Title: We Are Inevitable

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s

The Blurb

A heartbreaking story about finding yourself and your people, from the bestselling author of If I StayPerfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, John Green and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

‘I got this whole-body feeling . . . it was like a message from future me to present me, telling me that in some way we weren’t just bound to happen, that we had, in some sense, already happened. It felt . . . inevitable.’

So far, the inevitable hasn’t worked out so well for Aaron Stein. While his friends have gone to college and moved on with their lives, Aaron’s been left behind in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State, running a failing bookshop with his dad, Ira. What he needs is a lucky break, the good kind of inevitable.

And then he meets Hannah. Incredible Hannah – magical, musical, brave and clever. Could she be the answer? And could they – their relationship, their meeting – possibly be the inevitable Aaron’s been waiting for?

The Review

So…it wasn’t my favourite Gayle Forman novel.

We Are Inevitable is the story of Aaron Stein. He is an old soul in a young body. He has seen things and dealt with things that no one should have to at his age. Drugs, losing a family member, the breakdown of his parents marriage and he is just trying to hold it all together. Parallel to this, Aiden is trying to keep the family bookstore afloat.

A lot for any one person to be dealing with.

So all of this I am okay with. There was the additional romance story line which again was nice but I felt that both stories were fighting for poll position. I did not know which story I was rooting for. I felt pulled but not necessarily in a good way.

It was a nice story but I think after reading some of Gayle Forman’s other books I personally was expecting more.

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman is available now.

For more information regarding Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster Children’s (@SimonKIDS) please visit www.simonanschuster.com/kids.

Title: Far From the Tree

Author: Robin Benway

Pages: 389 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster’s Children’s

The Blurb

‘Sometimes, family hurts each other. But after that’s done you bandage each other up, and you move on. Together. So you can go and think that you’re some lone wolf, but you’re not. You’ve got us now, like it or not, and we’ve got you.’

When 16 year-old Grace gives up her baby for adoption, she decides that the time has come to find out more about her own biological mother. Although her biological mum proves elusive, her search leads her to two half-siblings she never knew existed.

Maya, 15, has been adopted by wealthy parents and seems to have the picture-perfect family – that is, if you look past her alcoholic mother and the fact that Maya stands out like a sore thumb.

Older brother Joaquin hasn’t been so lucky. At 18, he’s shuffled between foster home after foster home, always careful never to get attached to anyone or anything, because it always gets taken away. 

When these three siblings come together, they find in themselves the place they can belong, while the secrets they guard threaten to explode…

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon, Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family. 

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Sometimes a book comes along that sweeps you away. It is the sort of book that will stay with you long after you have turned the last page and it will be the book that you shove into the hands of others because you know that they have to read it. For me, this book is Far From the Tree.

Far From the Tree is the story of three siblings who have all been adopted or fostered to different families and who didn’t know the others existed until recently. Along with finding siblings they never knew they also set on a journey of finding themselves.

I honestly loved Far From the Tree. I was hooked from the very first page and it is a book that I have now read with my teenage reading group. It deals with issues such as slut shaming, adoption, the foster system and finding a sense of belonging. Far From the Tree tore my heart out but it also repaired it.

I constantly say it and I am probably boring others with my repetition but YA fiction is the genre that is the most prevalent at the moment. With books like Far From the Tree in its midst you can see why it is a flourishing genre.

Far From the Tree by Robin Benway is available now.

For more information regarding Robin Benway (@RobinBenway) please visit www.robinbenway.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster Children’s (@simonkids_UK) please visit www.kids.simonandschuster.co.uk.