Review: The Headmaster’s List by Melissa de la Cruz

Title: The Headmaster’s List

Author: Melissa de la Cruz

Pages: 400 Pages

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

The Blurb

Four students. A fatal car crash. Three come out alive – and they will do anything to bury the truth.

One of them was driving.

One of them was high.

One of them screamed.

And one of them died.

When one of their own is tragically killed in a car crash, Argyle Prep is full of questions. Who was at the wheel? And more importantly, who was at fault?

But in a place ruled by pedigree and privilege, the answers can only come at a price.

Set against the glitz and glamour of an elite LA private school The Headmaster’s List, Melissa de la Cruz’s first YA thriller, is an addictive whodunit perfect for fans of Gossip Girl and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

The Review

I am a fan of the campus novel. Give me a book with a campus in it and it ticks one of my boxes. Melissa de la Cruz’s The Headmaster’s List initially hits that criteria. The Headmaster’s List is set in an elite high school that can make or break its students. Attending can be a springboard for greater things later in life. The question is how much can money and prestige protect you from the consequences of a deadly crime?

I really enjoyed The Headmaster’s List. It was a good mystery that kept you on your toes until the final reveal. It is a perfect read for any crime lovers – especially with the mixed media format that de la Cruz has used.

There were some things that I thought seemed a bit wrong or not fully explored such as the recovery from the accident seemed to happen really fast or certain characters were not as developed as they could have been and felt a bit like discourse markers.

However, this didn’t dampen my enjoyment of the story.

The Headmaster’s List by Melissa de la Cruz is available now.

For more information regarding Melissa de la Cruz (@MelissadelaCruz) please visit www.melissa-delacruz.com.

For more information regarding Macmillan Children’s Books (@MacmillanKidsUK) please visit www.panmacmillan.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.