. Sure all teenage girls have secrets. Boys they are crushing on; homework or tests that they have not studied for or cheated on but these pale in comparison to Sabine’s secret. If Sabine’s secret is found out then she would be in some serious trouble.

You see, Sabine has two lives. In both worlds she is a normal teenage girl, in both she is 18 and in both she is ready to graduate. One world does seem better than the other and Sabine seems determined to just live the one life. However, her plans for this are knocked on their head when she falls in love.

Review

Between the Lives is a quirky entry into the dystopian YA fiction genre that has garnered much popularity over the past few years. Actually, I would go as far as to say that it is an innovative approach to storytelling. Initially, I was dubious as to how this would work and I was waiting for a crack to appear in the story to make me start to disbelieve and/or lose interest in the characters but

Shirivington manages to create to very real but very separate worlds as well as giving her protagonist Sabine reason enough to be unhappy with her existence. She draws upon the power of societal roles to create an impression of ease, and equally, discomfort – i.e. how being popular in high school and coming from money can be seen as a privilege whereas in her other life Sabine doesn’t have the same style of upbringing.

Overall, Between the Lives is a very interesting read with a good strong and likeable protagonist who you do empathise with. The story does throw you a lot of twists and often at breakneck speed. However, I did guess parts of the ending before they happened which isn’t a bad thing but did make me wonder if it could have been written differently. If I am totally honest, I would have liked Between the Lives to have been the beginning of a series and I genuinely think Shirvington could have accomplished that with a different ending.

Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington is available now.

BTL-UK