Title: Gut Feelings

Author: CG Moore

Pages: 400 Pages

Publisher: UCLan Publishing

The Blurb

At school,

I learned that words,

More than weapons,

Could destroy bodies,

Could break hearts

More than fists or fury.

This is the story of Chris, what happened to him at the age of eleven and how that would change the rest of his life.

Based on personal experience, Chris Moore’s Gut Feelings is a life-affirming and powerful coming of age verse novel that shines a light on chronic illness, who we are and how we live. Chris’s condition – familial adenomatous polyposis, an inherited disorder characterised by the rapid growth of small, precancerous polyps in the large intestines – would come to define all aspects of his future, from his everyday life to his personal relationships.

Gut Feelings is Chris’s brave story of how he attempted to come to terms with this devastating diagnosis as a teenager.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louisa Reid and Dean Atta, the novel also tackles issues of invisible disability, family dynamics and LGBTQ+ themes.

The Review

I had personal reasons for wanting to read Gut Feelings. I have suffered with gut problems for as long as I can remember and I have never seen someone like myself or what I have gone through represented in books. I am so grateful that disability awareness – in particular invisible illnesses – is getting recognised in writing. Plus own voice stories are so powerful.

CG Moore’s Gut Feelings is a story told through poetry and explores Moore’s own experience with having an invisible illness. He brilliantly describes the drained feeling of constant hospital appointments, the fear of the next thing you are going to be told by a specialist, the remission and the flare ups. Maybe it is because my experience has been similar but Moore’s writing feels powerful.

Invisible illnesses are difficult for the person who has it but equally for the patient’s loved ones. They don’t know how you feel or what you go through or the pain you feel. However, CG Moore has done a damn good job of describing it.

Gut Feelings is definitely worth a read.

Gut Feelings by CG Moore is available now.

For more information regarding UCLan Publishing (@publishinguclan) please visit www.uclanpublishing.com.

Title: September Love

Author: Lang Leav

Pages: 224 Pages

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

The Blurb

A book that will change the way you think about love, relationships, heartbreak, and self-empowerment. Breaking the rules, challenging perceptions, and exploring the secret desires we keep hidden from the world.

Beautifully composed and written by international bestselling author Lang Leav, this new collection of poetry and prose will positively influence your life.

 

September Love captures the magic of each passing season, a pearl of wisdom waiting to be discovered with every page turned. A book that will inspire you to reach for the stars.

The Review

I like reading poetry books. I will admit that it isn’t my favourite genre but I like trying to dissect and understand poetry. What I find from personal collections is that they can sometimes be a little self indulgent especially if the writer is a little green. Lang Leav’s latest collection September Love shows a writer in her prime, a writer who knows who she is and produces work that is readable, enjoyable and that doesn’t seem like it is just word regurgitation on a page. 

September Love is a stunning collection. Personally, I preferred her free verse but the collection as a whole is very accomplished.

September Love by Lang Leav is available now.

For more information regarding Lang Leav (@langleav) please visit www.langleav.com/poemsia.

For more information regarding Andrews McMeel (@AndrewsMcMeel) please visit www.andrewsmcmeel.com.

Title: Sorry I Haven’t Texted You Back

Author: Alicia Cook

Pages: 240 Pages

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

The Blurb

Sorry I haven’t texted you back, I’ve been so anxious and depressed I haven’t had time to catch my breath, you know how life gets!

Returning to the form of Stuff I’ve Been Feeling LatelySorry I Haven’t Texted You Back is a poetic mixtape dedicated to those who struggle or have struggled with their mental health. Divided into two parts, “Side A” holds 92 poems, titled as “tracks,” and “Side B” holds the “remixes,” or blackout-poetry versions, of  those 92 poems. The book includes the evergreen themes of love, grief, and hope. Named after Cook’s viral Instagram poem, Sorry I Haven’t Texted You Back lands in the crossroads of self-help and poetry.

The Review

Sorry I Haven’t Text You Back is a powerful set of poems that has poet Alicia Cooks figuratively bleeding on the page. She gives her all in this collection and leaves you in no doubt as to how she is feeling. She takes the theme of mental health and uses poetry to help you understand. 

It is a shocking, powerful and moving collection of poems which needs to be digested slowly and allow yourself time to fully digest the meanings behind the poems. 

It also comes with a kick-ass soundtrack to accompany it.

Sorry I Haven’t Texted You Back by Alicia Cook is available now.

For more information regarding Alicia Cook (@the_alicia_cook) please visit instagram.com/thealiciacook.

For more information regarding Andrews McMeel Publishing (@AndrewsMcMeel) please visit www.andrewsmcmeel.com.

Title: Let Me Tell You This

Author: Nadine Aisha Jassat

Pages: 144 Pages

Publisher: 404 Ink

The Blurb

The electrifying debut collection from a powerful new voice in UK poetry. Shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award 2018. Let Me Tell You This is a vital exploration of racism, gender-based violence, and the sustaining, restorative bonds between women, told with searing precision and intelligent lyricism. Nadine takes you on a journey exploring heritage, connection, and speaking out. These poems demonstrate the power of heart and voice, and will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

I have been reading more and more poetry over the past year and I have found that I am enjoying it more than ever before.

Let Me Tell You This is the deeply personal collection about the struggle with feeling displaced due to cultural heritage being at odds with British roots. Jassat highlights the ignorance of others and also the privilege f believing that people can say and do anything without consequence and repercussion. It is a study in white privilege.

Jassat bookmarks this by looking at her role as a woman in society and the look at sexism in society. It is her honest study which makes this book a very powerful collection of poems.

Let Me Tell You This by Nadine Aisha Jassat is available now.

For more information regarding Nadine Aisha Jassat (@nadineaishaj) please visit www.nadineaishaj.com.

For more information regarding 404 Ink (@404ink) please visit www.404ink.com.

Title: She is Fierce – Brave, Bold and Beautiful Poems by Women

Author: Ana Sampson

Pages: 304 Pages

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

The Blurb

A stunning gift book containing 150 bold, brave and beautiful poems by women – from classic, well loved poets to innovative and bold modern voices. From suffragettes to school girls, from spoken word superstars to civil rights activists, from aristocratic ladies to kitchen maids, these are voices that deserve to be heard.

Collected by anthologist Ana Sampson She is Fierce: Brave, Bold and Beautiful Poems by Women contains an inclusive array of voices, from modern and contemporary poets. Immerse yourself in poems from Maya Angelou, Nikita Gill, Wendy Cope, Ysra Daley-Ward, Emily Bronte, Carol Ann Duffy, Fleur Adcock, Liz Berry, Jackie Kay, Hollie McNish, Imtiaz Dharker, Helen Dunmore, Emily Dickinson, Mary Oliver, Christina Rossetti, Margaret Atwood and Dorothy Parker, to name but a few! Featuring short biographies of each poet, She is Fierce is a stunning collection and an essential addition to any bookshelf.

The anthology is divided into the following sections: Roots and Growing Up Friendship Love Nature Freedom, Mindfulness and Joy Fashion, society and body image Protest, courage and resistance Endings

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

As I have gotten older I have come to appreciate poetry more than I did as a child. However, my love isn’t for the written word it is for the chosen nuances. I like studying the poem, looking at the writer and discovering why it was written. What is great about the She is Fierce collection is that some of the work is already done for you. You have the poem, you have it categorised into what type of poem it is and then you have a breakdown of the writer. Brilliant.

She is Fierce is a wonderful collection that is compromised of fantastic female voices. Some poems are familiar but the majority are ones that I certainly hadn’t come across before. It was wonderful to find some new and interesting voices.

This is a perfect collection for the feminist poetry lover in your life.

She is Fierce – Brave, Bold and Beautiful Poems by Women by Ana Sampson is available now.

For more information regarding Ana Sampson (@AnaBooks) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Macmillan Children’s Books (@MacmillanKidsUK) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.