Title: The Manhattan Girls

Author: Gill Paul

Pages: 416 Pages

Publisher: Avon Books

The Blurb

NEW YORK CITY, 1921

An impossible dream.

The war is over, the twenties are roaring, but in the depths of the city that never sleeps, Dorothy Parker is struggling to make her mark in a man’s world.

A broken woman.

She’s penniless, she’s unemployed and her marriage is on the rocks when she starts a bridge group with three extraordinary women – but will they be able to save her from herself?

A fight for survival.

When tragedy strikes, and everything Dorothy holds dear is threatened, it’s up to Peggy, Winifred and Jane to help her confront the truth before it’s too late. Because the stakes may be life or death…

A new novel from the internationally bestselling author, Sex and the City meets the 1920s in this sweeping tale of love, loss and the everlasting bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis, Dinah Jefferies and Chanel Cleeton.

The Review

One of my all time favourite tropes in novels in when the writer takes a real life person or situation and moulds the story around them or it. Gill Paul is masterful at writing historical fiction. I loved her book The Paris Wife and I felt no less love for The Manhattan Girls.

The Manhattan Girls focuses on the lives of four women who had a modicum of fame in 1920s New York – a time of great social change but also a time where morals ruled the streets and those who flouted the rules visited the seedy underbelly. It was a time of prohibition – where bathtub gin was the norm. A time when women were able to find their feet and stand their ground…but this didn’t come easy.

I absolutely adored this tale of Dorothy Parker and her friends. I didn’t know a lot about them before going in to the novel but afterwards I felt like I had been present to a slice of history. Gill Paul is brilliant at transporting you to a time or place, you feel like you are a fly on the wall.

An absolutely stunning historical drama steeped in the power of friendship.

The Manhattan Girls by Gill Paul is available now.

For more information regarding Gill Paul (@GillPaulAUTHOR) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Avon Books (@AvonBooksUK) please visit their Twitter page.