Title: We Are Inevitable

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s

The Blurb

A heartbreaking story about finding yourself and your people, from the bestselling author of If I StayPerfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, John Green and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

‘I got this whole-body feeling . . . it was like a message from future me to present me, telling me that in some way we weren’t just bound to happen, that we had, in some sense, already happened. It felt . . . inevitable.’

So far, the inevitable hasn’t worked out so well for Aaron Stein. While his friends have gone to college and moved on with their lives, Aaron’s been left behind in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State, running a failing bookshop with his dad, Ira. What he needs is a lucky break, the good kind of inevitable.

And then he meets Hannah. Incredible Hannah – magical, musical, brave and clever. Could she be the answer? And could they – their relationship, their meeting – possibly be the inevitable Aaron’s been waiting for?

The Review

So…it wasn’t my favourite Gayle Forman novel.

We Are Inevitable is the story of Aaron Stein. He is an old soul in a young body. He has seen things and dealt with things that no one should have to at his age. Drugs, losing a family member, the breakdown of his parents marriage and he is just trying to hold it all together. Parallel to this, Aiden is trying to keep the family bookstore afloat.

A lot for any one person to be dealing with.

So all of this I am okay with. There was the additional romance story line which again was nice but I felt that both stories were fighting for poll position. I did not know which story I was rooting for. I felt pulled but not necessarily in a good way.

It was a nice story but I think after reading some of Gayle Forman’s other books I personally was expecting more.

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman is available now.

For more information regarding Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster Children’s (@SimonKIDS) please visit www.simonanschuster.com/kids.

Just One NightTitle: Just One Night

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 48 Pages

The Blurb

Everything will happen in just one night . . .

After spending one life-changing day in Paris with laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter, sheltered American good girl Allyson “Lulu” Healey discovered her new lover had disappeared without a trace.

Just One Day followed Allyson’s quest to reunite with Willem; Just One Year chronicled the pair’s year apart from Willem’s perspective. Now, back together at last, this delectable e-novella reveals the couple’s final chapter. Perfect for fans of John Green and David Levithan.

The Review

You know that feeling when you read a book or watch a movie and the good stuff happens right at the very end? Yes, I hear you cry! It is called a ‘Happy Ending’ for a reason. Well, I’m one of those people who like to know what happens next. And thankfully, after reading Just One Day and Just One Year by Gayle Forman, I got to find out what happened to Lulu and Willem after they were reunited at the end of both of these novels. Reading Just One Night was like getting happy closure.

Forman wrote a short story to tell fans of Willem and Lulu’s just exactly what happened after their year apart. It is glorious. It is magical and it is perfect.

Read this series of books people. You will be awfully glad you did and you will get that pleasantly full feeling that only a good book with no loose ends can give.

Just One Night by Gayle Forman is available now.

Follow Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) via Twitter.

4 Stars

Just One YearThe Blurb

Twenty-four hours can change your life . . .

Allyson and Willem share one magical day together in Paris, before chance rips them apart.

The romantic, emotional companion to Just One Day, this is a story of the choices we make and the accidents life throws at us.

But is one day enough to find your fate?

The Review

I first met Willem and Lulu (Allyson) approximately two years ago. I was having an awful flare up with my chronic illness: I couldn’t stay awake; I had intense pain and all I couldn’t leave the house. One thing I could do was read. One book that helped me feel a little bit better was Just One Day by Gayle Forman. I swear, reading the story was what falling in love feels like. It was just gorgeous.

Two years later, I read the sequel Just One Year. Whereas Just One Day was told from Lulu’s perspective, in Just One Year we see how Willem felt after their one day together. When I read Just One Day, you could feel just how desperately that Lulu needed to know what had happened, why had Willem just left her? You felt the raw emotion drip off the page so intensely that it was heartbreaking. We have all been there, when someone rocks your world but then having the realisation that the little world in which you are both living is so very fragile; the slightest gust of wind can make everything fall apart. So it was somewhat relieving to known that Willem felt the same way. His search for Lulu also led to a search for self discovery and helped him mend a few emotional bridges.

I love a good love a good love story and one thing is for certain is that Gayle Forman knows how to write a good love story. You ache and yearn for these characters to find each other and complete one another. This is the kind of love story that makes you melt and gives you hope.

Read this series, read it now!

Just One Year by Gayle Forman is available now.

Follow Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) via Twitter.

4 Stars

My True Loe Gave to MeThe Blurb

A collection of joyful festive stories that will keep you warm during the cold winter months.

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

The Review

My True Love Gave to Me is a quirky and delightful book of short stories that are all set during Christmas. The set features some famous names such as David Levithan, Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins to name but a few.

The collection of shorts provides quick escapes that keep you entertained; however, the stand out short stories did leave you wanting more. In particular Rainbow Rowell’s Midnights, Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena, It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins, What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman and Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter.

As much as some of the short stories were really engaging there were others by which I found myself bored.

Overall, I would recommend My True Love Gave to Me because this book will get you in the festive spirit.

My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins is available now.

The Blurb

From the bestselling author of If I Stay – this summer’s YA blockbuster film.

This characteristically powerful novel follows eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds in the months following her best friend’s shocking suicide.

As Cody numbly searches for answers as to why Meg took her own life, she begins a journey of self-discovery which takes her to a terrifying precipice, and forces her to question not only her own relationship with the Meg she thought she knew, but her own understanding of life, love, death and forgiveness.

A Phenomenally moving story, I Was Here explores the sadly all-too-familiar issue of suicide and self-harm, addressing it with sensitivity, gentility and honesty.

The Review

In the past month I have read three young adult books which centre on the topic of teen suicide. This contentious issue seems to be (somewhat worryingly) en vogue. As worrying as it is that books for young adults are focussing on such dark subject we have to also be thankful for them. With any book, a reader will feel a sense of escapism and whether or not the subject of the book is happy or sad the reader will learn about the consequences of a person’s actions. Therefore, we have to be thankful to the likes of Gayle Forman who, in this instance, writes about the impact that suicide can have to those you leave behind.

In I Was Here, Forman explores the dangers that the internet can provide for those who are contemplating killing themselves. How a person can learn tips on how to end your life and support from others who encourage you to take the next step or “catch the bus.”

However, what is more powerful is the sheer devastation that the character Meg leaves behind, in particular with her best friend Cody. She feels anger, rage, grief, guilt and sadness – a thesaurus of emotions that she cannot begin to fathom. In the end she tries to search for an answer, for someone to blame.

Out of the three ‘suicide stories’ that I have read recently, I believe that I Was Here is the most powerful. The sense of loss and all the emotions that come after losing someone really make this story resonate. I would implore anyone to read it.

Gayle Forman brings a unique and inspiring voice to YA fiction.

I Was Here by Gayle Forman is available now.

You can follow Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) on Twitter.

I was here