Review This Book Kills by Ravena Guron

Title: This Book Kills

Author: Ravena Guron

Pages: 384 Pages

Publisher: Usborne Publishing

The Blurb

There’s a murderer on the loose in an elite boarding school… But who is going to be next? This Book Kills is the deadliest YA thriller of 2023, perfect for fans of Holly Jackson and Karen McManus.

“I’ll make it clear from the start: I did not kill Hugh Henry Van Boren.

I didn’t even help. Well, not intentionally.”

When Hugh Henry Van Boren, one of the most popular and richest kids in Jess Choudhary’s school, is found dead, the student body is left reeling and wondering who the murderer could be… Jess, a student under strict instructions to keep her record clean or risk losing her scholarship, finds herself at the centre of the investigation when it’s revealed that Hugh died in the exact same way as a character in a short story she wrote.

And then Jess receives an anonymous text thanking her for the inspiration.

With time running out, Jess knows if she doesn’t solve this mystery she’ll finally have something in common with Hugh Henry.

She’ll be dead too.

The Review

Fish-Out-Of-Water meets Dark Academia – you get This Book Kills.

This Book Kills is the story of Jess, a scholarship student at an elite academy. When one of the richest students is killed all fingers begin to point to the outsider, they point to Jess. Jess has to help solve the mystery of the murder to clear her name.

This Book Kills is such a good story that shines a light on the pressure for elite academies to maintain a reputation but who are also at the whim of those paying for the education. Having a stark contrast between the rich and the poor highlights just how systemic prejudices can be.

What is truly great about This Book Kills is the pay off. I suspected everybody and I did not figure out who the actual culprit was until the very end. This Book Kills is a great YA Mystery.

This Book Kills by Ravena Guron is available now.

For more information regarding Ravena Guron (@RavenaGuron) please visit her Twitter page.

For more information regarding Usborne Publishing (@Usborne) please visit their Twitter page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.