Title: How to Sell a Haunted House

Author: Grady Hendrix

Pages: 419 Pages

Publisher: Titan Books

The Blurb

When Louise finds out her parents have died, she dreads going home. She doesn’t want to leave her daughter with her ex and fly to Charleston. She doesn’t want to deal with her family home, stuffed to the rafters with the remnants of her father’s academic career and her mother’s lifelong obsession with puppets and dolls. She doesn’t want to learn how to live without the two people who knew and loved her best in the world.

Mostly, she doesn’t want to deal with her brother, Mark, who never left their hometown, gets fired from one job after another, and resents her success. But she’ll need his help to get the house ready for sale because it’ll take more than some new paint on the walls and clearing out a lifetime of memories to get this place on the market.

Some houses don’t want to be sold, and their home has other plans for both of them…

The Review

Me and Grady Hendrix books do not have the best relationship. I would love to read one of his books and be scared but I’m just not.

Okay, lets be frank about it. I was enjoying the family dynamics of How to Sell a Haunted House. The premise of two siblings fighting over a property left in a will was intriguing to me. But then he ruined it by trying to add puppets and it was just….meh.

I will give Grady Hendrix one more try but if that is another stinker then I am done.

How to Sell a Haunted House by Grady Hendrix is available now.

For more information regarding Grady Hendrix (@grady_hendrix) please visit www.gradyhendrix.com.

For more information regarding Titan Books (@TitanBooks) please visit www.titanbooks.com.

Title: The Haunting of Beatrix Greene

Author: Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, Vicky Alvear Shecter

Pages: 198 Pages

Publisher: Serial Box

The Blurb

Beatrix Greene has made a name for herself in Victorian England as a reputable spiritual medium, but she’s a fraud: even she knows ghosts aren’t real. But when she’s offered a lucrative job by James Walker—a scientist notorious for discrediting pretenders like her—Beatrix takes the risk of a lifetime. If her séance at the infamously haunted Ashbury Manor fools him, she will finally have true financial freedom. If she fails, her secret will become her public shame. 

But James has his own dark secrets, and he believes only a true medium can put them to rest. When Beatrix’s séance awakens her real gift—and with it, a vengeful spirit—James finds that the answers he seeks are more dangerous than he could have imagined. Together, with a group of supernatural sleuths, Beatrix and James race to settle the ghost’s unrest before it strikes— or else they might not make it out of the haunted manor alive. 

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins, along with Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter, weaves darkness, death, and a hint of desire into this suspenseful mystery for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Crimson Peak.

The Review

In a post-MTV world audiences don’t tend to get scared by the written world. The real world is scary enough and many of today’s horror movies focus on real life horror rather than the supernatural. You could argue that supernatural stories had their hey day during the 18th and 19th century. Personally, I feel that with The Haunting of Beatrix Greene authors Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter have achieved the near impossible. They have created a tale that is actually rather chilling.

With nods to historical characters (Sherlock Holmes creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) and to trends towards the supernatural (seances) we are immersed in a world so vastly different from the 21st century but we are given a truly shocking tale about ghostly revenge, possession and death.

Collaborating, these authors have created something truly special.

The Haunting of Beatrix Greene by Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, and Vicky Alvear Shecter is available now.

For more information regarding Rachel Hawkins (@LadyHawkins) please visit www.therealladyhawkins.tumblr.com.

For more information regarding Ash Parsons (@AshParso) please visit www.ashparsonbooks.com.

For more information regarding Vicky Alvear Shecter (@vlavearshecter) please visit www.vickyalvearshecter.com.

Title: Imaginary Friend

Author: Stephen Chbosky

Pages: 720 Pages

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

The Blurb

A young boy is haunted by a voice in his head in this acclaimed epic of literary horror from the author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Christopher is seven years old.Christopher is the new kid in town.Christopher has an imaginary friend.

We can swallow our fear or let our fear swallow us.

Single mother Kate Reese is on the run. Determined to improve life for her and her son, Christopher, she flees an abusive relationship in the middle of the night with her child. Together, they find themselves drawn to the tight-knit community of Mill Grove, Pennsylvania. It’s as far off the beaten track as they can get. Just one highway in, one highway out.

At first, it seems like the perfect place to finally settle down. Then Christopher vanishes. for six long days, no one can find him. Until Christopher emerges from the woods at the edge of town, unharmed but not unchanged. He returns with a voice in his head only he can hear, with a mission only he can complete: Build a treehouse in the woods by Christmas, or his mother and everyone in the town will never be the same again.

Twenty years ago, Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower made readers everywhere feel infinite. Now, Chbosky has returned with an epic work of literary horror, years in the making, whose grand scale and rich emotion redefine the genre. Read it with the lights on.

The Review

I bloody loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Yes.

Did I love Imaginary Friend? Mmmm not really. If I am completely honest, I didn’t really understand it.

Let me try and break it down. A boy and his mother moves to a small town and he gets possessed by a spirit who tries to convince him to open a portal to get the evil spirit out…I think.

See that is the thing, after 720 pages I can honestly say I do not know what this book was about. This is a shame because it was one of my most anticipated books of the year.

Sadly, Imaginary Friend did not live up to the expectations that I had for it.

Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky is available now.

For more information regarding Stephen Chbosky (@StephenChbosky) please visit his Twitter page.

For more information regarding Grand Central Publishing (@GrandCentralPub) please visit www.grandcentralpublishing.com.

Title: Carrie

Author: Stephen King

Pages: 306 Pages

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

The Blurb

Carrie White is no ordinary girl.

Carrie White has the gift of telekinesis.

To be invited to Prom Night by Tommy Ross is a dream come true for Carrie – the first
step towards social acceptance by her high school colleagues.

But events will take a decidedly macabre turn on that horrifying and endless night as she
is forced to exercise her terrible gift on the town that mocks and loathes her . . .

(AMAZON BLURB)

The Review

Ok. So this is probably going to be an unpopular opinion because I know that Stephen King is the master of horror and a genius at his craft but I just didn’t rate Carrie. I think the problem is that I was expecting to be absolutely petrified and I just wasn’t. I was a little bit underwhelmed if truth be told. This may have been due to many reasons; those being: I am of a generation that has seen so many real life horrors that it will take something pretty massive to scare me or because of Stephen King’s legendary status I was just expecting more.

One thing I will say about Carrie is that it really does excel in showing the cruelty of school kids. That is something that he definitely got right.

I plan to read more of King’s novels to see if this was just a one off.

Carrie by Stephen King is available now.

For more information regarding Stephen King (@StephenKing) please visit www.stephenking.com.

For more information regarding Hodder & Stoughton (@HodderBooks) please visit www.hodder.co.uk.

Title: The Amityville Horror

Author: Jay Anson

Pages: 188 Pages

Publisher: Pan

The Blurb

On December 18th, 1975, George and Kathy Lutz, with their three children, moved into their new home at 112, Ocean Avenue, Amityville.

Twenty eight days later, they fled from the house in terror.

Plagued by extreme cold and strange unearthly smells, by clouds of flies in the dead of winter, by voices and music that came from nowhere, by green slime that came from the walls…by unspeakable phenomena inconceivable this side of the gates of Hell!

The Review

Ok, let me paint a picture. I’m sitting in my house reading and I realise that I have never really read a horror story. Like ever. So I picked up The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson and I prepared myself to have the wee scared out of me. I had a pair of nail scissors, a heavy book and a remote control next to me to be used as a weapon should I be attacked by anything nasty.

The only thing that attacked me was a nasty case of disappointment. Maybe it is my Gen X MTV attitude but it just didn’t have any effect on me whatsoever. I am disappointed.

I’m sure The Amityville Horror was scary in its day but it just isn’t as powerful with a modern day audience.

The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson is available now.

2 Stars