Review: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

Love and Other Man Made DisastersTitle: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters

Author: Nicola Doherty

Pages: 240 Pages

Publisher: Hachette Children’s Books

The Blurb

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.

Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies – the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum’s adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn’t hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he’s everything Juno doesn’t like. Or is he? Juno’s about to discover there’s nothing more scary than falling in love.

The Review

There are some authors that I just trust to entertain me; you know, the ones that you are convinced won’t let you down. Nicola Doherty is in that collection of writers.

Doherty’s latest release Love and Other Man-Made Disasters – a young adult fiction, no less – tells the story of teenage worrier Juno. Juno is convinced that she is going to fail all her exams or get ran or worst case but still very likely get caught in a zombie apocalypse. Quite frankly, she is putting years on herself with all the worry. This all comes to a head when her recently remarried mother makes her go on a skiing trip with her “new family.”

For me, Love and Other Man-Made Disasters was the Dirty Dancing of young adult fiction…except you need to swap the mambo for some ski slopes…and there was a distinct lack of watermelons. However, what Love and Other Man-Made Disasters does have is an abundance of the feel good factor.

I hoovered Love and Other Man-Made Disasters in one sitting. I couldn’t put it down. I loved Juno and Boys relationship and how they challenged each other, I loved how real Nicola Doherty has portrayed the angst and agony of first love, and I loved how I was left with that satisfying feeling of happiness that only a book can give.

Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty is available now.

Follow Nicola Doherty (@nicoladoherty_) on Twitter and for more information visit her official website www.nicoladohertybooks.com

For further titles from Hachette’s Children’s Books (@HachetteUK) please visit www.hachette.co.uk

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *