Title: People Like Her

Author: Ellery Lloyd

Pages: 321 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Introducing 2021’s most scintillating debut thriller, People Like Her  is a story about truth and lies, motherhood and social media — and the lengths some people will go to, not only for revenge, but also to be liked. For fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley. 

Followed by millions. Hunted by one.

THE INFLUENCER

I need to be liked. It’s my job

My personal brand is built on honesty.

Family, friendship, cheering other mothers on when things get tough.

Doing it together – telling it like it really is – that’s what @the_Mamabare is all about.

THE HUSBAND

I just want a quiet life

Her adoring followers feel like they understand my wife.

My wife certainly understands them.

I know she is beautiful, smart, ambitious, charming.

But she’s also a liar.

THE FOLLOWER

I want revenge

The filter’s about to drop.

I’ve been watching you and your family very closely.

You’ve ruined my life.

Now I’m going to ruin yours.

The Review

People Like Her was a surprising read. I was expecting a nice little mystery that I could read mindlessly and practise the art of escapism. I was wrong. People Like Her is an intense thriller that comments on the insidious nature of social media and how being an influencer isn’t all it cracks up to be.

Emmy and Dan have a seemingly perfect life. Well, the life that they show on Instagram is perfect but when a serious of creepy events occur Dan seems rocked and questions Emmy’s social media addiction.

At the heart of the story though are Emmy and Dan’s children. When they become the target I couldn’t help but find myself being stressed out. I don’t have children but I have a niece and the fear of anything happening to her transposed into my reading of the story. I had a visceral reaction to it. For me that is the mark of good story telling.

People Like Her is a spine chilling read and worthy of being picked up.

People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd is available now.

For more information regarding Ellory Lloyd (@ElleryLloydAuthor) please visit www.ellerylloyd.com.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.