Title: After the Rain

Author: Natalia Gomes

Pages: 352 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

‘We’re alive. So let’s start living.’

Two strangers

Jack was sporty and outgoing. Alice was bookish and introverted. Their lives were on completely different paths.

One life-changing tragedy

That is before the day they were in the wrong place at the wrong time: before the day their lives were torn apart in a bombing.

A hopeful new friendship

Struggling to cope with their new worlds, their unlikely new friendship helps them find hope. But can they help each other rebuild their lives and start again?

Powerful and compelling After the Rain is the brand-new novel from Natália Gomes, perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

The Review

I am always impressed by (yet I do not envy) writers who tackle difficult and contentious topics in their books. I am further impressed when they handle situations well. This is what Natalia Gomes has done with After the Rain – a YA novel which focuses on the devastation after a terrorist attack.

Jack and Alice were both in Leicester Square when the attack took place and the story follows them both as they deal with the aftermath of the attack, as they try to come to terms with the effects – both physical and mental.

The dual-perspective novel gives the reader a chance to see different reactions to the same event and although the subject matter is quite dark there is a kernel of hope that runs throughout the story.

Trigger warnings must be given because it does deal with a dark subject and if you are easily upset then this novel will have an impact

After the Rain by Natalia Gomes is available now.

For more information regarding Natalia Gomes (@nd_gomes) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Title: Kill the Boy Band

Author: Goldy Moldavsky

Pages: 320 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Fangirls get a bad rap all the time – people say we’re weird, hysterical, obsessed, certifiable. But those people don’t understand. 

Just because we’re fangirls, doesn’t mean we’re crazy. 

It’s important you know that up front. Because everything I’m about to tell you is going to seem . . . well, crazy. 

From thrilling debut author Goldy Moldavsky comes Kill The Boy Band, a pitch-black, hilarious take on modern fandom and the badass girls who have the power to make – or break – the people we call ‘celebrities’.

The Review

Oh how I laughed at this book.

Goldy Moldavsky’s debut novel Kill the Boy Band is hilarious. It is a novel about fandom and about the crazy lengths people will go to meet their idols. I’ve been there. For me, it was Busted. I get these characters.

The genius of this book lays with its main character – an unnamed narrator who opts to call herself various names throughout the book – her quips, witty one liners (god rest his soul) and 80s movie references were genius and made this book such a brilliant read. It made me feel nostalgic for a time when it was okay for your world to be consumed by a band.

I flippin’ loved this story.

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky is available now.

For more information regarding Goldy Moldavsky (@goldywrites) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: Not My Problem

Author: Ciara Smyth

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: Andersen Press

The Blurb

Sex Education with an Irish LGBT heroine: Aideen can fix anyone’s problem – just not her own

When Aideen agrees to help ambitious class swot Maebh Kowalska deal with her crazy workload, she doesn’t expect to end up reluctantly pushing Maebh down the stairs. With this, Aideen becomes the school ‘fixer’: any problem a student has, Aideen will sort it out, from stealing confiscated mobiles to breaking into parties. All she asks for is a favour in return. But Aideen’s own life is a mess – her mam’s drinking again, her BFF Holly is avoiding her and she’s skipping school. Spending more time with the uptight (but annoyingly cute) Maebh and chatterbox Kavi, Aideen starts to wonder: can every problem be solved?

The Review

What a special book.

Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth is a fabulous campus novel set in Ireland. Our heroine, Aideen, has a lot of problems of her own. No money, strained relationship with her sperm donor father, a hot mess of a mother yet she cannot help but sort out the problems of others. This lands her in many scrapes which are often hilarious. However, at the heart of this novel is a young girl who is just trying to hold things together.

I absolutely bloody loved this story from the very first page. The inimitable Irish humour jumps off the page. It had me howling with laughter and I am so sad that it is over.

Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth is available now.

For more information regarding Andersen Press (@AndersenPress) please visit www.andersenpress.co.uk.

Title: Suddenly A Murder

Author: Lauren Munoz

Pages: 297 Pages

Publisher: Hot Key Books

The Blurb

Everyone has a secret. Everyone has a motive. But only one of them brought a knife to the party . . .

To celebrate the end of high school, Izzy Morales joins her best friend Kassidy and five friends on a luxury 1920s-themed getaway at the glamorous Ashwood Manor. There, Izzy and her friends party in vintage dresses and expensive diamonds – until Kassidy’s boyfriend turns up dead.

And when a raging storm traps them on the island with two detectives, the sparkling young socialites become the prime suspects in his murder. There’s the girlfriend, and the other girl. The old friend, and the new friend. The brooding enigma. And then, there’s Izzy – the girl who brought the knife . . .

A glamorous and scandalous modern murder mystery that’ll have you reading through the night to find out whodunnit! Perfect for fans of ONE OF US IS LYING, THE INHERITANCE GAMES and KNIVES OUT.

The Review

In the grand tradition of a Christie mystery, Suddenly A Murder is a teen crime drama that is a really good page turner.

The novel focuses on privileged teenagers who travel to a private island to celebrate their graduation. Once on the island, the teens cannot leave and all of them is carrying more than their luggage with them. Each of them has a secret. When one of the party ends up murdered each of the teenagers are questioned and each has a motive.

With red herrings abound, dark twisted tales and a dramatic climax I can honestly say this is one of the easiest reads that I have read but I did not solve the crime. It was very well written.

Suddenly A Murder by Lauren Munoz is available now.

For more information regarding Hot Key Books (@HotKeyBooks) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: You Could Be So Pretty

Author: Holly Bourne

Pages: 400 Pages

Publisher: Usborne

The Blurb

BEAUTY COMES AT A PRICE. AND GIRLS MUST PAY.

In Belle and Joni’s world there are two options for girls:

One, follow the rules of the Doctrine like Belle: apply your Mask, work hard to be crowned at the Ceremony, be a Pretty.

Or two, fight the rules like Joni: leave your face bare, work hard to escape to the Education, be an Objectionable.

But maybe there is a third option…

If Belle and Joni work together, can they destroy the rules and set themselves free?

Uglies meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this visionary and timely dissection of the beauty industry.

The Review

Holly Bourne is one of those writers whose books I will pick up without reading anything about them. I trust her as an author and I like to go into her stories without any preconceived ideas. And wow, what a read. You Could Be So Pretty is a powerful dystopian exploration of what it is like to be a teenage girl in modern society.

Looking at several aspects of being a teenager – academic expectations, beauty expectations, the control of social media and the power of ‘likes’, how information about sex is consumed. All of this whilst packaging it within a patriarchal society. It is a dystopian novel but as someone who works with teenagers I can also see how alarmingly accurate this dystopian world is.

You Could Be So Pretty is a perfect gateway novel to more adult texts such as The Handmaid’s Tail and Vox. It will be a book I demand our school library buys and I will make sure it gets into the hands of our teenagers. It is a must read.

You Could Be So Pretty by Holly Bourne is available now.

For more information regarding Holly Bourne (@holly_bourneYA) please visit www.hollybourne.co.uk.

For more information regarding Usborne Publishing (@Usborne) please visit their Twitter page.