Review: The Haunting of Beatrix Greene by Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter

Title: The Haunting of Beatrix Greene

Author: Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, Vicky Alvear Shecter

Pages: 198 Pages

Publisher: Serial Box

The Blurb

Beatrix Greene has made a name for herself in Victorian England as a reputable spiritual medium, but she’s a fraud: even she knows ghosts aren’t real. But when she’s offered a lucrative job by James Walker—a scientist notorious for discrediting pretenders like her—Beatrix takes the risk of a lifetime. If her séance at the infamously haunted Ashbury Manor fools him, she will finally have true financial freedom. If she fails, her secret will become her public shame. 

But James has his own dark secrets, and he believes only a true medium can put them to rest. When Beatrix’s séance awakens her real gift—and with it, a vengeful spirit—James finds that the answers he seeks are more dangerous than he could have imagined. Together, with a group of supernatural sleuths, Beatrix and James race to settle the ghost’s unrest before it strikes— or else they might not make it out of the haunted manor alive. 

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins, along with Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter, weaves darkness, death, and a hint of desire into this suspenseful mystery for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Crimson Peak.

The Review

In a post-MTV world audiences don’t tend to get scared by the written world. The real world is scary enough and many of today’s horror movies focus on real life horror rather than the supernatural. You could argue that supernatural stories had their hey day during the 18th and 19th century. Personally, I feel that with The Haunting of Beatrix Greene authors Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter have achieved the near impossible. They have created a tale that is actually rather chilling.

With nods to historical characters (Sherlock Holmes creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) and to trends towards the supernatural (seances) we are immersed in a world so vastly different from the 21st century but we are given a truly shocking tale about ghostly revenge, possession and death.

Collaborating, these authors have created something truly special.

The Haunting of Beatrix Greene by Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, and Vicky Alvear Shecter is available now.

For more information regarding Rachel Hawkins (@LadyHawkins) please visit www.therealladyhawkins.tumblr.com.

For more information regarding Ash Parsons (@AshParso) please visit www.ashparsonbooks.com.

For more information regarding Vicky Alvear Shecter (@vlavearshecter) please visit www.vickyalvearshecter.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.