Title: Scrappy Little Nobody

Author: Anna Kendrick

Pages: 275 Pages

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

The Blurb

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.

Even before she made a name for herself on the silver screen starring in films like Pitch Perfect, Up in the Air, Twilight and Into the Woods. Anna Kendrick was unusually small, weird, and “10 percent defiant.”

At the ripe age of thirteen, she had already resolved to “keep the crazy inside my head where it belonged, forever. But here’s the thing about crazy: It. Wants. Out.” In Scrappy Little Nobody, she invites readers inside her brain, sharing extraordinary and charmingly ordinary stories with candour and winningly wry observations.

With her razor-sharp wit, Anna recounts the absurdities she’s experienced on her way to ad from the heart of pop culture as only she can – from her unusual path to the performing arts (Vanilla Ice and baggy neon pants may have played a role) to her double life as a middle-school student who also starred on Broadway to her initial “dating experiments” (including only liking boys who didn’t like her back) to reviewing a binder full of butt doubles to her struggle to live like an adult woman instead of a perpetual “man—child.”

Enter Anna’s world and follow her rise from “scrappy little nobody” to somebody who dazzles on the stage, the screen, and now the page – with an electric, singular voice, at once familiar and surprising, sharp and sweet, funny and serious (well, not that serious.)

The Review

There is something about Anna Kendrick. She has that girl-next-door feel. She is your best mate on a messy night out. She seems like the kind of girl who would see you fall over and rather than point and laugh she would throw herself on the floor and pretend to being doing sit ups to save you from embarrassment. Basically, she seems cool and accessible; even more so now having read her brilliantly funny book Scrappy Little Nobody.

Kendrick regales you with stories from her life. In most of these stories Kendrick pits herself as a quirky underdog. Sometimes when people are self deprecating it can be a bit false and a tad annoying but dammit Kendrick makes it entertaining and keeps her likable qualities.

Scrappy Little Nobody is a joy to read. I genuinely giggled throughout. Very funny and extremely candid. If you like biographies and memoirs then this is the book for you.

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick is available now.

For more information regarding Anna Kendrick (@AnnaKendrick17) please visit www.scrappylittlenobody.com.

For more information regarding Simon & Schuster (@SimonSchusterUK) please visit www.simonandschuster.co.uk.

4 Stars

Little Fires EverywhereTitle: Little Fires Everywhere

Author: Celeste Ng

Pages: 336 Pages

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group

The Blurb

The brilliant new novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You

Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down.

In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned – from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principle is playing by the rules.

Enter Mia Warren – an enigmatic artist and single mother- who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.

When old family friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town – and puts Mia and Elena on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Elena is determined to uncover the secrets in Mia’s past. But her obsession will come at an unexpected and devastating cost…

The Review

I had heard only good things about Little Fires Everywhere and so I was very excited to read this story that people were raving about. It is the story of the intricacies of small town America; a place where white picket fences and freshly mown lawns are the norm. It is also about the differences in the social hierarchy and how having money doesn’t automatically make you a good person.

Celeste Ng has pipped two very strong matriarchs against each other: Mia and Elena. It is there opposing lives that is the most interesting conflict in Little Fires Everywhere. That and how far each will go to do what they think is right. Celeste Ng presents her characters as people who sometimes seem pious but there good intentions are often self-serving.

I thoroughly enjoyed Little Fires Everywhere. It was not the kind of novel I would normally pick up but it shows the power of reviews that I was compelled to pick it up. I am awfully glad I did.

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng is available now.

For more information regarding Celeste Ng (@pronounced-ing) please visit www.celesteng.com.

For more information regarding Little, Brown Book Group (@LittleBrownUK) please visit www.littlebrown.co.uk.

4 Stars

Title: Point Us to Paris (Summer Flings, #3)

Author: Aimee Duffy

Pages: 40 Pages

Publisher: Harper Impulse

The Blurb

Part 3 of Summer Flings – a fun, flirty and laugh out loud rom com series of short stories.

Ciara would rather be anywhere else in the world than Paris. All the gooey eyed couples and hand holding are making her miserable.

But Elle doesn’t have time for moping – not when she’s got the three of them on the guest list of an exclusive club. So Ciara tries her best to enjoy the free champagne, the loft party looking over the Seine and a little harmless sexting – until they realise they’ve stumbled into a nightmare none of them were prepared for.

The ideal summer treat for those relaxing days soaking up the sun!

The Review

Well done Aimee Duffy. With Point Us to Paris, Duffy has done a very brae thing. Rather than buying into the romance of Paris (which let’s face it we are all wont to do) she uses this part of the Summer Flings series to deal with more contentious issues; in this case, personal safety when travelling.

Gem, Elle and Ciara have hit Paris and their adventure is continuing. However, Point Us to Paris really reveals the disparity between the lives of these girls. We learn more about protagonist Caira and we really get to the nitty-gritty of the dynamics of the group.

For these reasons, Point Us to Paris may not be the happiest book in the Summer Flings series so far but it is certainly the best.

Point Us to Paris (Summer Flings, #3) by Aimee Duffy is available now.

For more information regarding Aimee Duffy (@AimeeDuffyx) please visit www.aimeeduffy.co.uk.

For more information regarding Harper Impulse (@HarperImpulse) please visit www.harperimpulse.com.4 Stars

Title: Misbehaving in Miami (Summer Flings, #2)

Author: Aimee Duffy

Pages: 40 Pages

Publisher: Harper Impulse

The Blurb

Part 2 of Summer Flings – a fun, flirty and laugh out loud rom com series of short stories.

The girls are off to a beach house to catch some rays – and if they play their cards right – super hot guys!

With drinking games in the name of Gucci, a surprise visit from a very pissed off Zack and hunks galore, Miami is turning into their best stop yet. Not to mention Ciara finally comes up with a way to have her cake and eat it too!

The ideal summer treat for those relaxing days soaking up the sun!

The Review

So we have moved on from Tinseltown to Miami and the girls are still getting into crazy hijinx.

In order to win a bag and Bloomingdales vouchers, Elle, Gem and Ciara get themselves into a drunken mess which brings Zack to their rescue.

Zack and Ciara decide to have a quick fling but can either of them do it without getting hurt? And with only a few days until the girls go to Paris will Ciara and Zack be able to say goodbye?

Misbehaving in Miami is speedily setting the tone of what we are coming to expect from the Summer Flings series. What is great is that we are starting to really engage in the Zack and Ciara relationship. We want them to be together but we can see all the obstacles (and miles) in their way.

I am really enjoying the Summer Flings series. I feel good reading them, which for me is no greater compliment.

Misbehaving in Miami (Summer Flings, #2) by Aimee Duffy is available now.

For more information regarding Aimee Duffy (@AimeeDuffyx) please visit www.aimeeduffy.co.uk.

For more information regarding Harper Impulse (@HarperImpulse) please visit www.harperimpulse.com.

3 Stars

If I FallTitle: If I Fall

Author: Ella Harper

Pages: 237 Pages

Publisher: Canelo

The Blurb

Four friends forever… But who will be there to catch them?

They were best friends at uni. But life was simpler then.

Fifteen years later Connie, a former journalist, now struggles to maintain the veneer of a perfect family life. Jonas, her lawyer husband, is feeling the pressure at work. Personal trainer JJ appears to have it all, but his past is catching up with him. Their other friend, Layla, is a psychotherapist, but her career is unravelling thanks to a difficult and ailing mother.

As the pressure builds, each in their own way must confront their demons. Sometimes things get too much. Sometimes we stumble and fall – and pray someone is there to catch us.

A truly powerful and unforgettable story of love, friendship, and real life, If I Fall is perfect for readers of Alice Peterson, Amanda Prowse and Lianne Moriarty.

The Review

In Ella Harper’s new novel If I Fall we are presented with four characters and we are asked t look at how much they have changed over 15 years. Obviously that change is going to be massive. Are you the same person you were fifteen years ago? Presumably not. Like our four main characters – JJ, Connie, Jonas and Layla – chances are you have grown up. Your goals, ambitions, worries and lifestyles have changed. What is interesting about If I Fall is that the friendship that this group of people are clinging on to is built on lies and deceit.

Modern day problems have taken over their lives and the carefree nature of their youth has gone. It is addictive watching the lives unfold and I often found myself telling the characters not to make the wrong decisions which they inevitably did.

Ella Harper has written a winning story that will keep you glued to your book until the very last page. It is full of intrigue and drama and If I Fall definitely deserves a place on your to be read pile. Put it there now!

If I Fall by Ella Harper is available now.

For more information regarding Ella Harper (@Ella_Harper) please visit www.ellaharper.co.uk.

For more information regarding Canelo (@Canelo_co) please visit www.canelo.co.

3 Stars