Title: After the Rain

Author: Natalia Gomes

Pages: 352 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

‘We’re alive. So let’s start living.’

Two strangers

Jack was sporty and outgoing. Alice was bookish and introverted. Their lives were on completely different paths.

One life-changing tragedy

That is before the day they were in the wrong place at the wrong time: before the day their lives were torn apart in a bombing.

A hopeful new friendship

Struggling to cope with their new worlds, their unlikely new friendship helps them find hope. But can they help each other rebuild their lives and start again?

Powerful and compelling After the Rain is the brand-new novel from Natália Gomes, perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

The Review

I am always impressed by (yet I do not envy) writers who tackle difficult and contentious topics in their books. I am further impressed when they handle situations well. This is what Natalia Gomes has done with After the Rain – a YA novel which focuses on the devastation after a terrorist attack.

Jack and Alice were both in Leicester Square when the attack took place and the story follows them both as they deal with the aftermath of the attack, as they try to come to terms with the effects – both physical and mental.

The dual-perspective novel gives the reader a chance to see different reactions to the same event and although the subject matter is quite dark there is a kernel of hope that runs throughout the story.

Trigger warnings must be given because it does deal with a dark subject and if you are easily upset then this novel will have an impact

After the Rain by Natalia Gomes is available now.

For more information regarding Natalia Gomes (@nd_gomes) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.

Title: Kill the Boy Band

Author: Goldy Moldavsky

Pages: 320 Pages

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

The Blurb

Fangirls get a bad rap all the time – people say we’re weird, hysterical, obsessed, certifiable. But those people don’t understand. 

Just because we’re fangirls, doesn’t mean we’re crazy. 

It’s important you know that up front. Because everything I’m about to tell you is going to seem . . . well, crazy. 

From thrilling debut author Goldy Moldavsky comes Kill The Boy Band, a pitch-black, hilarious take on modern fandom and the badass girls who have the power to make – or break – the people we call ‘celebrities’.

The Review

Oh how I laughed at this book.

Goldy Moldavsky’s debut novel Kill the Boy Band is hilarious. It is a novel about fandom and about the crazy lengths people will go to meet their idols. I’ve been there. For me, it was Busted. I get these characters.

The genius of this book lays with its main character – an unnamed narrator who opts to call herself various names throughout the book – her quips, witty one liners (god rest his soul) and 80s movie references were genius and made this book such a brilliant read. It made me feel nostalgic for a time when it was okay for your world to be consumed by a band.

I flippin’ loved this story.

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky is available now.

For more information regarding Goldy Moldavsky (@goldywrites) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Pan Macmillan (@panmacmillan) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: The Best Things

Author: Mel Giedroyc

Pages: 432 Pages

Publisher: Headline

The Blurb

Sally Parker is struggling to find the hero inside herself.

All she wants to do is lie down.

Her husband Frank has lost his business, their home and their savings, in one fell swoop. Their bank cards are being declined. The children are running wild. And now the bailiffs are at the door.

What does an ordinary woman do when the bottom falls out?

Sally Parker is about to surprise everybody. Most of all herself.

The Review

The Best Things is a family drama and the debut novel of Mel Giedroyc. It focuses on a well-to-do middle class family which is headed by Frank and Sally. Frank – the breadwinner – is having a crisis of health and wife Sally – the “homemaker” – is having a crisis of identity. When their financial stability comes under threat the family begins to topple like a house of cards.

Whilst I don’t think The Best Things had the most exciting storyline the way the story is delivered and the fully developed characters carry it along nicely. It is the characters and the humour that save the novel.

The Best Things by Mel Giedroyc is available now.

For more information regarding Mel Giedroyc (@mel_giedroyc) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Headline (@headlinepg) please visit their Twitter page.

Title: No One Ever Has Sex in the Suburbs

Author: Tracy Bloom

Pages: 400 Pages

Publisher: Lawsome Books

The Blurb

Ben and Katy haven’t had sex since Ben found out about her one-night stand with her childhood sweetheart, Matthew. 

Not only that but the arrival of a new-born baby has blown their relationship apart like a hand grenade. 

Drastic measures are required, so they swap roles hoping that everyone will be happier… Only it’s not as easy as they thought. When a desperate Ben starts secretly accepting help to solve his childcare disasters – from Matthew’s wife – it could mean the end of everything. Can their relationship survive the lies and suspicions and will they ever have sex again?

The Review

Over the years my tastes in books have changed. I find that books I requested on NetGalley in *coughs* 2015 *coughs* are not reflective of what I would like in the books I would read today. However, No One Ever Has Sex in the Suburbs by Tracy Bloom is a really good story.

Sadly, I didn’t realise it was a sequel and started at book 2 but that didn’t hamper my enjoyment of the read because Bloom gives enough backstory for you to still follow and enjoy the story.

There were parts of the story that genuinely made me chuckle out loud. Bloom has a knack for being funny. And there were parts when I became frustrated with the characters but I think that is what you want in a rom-com.

No One Ever Has Sex in the Suburbs is a really good read.

No One Ever Has Sex in the Suburbs by Tracy Bloom is available now.

For more information regarding Tracy Bloom (@TracyBBloom) please visit www.tracybloom.com.

Title: The Sentence

Author: Christina Dalcher

Pages: 336 Pages

Publisher: HQ

The Blurb

The one decision you can’t take back

Prosecutor, Justine Boucher has only asked for the death penalty once, in a brutal murder case.

In doing so, she put her own life on the line. Because, if the convicted are later found innocent, the lawyer who requested the execution will be sentenced to death.

Justine had no doubt that the man she sent to the chair was guilty.

Until now.

Presented with evidence that could prove his innocence, Justine must find out the truth before anyone else does.

Her life depends on it.

The Review

I absolutely love it when and author becomes a go to trusted author. Christina Dalcher has firmly plonked herself in that category. I have loved all of her books.

The Sentence tackles the very contentious topic of the death sentence. For a person to have the death sentence issued to them then the person who issues it must be 100% sure because if not they have to pay with their life.

Dalcher’s writing in The Sentence put me in mind of Jodi Picoult. She has taken a very divisive topic and makes you question your belief in it. I think when a writer can have you look at a topic in a different way and become empathetic to a characters situation then they have done a damn good job.

This is probably Christina Dalcher’s most powerful book to date and the tension I felt and the need to keep reading was immense. I could not put it down.

I cannot wait for Dalcher’s next book.

The Sentence by Christina Dalcher is available now.

For more information regarding Christina Dalcher (@CV_Dalcher) please visit www.christinadalcher.com.

For more information regarding HQ (@HQstories) please visit www.hqstories.co.uk.