Title: People Like Her

Author: Ellery Lloyd

Pages: 321 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Introducing 2021’s most scintillating debut thriller, People Like Her  is a story about truth and lies, motherhood and social media — and the lengths some people will go to, not only for revenge, but also to be liked. For fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley. 

Followed by millions. Hunted by one.

THE INFLUENCER

I need to be liked. It’s my job

My personal brand is built on honesty.

Family, friendship, cheering other mothers on when things get tough.

Doing it together – telling it like it really is – that’s what @the_Mamabare is all about.

THE HUSBAND

I just want a quiet life

Her adoring followers feel like they understand my wife.

My wife certainly understands them.

I know she is beautiful, smart, ambitious, charming.

But she’s also a liar.

THE FOLLOWER

I want revenge

The filter’s about to drop.

I’ve been watching you and your family very closely.

You’ve ruined my life.

Now I’m going to ruin yours.

The Review

People Like Her was a surprising read. I was expecting a nice little mystery that I could read mindlessly and practise the art of escapism. I was wrong. People Like Her is an intense thriller that comments on the insidious nature of social media and how being an influencer isn’t all it cracks up to be.

Emmy and Dan have a seemingly perfect life. Well, the life that they show on Instagram is perfect but when a serious of creepy events occur Dan seems rocked and questions Emmy’s social media addiction.

At the heart of the story though are Emmy and Dan’s children. When they become the target I couldn’t help but find myself being stressed out. I don’t have children but I have a niece and the fear of anything happening to her transposed into my reading of the story. I had a visceral reaction to it. For me that is the mark of good story telling.

People Like Her is a spine chilling read and worthy of being picked up.

People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd is available now.

For more information regarding Ellory Lloyd (@ElleryLloydAuthor) please visit www.ellerylloyd.com.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: Idol

Author: Louise O’Neill

Pages: 320 Pages

Publisher: Random House / Transworld Publications / Bantam Press

The Blurb

‘Follow your heart and speak your truth.’

For Samantha Miller’s young fans – her ‘girls’ – she’s everything they want to be. She’s an oracle, telling them how to live their lives, how to be happy, how to find and honour their ‘truth’. 

And her career is booming: she’s just hit three million followers, her new book Chaste has gone straight to the top of the bestseller lists and she’s appearing at sell-out events. 

Determined to speak her truth and bare all to her adoring fans, she’s written an essay about her sexual awakening as a teenager, with her female best friend, Lisa. She’s never told a soul but now she’s telling the world. The essay goes viral.

But then – years since they last spoke – Lisa gets in touch to say that she doesn’t remember it that way at all. Her memory of that night is far darker. It’s Sam’s word against Lisa’s – so who gets to tell the story? Whose ‘truth’ is really a lie?  

‘You put yourself on that pedestal, Samantha. You only have yourself to blame.’

Riveting, compulsive and bold, IDOL interrogates our relationship with our heroes and explores the world of online influencers, asking how well we can ever really know those whose carefully curated profiles we follow online. And it asks us to consider how two memories of the same event can differ, and how effortlessly we choose which stories to believe. 

The Review

Louise O’Neill is my ‘must buy’ author. I have always enjoyed reading her books. From Asking For It to After the Silence and the rest in between I love reading her stories. Idol has just joined that list of books I enjoyed.

Idol is the story of Samantha Miller – lifestyle guru is a 3 million strong following. Her latest book release has been a huge success helped along by an article that she released a few days earlier where she talks about an important sexual experience she had. However, when the person discussed in the article makes claims that Samantha is lying, that things didn’t happen that way and that Samantha took advantage, Samantha’s world begins to fall apart.

Idol was brilliant and what Louise O’Neill has expertly done is to dissect the argument that famous people are at a disadvantage in the sense that because of their fame they are prey to people trying to take advantage take them down a peg or two whilst also looking at the alternative argument that people who are famous are privileged and believe that their fame allows them guilt free behaviour.

Coupled with this we also have two really unreliable characters Samantha and Lisa. As a reader, you are constantly on your toes trying to figure out who you believe and who is telling the absolute truth.

Idol is a ten ticket thrill ride of a novel and one that will have you hooked from the very first page. I loved it!

Idol by Louise O’Neill is available now.

For more information regarding Louise O’Neill (@oneilllo) please visit her Twitter or Instagram account.

For more information regarding Random House (@randomhouse) please visit www.randomhousebooks.com.

For more information regarding Transworld Publications (@TransworldBooks) please visit their Twitter account.

For more information regarding Bantam Press (@BantamPress) please visit www.bantam.press.