Title: You and Me on Vacation

Author: Emily Henry

Pages: 368 Pages

Publisher: Penguin

The Blurb

TWO FRIENDS

TEN SUMMER TRIPS

THEIR LAST CHANCE TO FALL IN LOVE

12 SUMMERS AGO: Poppy and Alex meet. They hate each other, and are pretty confident they’ll never speak again.

11 SUMMERS AGO: They’re forced to share a ride home from college and by the end of it a friendship is formed. And a pact: every year, one vacation together.

10 SUMMERS AGO: Alex discovers his fear of flying on the way to Vancouver. 

Poppy holds his hand the whole way.

7 SUMMERS AGO: They get far too drunk and narrowly avoid getting matching tattoos in New Orleans.

2 SUMMERS AGO: It all goes wrong.

THIS SUMMER: Poppy asks Alex to join her on one last trip. A trip that will determine the rest of their lives.

You and Me on Vacation is a love story for fans of When Harry Met Sally and One Day. Get ready to travel the world, snort with laughter and – most of all – lose your heart to Poppy and Alex.

The Review

Although this review won’t be live for a few weeks I am going to tell you about the weather. It is hot. Like hot hot. And I am ginger and I don’t do well in this heat. However, one thing that has kept me sane during this stupid heatwave is reading You and Me on Vacation by Emily Henry. It was boss.

It is the story of Poppy and Alex – the epitome of the perfect will they won’t they couple – who are best friends but just cannot seem to take things to the next step where we all know that they belong. Set over many years, fast forwarding and rewinding, we see their love story play out and yes, you, dear reader, will be screaming at these characters to kiss her/him you fool.

Recently, I haven’t read a lot of romance books, they have fallen a little out of favour genre wise for me but dammit You and Me on Vacation was a brilliant step back into the romance story.

You and Me on Vacation by Emily Henry is available now.

For more information regarding Penguin (@PenguinUKBooks) please visit www.penguin.co.uk.

Title: We Are Inevitable

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 288 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s

The Blurb

A heartbreaking story about finding yourself and your people, from the bestselling author of If I StayPerfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, John Green and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

‘I got this whole-body feeling . . . it was like a message from future me to present me, telling me that in some way we weren’t just bound to happen, that we had, in some sense, already happened. It felt . . . inevitable.’

So far, the inevitable hasn’t worked out so well for Aaron Stein. While his friends have gone to college and moved on with their lives, Aaron’s been left behind in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State, running a failing bookshop with his dad, Ira. What he needs is a lucky break, the good kind of inevitable.

And then he meets Hannah. Incredible Hannah – magical, musical, brave and clever. Could she be the answer? And could they – their relationship, their meeting – possibly be the inevitable Aaron’s been waiting for?

The Review

So…it wasn’t my favourite Gayle Forman novel.

We Are Inevitable is the story of Aaron Stein. He is an old soul in a young body. He has seen things and dealt with things that no one should have to at his age. Drugs, losing a family member, the breakdown of his parents marriage and he is just trying to hold it all together. Parallel to this, Aiden is trying to keep the family bookstore afloat.

A lot for any one person to be dealing with.

So all of this I am okay with. There was the additional romance story line which again was nice but I felt that both stories were fighting for poll position. I did not know which story I was rooting for. I felt pulled but not necessarily in a good way.

It was a nice story but I think after reading some of Gayle Forman’s other books I personally was expecting more.

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman is available now.

For more information regarding Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster Children’s (@SimonKIDS) please visit www.simonanschuster.com/kids.

Title: Editing Emma

Author: Chloe Seager

Pages: 330 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

‘According to Netflix, this is NOT how my teenage life is supposed to look.’

When Emma Nash is ghosted by love of her life Leon Naylor, she does what any girl would do – spends the summer avoiding all human contact, surrounded by the Chewit wrappers he left behind.

Seeing Leon suddenly ‘in a relationship’ on Facebook, however, spurs Emma into action. She vows to use the internet for good (instead of stalking Leon’s social media),chronicling her adventures on her new Editing Emma blog.

But life online doesn’t always run smoothly.

From finding her mum’s Tinder profile, to getting catfished and accidentally telling the entire world why Leon Naylor is worth no girl’s virginity… Surely nothing else could go wrong?!

The Review

Sometimes a bit of mindless YA is what you need.

Editing Emma put me in mind of a modern day Angus, Thongs. Like if Georgia Nicholson had entered the digital world. It was funny and silly and you couldn’t help but cringe for Emma when she got herself into a series of ridiculous situations – it was even funnier as your watched her try to get out of them.

Editing Emma is definitely a book to pick up when you are feeling low.

Editing Emma by Chloe Seager is available now.

For more information regarding Chloe Seager (@ChloeSeager) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Title: Sh!t Bag

Author: Xena Knox

Pages: 362 Pages

Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group

The Blurb

‘Come along with me on this sh!tty ride or bail out now. It’s your choice . . .’

When Freya collapses and wakes up with a temporary ileostomy bag on her stomach, her dreams of the perfect summer go down the toilet. Instead of partying in the Algarve, she’s packed off to ‘Poo Camp’ – a place for kids with bowel disease to ‘bond’.

And things can only get worse. Someone has started calling her ‘Sh!t Bag’ . . . and it’s catching on.

Freya decides to live up to the nickname, raging at her friends, her ex and the world. Only her campmate Chris seems to see past her new attitude . . .

Can Freya get her sh!t together or will she end up with just her bag by her side?

A fresh, fierce and funny story about what happens when life literally goes to sh!t.

The Review

Representation matters.

Sh!t Bag is the story of a teenage girl who due to complications with ulcerative colitis had to get an ileostomy. Me. I’m that girl.

Okay, I’m not the protagonist of this story but like 1 in 300 people in the UK I have a stoma. However, in my lifetime I have only read 4 books where the character has a stoma and if I am honest 2 of them weren’t positive. Therefore, it is great to read a book that shows the positive impact having a stoma can have on a person’s quality of life.

Sh!t Bag focuses on Freya, a teenage girl who feels like her world has been turned upside down when she has to have emergency surgery to remove her diseased intestine. Every negative thought a person can have about having a stoma – she has x10. However, through the story Freya learns that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side and she begins to see how empowering having a stoma can be and the positive impact on her lifestyle.

Honestly, Sh!t Bag was the book that I didn’t know I needed. Even though I am absolutely happy and content with my stoma (which by the way is called Paloma) it was amazing to read such a positive story and one that was so accurate in detail (loperamide, anyone?).

I am grateful to Xena Knox for writing this story.

Sh!t Bag by Xena Knox is available now.

For more information regarding Xena Knox (@XenaKnox) please visit he Instagram page.

For more information regarding Hachette Children’s Group (@HachetteKids) please visit www.hachettechildrens.co.uk.

Title: Rocks

Author: Joe Perry

Pages: 432 Pages

Publishers: Simon & Schuster

The Blurb

Before the platinum records or the Super Bowl half-time show or the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Joe Perry was a boy growing up in small-town Massachusetts. He idolized Jacques Cousteau and built his own diving rig that he used to explore a local lake. He dreamed of becoming a marine biologist. But Perry’s neighbors had teenage sons, and those sons had electric guitars, and the noise he heard when they started playing would change his life. 

The guitar became his passion, an object of lust, an outlet for his restlessness and his rebellious soul. That passion quickly blossomed into an obsession, and he got a band together. One night after a performance he met a brash young musician named Steven Tyler; before long, Aerosmith was born. What happened over the next forty-five years has become the stuff of legend: the knockdown, drag-out, band-splintering fights; the drugs, the booze, the rehab; the packed arenas and timeless hits; the reconciliations and the comebacks. 

Rocks is an unusually searching memoir of a life that spans from the top of the world to the bottom of the barrel—several times. It is a study of endurance and brotherhood, with Perry providing remarkable candor about Tyler, as well as new insights into their powerful but troubled relationship. It is an insider’s portrait of the rock and roll family, featuring everyone from Jimmy Page to Alice Cooper, Bette Midler to Chuck Berry, John Belushi to Al Hirschfeld. It takes us behind the scenes at unbelievable moments such as Joe and Steven’s appearance in the movie of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (they act out the murders of Peter Frampton and the Bee Gees). 

Full of humor, insight, and brutal honesty about life in and out of one of the biggest bands in the world, Rocks is the ultimate rock-and-roll epic. In Perry’s own words, it tells the whole story: “the loner’s story, the band’s story, the recovery story, the cult story, the love story, the success story, the failure story, the rebirth story, the re-destruction story, and the post-destructive rebirth story.”

The Review

Rocks is the extremely interesting musical memoir of Joe Perry from Aerosmith. I won’t claim to be the biggest Aerosmith fan – although I can name enough of their songs to not feel like a total fraud – but I found their musical journey completely fascinating.

Perry discusses the influences on his music, the impact of his family and also the choices that helped and hindered the band at certain pivotal points in time.

One of the most fascinating elements of the memoir is the relationship between Joe Perry and Steve Tyler – where musical direction and ego often clashed. Rocks really is a must read for anyone interested in the rock music history.

Rocks by Joe Perry is available now.

For more information regarding Joe Perry (@JoePerry) please visit www.JoePerry.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@SimonBooks) please visit www.simonandschuster.com.